Author Topic: Boot scan?  (Read 9221 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Yezinki

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 810
Re: Boot scan?
« Reply #15 on: December 12, 2008, 10:26:47 AM »
***

No, they will not usually conflict if one is set as the resident (active) scanner and the other(s) are set as on demand scanners.

As an example, I use Spybot-S&D as my resident scanner with Spyware Terminator & MBAM as on demand scanners.


***

Thanks CharleyO,

How does one set one as active & others on demand?

OS: W7 Pro 32bit.

Protection:  Avast 12.3 Free, MBAM.

Offline Yezinki

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 810
Re: Boot scan?
« Reply #16 on: December 12, 2008, 02:23:07 PM »
Tarq57 & Tech,

Have you ever tried this registry utility........http://www.larshederer.homepage.t-online.de/erunt/
OS: W7 Pro 32bit.

Protection:  Avast 12.3 Free, MBAM.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67255
Re: Boot scan?
« Reply #17 on: December 12, 2008, 03:11:16 PM »
Have you ever tried this registry utility........http://www.larshederer.homepage.t-online.de/erunt/
I use it daily, scheduled backup of the registry done at 12AM ;)
The best things in life are free.

Offline Yezinki

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 810
Re: Boot scan?
« Reply #18 on: December 12, 2008, 03:18:37 PM »
Smart Indeed.

1. Why is Default first back up made in C>Windows.......Can't one give it a different path?

I know the logic of being in windows folder to access if OS fails......

2. I use it too, but the back ups are made in My Documents each day, but the default first one is in C> Windows?

3. Since am doing a clean install of Vista on my laptop when should I make the first back up?

4. Should restoration, if required be done in safe mode or normal windows mode?

Thanks.
OS: W7 Pro 32bit.

Protection:  Avast 12.3 Free, MBAM.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67255
Re: Boot scan?
« Reply #19 on: December 12, 2008, 03:28:36 PM »
1. Why is Default first back up made in C>Windows.......Can't one give it a different path?
Yes. Use the command-line options:
http://www.larshederer.homepage.t-online.de/erunt/erunt.txt

3. Since am doing a clean install of Vista on my laptop when should I make the first back up?
Whenever you want... you can do other later...

4. Should restoration, if required be done in safe mode or normal windows mode?
Normal mode... restart of the computer will be necessary.
Be sure to backup all the users data (and on Vista, use the application with elevated rights).
The best things in life are free.

Offline Yezinki

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 810
Re: Boot scan?
« Reply #20 on: December 12, 2008, 03:31:15 PM »
Thanks Tech again.
OS: W7 Pro 32bit.

Protection:  Avast 12.3 Free, MBAM.

Offline CharleyO

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 7085
  • Be alert for error code - ID 10T
Re: Boot scan?
« Reply #21 on: December 12, 2008, 08:50:41 PM »
***

***

No, they will not usually conflict if one is set as the resident (active) scanner and the other(s) are set as on demand scanners.

As an example, I use Spybot-S&D as my resident scanner with Spyware Terminator & MBAM as on demand scanners.


***

Thanks CharleyO,

How does one set one as active & others on demand?




Spybot is the resident scanner because I have the TeaTimer (resident) active. MBAM is on demand because it is the the free version that can only be used as on demand. I have set Spyware Terminator as on demand through it's user interface.


***
Self-built desktop (8 years old) - AMD64 3200+_Gigabyte GA-K8NS Ultra-939_4 gb RAM_GeForceFX 5800w/256 ram_XP/SP3_Avast 7_MBAM_ZA Free __and__ Toshiba Satellite Laptop_W7-64bit_ 4 gb Ram_Avast 8_MBAM