Author Topic: UAC being invoked by avast? Which provider?  (Read 3489 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67235
UAC being invoked by avast? Which provider?
« on: December 20, 2008, 12:54:38 AM »
I've posted before these UAC warnings (http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=40979.msg344409#msg344409) but I get no answer. Which part of avast is invoking UAC to update using setup.ovr?  ::)

Vlk?
The best things in life are free.

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11820
    • AVAST Software
Re: UAC being invoked by avast? Which provider?
« Reply #1 on: December 20, 2008, 01:38:23 PM »
I guess that's the Outlook provider, isn't it?

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67235
Re: UAC being invoked by avast? Which provider?
« Reply #2 on: December 20, 2008, 01:44:49 PM »
I'm not sure Igor... couldn't it be the automatic update in the Professional version? I have no scheduled updates although...
The best things in life are free.

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11820
    • AVAST Software
Re: UAC being invoked by avast? Which provider?
« Reply #3 on: December 20, 2008, 01:47:49 PM »
I don't know, but the /checkpushreq argument sounds like the PUSH-update request check.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67235
Re: UAC being invoked by avast? Which provider?
« Reply #4 on: December 20, 2008, 02:01:08 PM »
I don't know, but the /checkpushreq argument sounds like the PUSH-update request check.

You're right :-[ :-[
The best things in life are free.

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11820
    • AVAST Software
Re: UAC being invoked by avast? Which provider?
« Reply #5 on: December 20, 2008, 02:02:27 PM »
As written elsewhere, the code has been changed... so let's hope the behavior will be better in the next build.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67235
Re: UAC being invoked by avast? Which provider?
« Reply #6 on: December 20, 2008, 02:06:20 PM »
As written elsewhere, the code has been changed... so let's hope the behavior will be better in the next build.

Soon? Or only next year...
The best things in life are free.

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11820
    • AVAST Software
Re: UAC being invoked by avast? Which provider?
« Reply #7 on: December 20, 2008, 02:08:57 PM »
No idea, I'm afraid.
I'd say, however, that there won't be an update just because of this... so some other changes are needed, too.