Author Topic: Avast Home Edition Constantly Updating and Slowing down Boot Up  (Read 5851 times)

axelb

Hi,

I have been using Avast for a few years now with no problems.

For the last few weeks Avast in really slowing down my computer every time I boot up and it appears to be constantly updating the programme or definitions and it switches off the firewall in the process. 

It takes well over a minute and my computer is totally frozen and unusable until it has finished.  It does this EVERY TIME even if I boot up, allow it to finish then do a restart.  It cannot be updating everything again after such a short time.  This never used to happen it used to update in the background and you could continue using your computer and would get a message when it was finished.  Also there were never any "firewall switched off" messages from XP.  A recent update 3 to 4 weeks ago must have started this problem.

I have the latest version of Avast (obviously) and also have XP SP3.

Any assistance would be appreciated.

axelb     

Offline Lisandro

• Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
Re: Avast Home Edition Constantly Updating and Slowing down Boot Up
« Reply #1 on: August 30, 2008, 02:09:04 PM »
For the last few weeks Avast in really slowing down my computer every time I boot up
Which other security programs do you use?

and it appears to be constantly updating the programme or definitions
How did you set them to update? Automatically?
avast checks if there is an available connection each 40 seconds.
If there isn't, wait more 40 seconds to check. Checking does not take more than one second and, of course, does not use the Internet band.
If there is a connection, check for an update. If there is not any new file to download, wait 4 hours to start checking again. If there is an available update, start it and install it. Again, wait 4 hours to check the next time.