Author Topic: how to insert notes that email was scanned?  (Read 7076 times)

asbaker

how to insert notes that email was scanned?
« on: November 06, 2008, 02:04:39 AM »
I'm brand new to Avast after using AVG for a long time. The manual mentions the ability to insert a note in incoming and outgoing email to state that it was scanned by Avast. But I can't figure out how to do that. There is no extra mail protection program in my XP home edition.

Sorry if this has been answered already but I've been searching for an hour :-)

asbaker

Re: how to insert notes that email was scanned?
« Reply #1 on: November 06, 2008, 02:14:59 AM »
I found it - sorry! I used the right words in google and found the way to do it.

It said "When sending an email from an email client (Outlook Express, Thunderbird..) left click the blue ball, select "Internet Mail" then click "Customize". Under the "SMTP" tab on the resident provider settings, insert a tick into the obvious checkbox." and it worked.

I wonder why the help that came with the Avast I downloaded today did not say that - only mentioning finding the extra program on mail protection that no longer ships with the program???

Offline Lisandro

• Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
« Reply #2 on: November 06, 2008, 03:15:41 AM »
It mentions...

Resident Protection: Internet Mail - SMTP

This page sets up avast! behavior when scanning the outgoing e-mails.

Scan outbound mail. avast! will scan outgoing e-mail messages sent by SMTP protocol.
Allow sending of infected mail. avast! will let you send the message containing a virus. It is useful e.g. when you want to send us an infected file for analysis.
Insert note into clean message. avast! adds a note into infected messages. If you set this option, a note will be added even into clean (virus-free) messages.

But you've found another way to ask, the forums ;)
The best things in life are free.

Online DavidR

• Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • No support PMs thanks