Author Topic: On-Access Scanner  (Read 6309 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline alangeewhiz

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Peace
On-Access Scanner
« on: May 30, 2003, 04:24:06 PM »
Hi. I just installed Home Version 4, and so far so good. My thanks to Avast for what looks like a good and Free antivirus program.

 I supposedly have three systems on my computer. Both Internet Mail and Standard Shield are running. However the Outlook/Exchange is not running. It says the provider is waiting for a subsystem to start.

The email scanning seems to be working just fine. I use both Outlook Express and Eudora. I'm just wondering, should I be worried that Outlook/Exchange is not running?  ???

Thanks.

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11664
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re:On-Access Scanner
« Reply #1 on: May 30, 2003, 04:32:13 PM »
Quote
should I be worried that Outlook/Exchange is not running?
Absolutely not. If you're not running Outlook, it's no wonder that the Outlook provider is not running, is it? The provider loads inside Outlook, so it can be "running" only if its host (i.e. Outlook itself) is running... ;)

Hope this helps,
Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11805
    • AVAST Software
Re:On-Access Scanner
« Reply #2 on: May 30, 2003, 04:44:11 PM »
Just in case it wasn't clear - Vlk is trying to say that "Outlook" means full Outlook, not Outlook Express  :)
Outlook Express is protected by Internet Mail provider.

Offline alangeewhiz

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Peace
Re:On-Access Scanner
« Reply #3 on: May 30, 2003, 05:41:25 PM »
Thank you very much gentlemen. I didn't realize that Outlook meant the "big" program and not Outlook Express.

Again, thank you.

 :)