Author Topic: Settings in Avast Home - want to disable scanning every webpage  (Read 5939 times)

brownsfan019

Settings in Avast Home - want to disable scanning every webpage
« on: November 25, 2008, 05:48:45 PM »
I am new to Avast Home edition. I noticed that my internet browsing - Internet Explorer and Firefox - is slowing down and/or just hanging while the Avast globe thing is spinning. I assume that means it's scanning every page I look at and I do not need that at all.

My question is - how do I tell Avast to not run and check every webpage I visit?

Thanks!

sded

Re: Settings in Avast Home - want to disable scanning every webpage
« Reply #1 on: November 25, 2008, 06:12:01 PM »
Right click the icon, and select "On-Access Protections Control" and find the Web Shield.  You can either terminate it completely, or go to "customize" and select a subset of the files coming across the web to be scanned under "Web Scanning".  You will still be protected by the Avast! Standard Shield when you open or store a file, just not as the data is being passed to your Web Browser.

brownsfan019

« Reply #2 on: November 25, 2008, 06:25:51 PM »
Right click the icon, and select "On-Access Protections Control" and find the Web Shield.  You can either terminate it completely, or go to "customize" and select a subset of the files coming across the web to be scanned under "Web Scanning".  You will still be protected by the Avast! Standard Shield when you open or store a file, just not as the data is being passed to your Web Browser.

Thanks!!

:)

Offline DavidR

• Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • No support PMs thanks
« Reply #3 on: November 25, 2008, 06:32:10 PM »
@ brownsfan019
Whilst disabling the web shield may improve matters, it is treating a symptom and not treating the cause.

Have (or did) you another AV installed in this system, if so what was it and how did you get rid of it ?

What is your Firewall ?