Author Topic: 2 questions about home edition.  (Read 3522 times)

Reed

2 questions about home edition.
« on: August 31, 2008, 10:56:29 AM »
Ok, I am new to Avast! and I have to say that so far the configuration of the program doesn't strike me as very intuitive. Mainly I have 2 questions right now...

1) When activating Avast! via the shell to test a file (ie: right clicking on a file, and starting an Avast! scan), I dislike the fact that the results window disappears as soon as the scan is completed. I like to see the summary of the results of the scan, and then manually shut it. Does anyone know how to configure that?

2) I would like to know where exactly I can find the switch for having Avast! descend its scans into rar-archives and the like. I managed to turn it on once, but haven't been able to find the main setting where it is done, it was more via a temporary request that the program asked if I wanted it to do it. But there has to be some kind of main switch somewhere?

Thanks.

alfainfo

Re: 2 questions about home edition.
« Reply #1 on: August 31, 2008, 11:53:32 AM »
In order to see the result of the scanning like desires, you make right click on the blue ball and select program setting (or something of similar, i have italian version), and in the window that is opened select "show the result of Explorer extension".

Reed

« Reply #2 on: August 31, 2008, 11:59:10 AM »
Perfect, thanks alot mate.

Anyone who can enlighten me about my other question, as to where I can turn on/off the scanning of files inside rar archives?

Offline Tarq57

• Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • If at first you don’t succeed; call it version 1.0
« Reply #3 on: August 31, 2008, 01:56:26 PM »
Yep.