Author Topic: Repeat / Loop Scanning  (Read 4995 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline zola

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Repeat / Loop Scanning
« on: April 20, 2004, 03:16:41 AM »
On a Thorough Scan with Archive scan enabled, the scanning process seems to loop through a repeat scanning.

My O/S is Win XP.

I stopped the scan mid-way through its repeat performance.

Suggestions?


Best regards,

Zola ???

Offline pk

  • Avast team
  • Super Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 2085
Re:Repeat / Loop Scanning
« Reply #1 on: April 20, 2004, 03:33:01 AM »
Was it an archive file which was scanned in a loop ?
If you don't know, you may display all scanned files to the report and have a look.
Thanks.

Offline zola

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re:Repeat / Loop Scanning
« Reply #2 on: April 20, 2004, 04:47:23 AM »
PK

"Was it an archive file which was scanned in a loop" ?


All files were selected for sclanning in the "thorough" scan mode.

I may have worded my question awkwardly.

Avarst! scanned my computer and when it reached the end of my second hard disk, it started the scanning process all over again.

Can you help?

Thanks

zola

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11664
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re:Repeat / Loop Scanning
« Reply #3 on: April 20, 2004, 08:16:34 AM »
How long did you leave it running? The scanned files that are reported in the main window can be a bit misleading - if I were you, I'd try to run it overnight to really make sure it's looping...

You could also turn on generation of the report file (via program Settings dialog), and verify there really are duplicates...
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline zola

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re:Repeat / Loop Scanning
« Reply #4 on: April 20, 2004, 03:29:19 PM »
Thanks, VLK ...

Will run overnight, initiate report and advise if the anomaly persists.

Zola ;D