Author Topic: Avast!+BoClean  (Read 4266 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline normishmael

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 232
  • That is Not Dead, which can Eternal Lie.
Avast!+BoClean
« on: November 29, 2008, 09:16:27 PM »
Hello,recently I had the same problem others have had with Threatfire,and even though it
may be fixed,I still went to BoClean.
BoClean was always a little heavy,but not really if you chose to look at it as real-time anti-spyware.
The problem is when I had it running,it caused ashServ.exe jump and stay at around 34000-35000k.
I tried adding both BoClean Process's to the exclusions in the standard shield with no help.
So,for now I have removed BoClean.
Anyone any ideas,or similar problem?
Now its Avast!,Comodo firewall with Defence+,and Firefox3 with no Scripts.

Is their anything else really light I could add?
WinPatrol worth the effort?

thanks guys.
comp1:Shadow Defender,sandboxie free,router,Kerio 2.1.5 .
comp2:Shadow Defender,Sandboxie free,Router/Kerio 2.1.5

Both XP Sp3

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re: Avast!+BoClean
« Reply #1 on: November 29, 2008, 09:24:13 PM »
WinPatrol is not that heavy... but I'm not using it as resident anymore.
Maybe the conflict is between BoClean and Comodo Defense+. I think you'll overkill your system and it's enough with avast and Comodo.
Other programs for on-demand only: MBAM, SuperAntispyware and Spyware Terminator.
The best things in life are free.

Offline Tarq57

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3695
  • If at first you don’t succeed; call it version 1.0
Re: Avast!+BoClean
« Reply #2 on: November 29, 2008, 09:26:00 PM »
Personally, I don't think there's anything else that you need to add. You're pretty well covered.
Next step, if you felt the need for more, would be to run in a virtual machine/sandbox type application.
Windows 10,Windows Firewall,Firefox w/Adblock.

Offline normishmael

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 232
  • That is Not Dead, which can Eternal Lie.
Re: Avast!+BoClean
« Reply #3 on: November 29, 2008, 09:52:15 PM »
Thanks.
I use Malwarebytes anti-malware and SuperAntiSpyware for on demand.
I also have Sandboxie free installed,I just never seem to remember to use it,or if I do,that's when I need to bookmark a page,or add/remove a Firefox extension,
and so on.
With "just" Avast! and Comodo firewall running,my memory use with Firefox
open with four tabs,is lighter than with BoClean onboard setting idle.

thanks for the advice.n
comp1:Shadow Defender,sandboxie free,router,Kerio 2.1.5 .
comp2:Shadow Defender,Sandboxie free,Router/Kerio 2.1.5

Both XP Sp3

Offline Snagglegrain

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 221
Re: Avast!+BoClean
« Reply #4 on: November 29, 2008, 10:55:39 PM »
Hello,recently I had the same problem others have had with Threatfire,and even though it
may be fixed,I still went to BoClean.
FWIW, I have run BOClean with avast! and ThreatFire without any difficulties, until the TF issue you alluded to.  But that is indeed no longer a problem with the release of TF 4.0.0.10.  I would suggest trying the combo again, but before doing so, uninstall BOC and TF and really make sure you clean up all registry remnants for both.  Then reinstall and hope something changed!

Maybe not much help, but that is what I would try.  ;)

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 85946
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Avast!+BoClean
« Reply #5 on: November 30, 2008, 12:26:36 AM »
Outside of the other issues with Threatfire, I don't know if having two HIPS applications running together. I think there is just too much of a possibility of a clash, like two resident AVs.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.9.2494 (build 21.9.6698.703) UI 1.0.672/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline polonus

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 33373
  • malware fighter
Re: Avast!+BoClean
« Reply #6 on: November 30, 2008, 12:39:36 AM »
Hi normishmael,

I have no problems whatsoever running the following RUBotted & COMODO BoClean % avast & SUPERAntiSpyware together,

polonus
Cybersecurity is more of an attitude than anything else. Avast Evangelists.

Use NoScript, a limited user account and a virtual machine and be safe(r)!

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 85946
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Avast!+BoClean
« Reply #7 on: November 30, 2008, 01:19:55 AM »
Apart from when rubotted gives you a load of false positives if I remember rightly ;D
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.9.2494 (build 21.9.6698.703) UI 1.0.672/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline polonus

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 33373
  • malware fighter
Re: Avast!+BoClean
« Reply #8 on: November 30, 2008, 01:46:10 AM »
Hi DavidR,

Every tool is entitled to a FP once in a blue moon, RUBotted is behaving now,

polonus
Cybersecurity is more of an attitude than anything else. Avast Evangelists.

Use NoScript, a limited user account and a virtual machine and be safe(r)!

Offline normishmael

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 232
  • That is Not Dead, which can Eternal Lie.
Re: Avast!+BoClean
« Reply #9 on: November 30, 2008, 02:21:00 AM »
 Yes,I really liked threatfire when it worked.
But even then,I had problems that I could live with..
Firefox extension that would not install,or uninstal,and I used BoClean
in the past,so retried it.
I used Kerio 2.1.5 as my firewall,until I had a weird thing,with Kerio Exe
asking could it call out to www.007Guard.com.
I had recently replaced the old Kerio install exe with a new one
downloaded from LastFreewareVersion.
Maybe it was corrupt,because I never had a problem prior to reinstaling it after
I messed up a replacement rules set.
I paniced,and reinstaled my Xp,and decided to change firewall to something a little
more up to date.
Prior to that I ran only Avast with Standard shield and 2.1.5,plus the on-demand anti-spyware
programs,and sandboxie when I remembered.
Now I am using Internetmail,Web,Network,and standard.
I feel pretty safe.
comp1:Shadow Defender,sandboxie free,router,Kerio 2.1.5 .
comp2:Shadow Defender,Sandboxie free,Router/Kerio 2.1.5

Both XP Sp3