Author Topic: how to disbale automatic updates?  (Read 3211 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline steiner

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
how to disbale automatic updates?
« on: August 19, 2003, 07:22:01 PM »
I can't seem to find the option to fully disable automatic updates in Avast! 4 Pro.

I've set Program and AVS to normal, yet I still see in TAsk Manager: ashUpdSV.exe

I'm guessing thsi is an Update Service of some sort.

Yes, I know its using very little memory and clock cycles, but I've just never liked thinsg running that I don't need. its just a preference, as I like to install updates manually.  even for AV apps.

thanks for any help.

*i've done a search already, but haven't found any concrete answers.

Offline steiner

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re:how to disbale automatic updates?
« Reply #1 on: August 19, 2003, 07:33:36 PM »
never mind.

It was a Registered Service indeed and you can set it to manual in Control Panel>Admin Tools>Services. (in WinXP)

Avast is a great app with even more potential.

I know I'm going to get flamed for this but.....Avast! seems to use too much memory/recources (as I've also noted users pointing out through the many posts I've read before posting in the forum).

The tray icon, AshDisp.exe uses way too much for example...specially for a systray applet that's seperated from the main application ashServ.exe

maybe the next version will produce a leaner and meaner Avast! :D
« Last Edit: August 19, 2003, 07:34:53 PM by steiner »

Offline kubecj

  • Avast team
  • Advanced Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 1123
    • ALWIL Software
Re:how to disbale automatic updates?
« Reply #2 on: August 20, 2003, 03:30:33 AM »
Even manual updates won't work without that service correctly.
Jindrich Kubec