Author Topic: Security Risk in Firefox Plugins?  (Read 6832 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Avastfan1

  • Guest
Security Risk in Firefox Plugins?
« on: December 09, 2008, 10:07:22 AM »
Dear Forum,

Two questions if I may:
- Why is Java (TM) Platform SE 6 U10 showing as a current plugin in Firefox?
- What is Java (TM) Platform SE 6 Update 11 - Java Plug-in 1.6.0_11 for Netscape Navigator (DLL Helper) in Firefox - Tools - Addons - Plugins? And why is it disabled?

Thanks in advance!

Avastfan1

Facts to this thread:
- Uninstalled Java (TM) SE 6 Update 10 from Control Panel (Add/Remove Programs)
- Downloaded Java (TM) SE 6 Update 11 directly from http://www.java.com/en/download/manual.jsp
- Rebooted
- Installed Java (TM) SE 6 Update 11 successfully without any errors/install failures
- Rebooted
- Only Java (TM) SE 6 Update 11 is now showing in Control Panel (Add/Remove Programs)
- YET in Firefox - Tools - Addons - Plugins the following are listed:
     - Java (TM) Platform SE 6 Update 10 - Java (TE) Platform SE Binary
     - Java (TM) Platform SE 6 Update 11 - Java (TE) Platform SE Binary
     - Java (TM) Platform SE 6 Update 11 - Java Plug-in 1.6.0_11 for Netscape Navigator (DLL Helper)
        (Please note the final one is shown as disabled)

My Setup:
- Windows XP Pro SP3
- Avast Pro 4.8.1296
- ZA Pro 8.059.000
- Firefox 3.0.4
- MBAM 1.31

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67235
Re: Security Risk in Firefox Plugins?
« Reply #1 on: December 09, 2008, 11:53:02 AM »
I have, strangely, two plugins of the 11 version, pointing both to different files  ???
The best things in life are free.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 87074
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Security Risk in Firefox Plugins?
« Reply #2 on: December 09, 2008, 04:00:00 PM »
@ Avastfan1
My suspicions are that you didn't uninstall update 10 before installing Update 11, whilst this isn't supposed to matter from update 10 as it is supposed to uninstall previous versions. So update 11 should have removed update 10. So I suspect that still is work in progress if it didn't remove the firefox plugins or if you have the browser running during the install perhaps it can't be unloaded.

Me I didn't trust this new 'you don't need to uninstall old versions' function and continued my normal practice of uninstall and then install (with browsers closed for both).

@ Tech
I too have two entries for Update 11 but they are different to your image ???
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 22.10.6038 (build 22.10.7633.734) UI 1.0.733/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline alanrf

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3866
  • Just an avast user
Re: Security Risk in Firefox Plugins?
« Reply #3 on: December 09, 2008, 08:25:13 PM »
Java updates have always been (to say the least) very strangely managed and well known for leaving all their old junk around.

It seems that the Java folks are beginning to get the message and are working on the process of cleaning up their act.  As David notes - they still have work to do.   Prior to installing 10 I used RevoUninstaller to get rid of all traces of Java.

I allowed the automatic update yesterday from 10 -11.  I still have the 10 plugin in Fireox and the 2 new 11 plugins.

So we still have some clearing up to do after the Java team. 

David, apart from using a different theme my plugins look like yours - I suspect Tech's is just a different view not showing the fuller info that you and I are seeing.
« Last Edit: December 09, 2008, 08:31:24 PM by alanrf »

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 87074
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Security Risk in Firefox Plugins?
« Reply #4 on: December 09, 2008, 09:19:23 PM »
I though that whilst the theme may well change the info I though would be standard, obviously not, though I haven't found any setting that can change that.

Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 22.10.6038 (build 22.10.7633.734) UI 1.0.733/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67235
Re: Security Risk in Firefox Plugins?
« Reply #5 on: December 09, 2008, 10:02:04 PM »
David, apart from using a different theme my plugins look like yours - I suspect Tech's is just a different view not showing the fuller info that you and I are seeing.
Yes. That's the info that is shown in the All-in-one Sidebar extension.

Returning to Java, it's a shame that a company made such a bad uninstaller :P
The best things in life are free.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 87074
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Security Risk in Firefox Plugins?
« Reply #6 on: December 09, 2008, 10:32:31 PM »
Ah, I don't use that, not a fan of sidebars. I just use the bog standard information ;D
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 22.10.6038 (build 22.10.7633.734) UI 1.0.733/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline alanrf

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3866
  • Just an avast user
Re: Security Risk in Firefox Plugins?
« Reply #7 on: December 10, 2008, 07:01:31 AM »
Quote
Ah, I don't use that, not a fan of sidebars. I just use the bog standard information Grin

Then David I shudder to think it means we are just old f*rts set in our ways and leaving the adventures to young Tech.

Sesame

  • Guest
Re: Security Risk in Firefox Plugins?
« Reply #8 on: December 10, 2008, 09:21:59 AM »
I think 2 java plug-ins are normal.  I took a screenshot of more "traditional" way to see Firefox plug-ins.


Other than that, this is yet another java uninstallation issue.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 87074
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Security Risk in Firefox Plugins?
« Reply #9 on: December 10, 2008, 02:57:24 PM »
Quote
Ah, I don't use that, not a fan of sidebars. I just use the bog standard information Grin

Then David I shudder to think it means we are just old f*rts set in our ways and leaving the adventures to young Tech.

I have always been a keen minimalist, nice look, clean browser experience man, keeping the clutter down to a dull roar, that includes toolbars/sidebars, etc. etc. or you end up with a browser web page view the size of a postage stamp ;D
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 22.10.6038 (build 22.10.7633.734) UI 1.0.733/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

CharleyO

  • Guest
Re: Security Risk in Firefox Plugins?
« Reply #10 on: December 10, 2008, 08:08:28 PM »
***


I have always been a keen minimalist, nice look, clean browser experience man, keeping the clutter down to a dull roar, that includes toolbars/sidebars, etc. etc. or you end up with a browser web page view the size of a postage stamp ;D


I agree with David on this. It's a case of "less is more."

(more view space, more secure, etc)


***

Sesame

  • Guest
Re: Security Risk in Firefox Plugins?
« Reply #11 on: December 11, 2008, 02:36:18 AM »
You two don't seem to have used All-in-One sidebar addon.

The sidebar is open in the screenshot below.


The sidebar is folded in the screenshot below.

Offline alanrf

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3866
  • Just an avast user
Re: Security Risk in Firefox Plugins?
« Reply #12 on: December 11, 2008, 05:34:41 AM »
Let me see ... to make it a couple of clicks easier to see things I can easily see with existing features I have to have the overhead of loading an extension (that I might use once a month) with every load of Firefox.

Hmmm ... I'll pass.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 87074
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Security Risk in Firefox Plugins?
« Reply #13 on: December 11, 2008, 02:49:01 PM »
You two don't seem to have used All-in-One sidebar addon.
<snip>

That's right and if you read my post you will see why and I echo Alan's comments. The add-ons I have installed are generally adding something to firefox that isn't available, rather that having a different way to access the info.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 22.10.6038 (build 22.10.7633.734) UI 1.0.733/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67235
Re: Security Risk in Firefox Plugins?
« Reply #14 on: December 11, 2008, 03:12:42 PM »
All-in-One sidebar addon.
Very good extension... I use it ;)
The best things in life are free.