Author Topic: virus found: what to do now?  (Read 5212 times)

nikbait

virus found: what to do now?
« on: November 04, 2008, 01:41:23 AM »
I just was told to download this software by a good friend of mine. I have, and since have found a virus on it: C:WINDOWS/system32. Says the original filename is reboot.exe. The virus description is: Win32:Trojan-gen. I am new to how to remove viruses, is this something that I really need to be concerned about? I tried to read through the advice and tools section and all that did was confuse me further. If anyone can help me, I'd greatly appreciate it. THanks in advance.

Tammy Smith

Offline DavidR

• Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: virus found: what to do now?
« Reply #1 on: November 04, 2008, 02:19:22 AM »
Well I don't have that file in that location or anywhere in the windows or sub folders, nor anywhere on by c: partition.

So I would say it looks like a good detection - Deletion isn't really a good first option (you have none left), 'first do no harm' don't delete, send virus to the chest and investigate.

There is no rush to delete anything from the chest, a protected area where it can do no harm. Anything that you send to the chest you should leave there for a few weeks. If after that time you have suffered no adverse effects from moving these to the chest, scan them again (inside the chest) and if they are still detected as viruses, delete them.

So that is what you should do when detected send to the chest and investigate.

####
You could also check the offending/suspect file at: VirusTotal - Multi engine on-line virus scanner and report the findings here. You can't do this with the file securely in the chest, you need to extract it to a temporary (not original) location first, see below.