Author Topic: Setup Selfextract error  (Read 25190 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Graphics

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Setup Selfextract error
« on: August 21, 2008, 05:51:23 PM »
I downloaded the Bart_full.exe file to my computer, but when I attempt to run it I receive the following error.

"An error 1006 (000003EE) has occured.
Last performed operation was:
Opening the self-extract archive

Try to downlad setup file again.
If you use Internet Explorer, clear it's cache before downlaoding:"

I cleared the cache, downloaded again, same thing.
Three downloads with the same result.

I am running Windows XP, SP3.  ???

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 65867
Re: Setup Selfextract error
« Reply #1 on: August 21, 2008, 07:40:36 PM »
Are you saving the file to disk?
Do you use any other antivirus besides avast?
Is your computer clean?
The best things in life are free.

Offline Graphics

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Setup Selfextract error
« Reply #2 on: August 21, 2008, 07:53:03 PM »
> Are you saving the file to disk?

Yes

> Do you use any other antivirus besides avast?

Yes.  This computer is running Sophos, as are all networked computers in the building.

> Is your computer clean?

Yes.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 65867
Re: Setup Selfextract error
« Reply #3 on: August 21, 2008, 08:05:59 PM »
Strange...
Please, post the last 200-250 lines of avast log (Setup.log) in the setup folder.
The best things in life are free.

Offline Graphics

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Setup Selfextract error
« Reply #4 on: August 21, 2008, 08:28:43 PM »
Strange...
Please, post the last 200-250 lines of avast log (Setup.log) in the setup folder.

 ???

There is no setup folder.  The search function did not find a file named Setup.log.

Curiously, I had another engineer here download the file and he claims it installed without a problem on his computer.  I will have to check into that.

Offline Graphics

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Setup Selfextract error
« Reply #5 on: August 21, 2008, 08:48:37 PM »
Wonder of wonders, now it works.  Rather than saving it to my hard drive, I simply ran it from the download.   :P

No way of knowing what was going on.  Thanks for your prompt attention to this!  :D

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 65867
Re: Setup Selfextract error
« Reply #6 on: August 21, 2008, 09:06:02 PM »
<BART>\Setup folder should exist in a correct installation...

Wonder of wonders, now it works.  Rather than saving it to my hard drive, I simply ran it from the download.   :P

No way of knowing what was going on.  Thanks for your prompt attention to this!  :D
Strange again... Where were you saving the file at the first time?
The best things in life are free.

Offline Graphics

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Setup Selfextract error
« Reply #7 on: August 28, 2008, 03:45:18 PM »

Strange again... Where were you saving the file at the first time?

On the desktop.  I usually download any sort of setup file there so I can quickly either delete it or move it to the folder it created.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 65867
Re: Setup Selfextract error
« Reply #8 on: August 28, 2008, 07:41:11 PM »
On the desktop.
Weird... but think that now you could have finally have it working, haven't you?
The best things in life are free.

Offline Graphics

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Setup Selfextract error
« Reply #9 on: November 20, 2008, 02:50:37 PM »
On the desktop.
Weird... but think that now you could have finally have it working, haven't you?

Sorry for the delayed response.  Yes, it works fine now.  Weird, but often weird is the norm in this business.