Author Topic: Suspicious file found in rootkit hidden process  (Read 5247 times)

mrwobbly

Suspicious file found in rootkit hidden process
« on: December 15, 2008, 12:15:28 PM »
Hi, I am a complete novice, but like others on this forum I'm having 'Suspicious files found in rootkit hidden process' errors when running the Avast. One example of the many suspicious files:

windows\system32\spoolsv.exe\drivers\w32x86\2\ppbiUif.dll

I have updated to build 4.8.1296 with vps 081214.0. XP SP3 machine (not an Acer PC).

I have read through the various threads which talk about these suspicious files and frankly I'm confused. I have carried out the reboot scan ect but the problem still exists. Yes the files have been sent to Avast for study.

The problem only seemed to come to light after updating to build 4.8.1296 if that helps.

Please can you advise what I need to do to rectify,

atb mrwobbly
« Last Edit: December 15, 2008, 10:10:30 PM by mrwobbly »

Offline Lisandro

• Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
Re: Suspicious file found in rootkit hidden process
« Reply #1 on: December 15, 2008, 12:35:29 PM »
Avast is detecting as false positives some drivers on Acer computers.
Hope they can review the antirootkit scanning soon and help all the users that are experiencing problems with it...

I suppose that file, when submitted to www.virustotal.com, returns clean...
The best things in life are free.

Rick F

« Reply #2 on: December 15, 2008, 03:19:20 PM »
Try updating avast again.  The latest definitions is: 081215-1

There were some false positives being detected in 'rootkit' scan.

Offline Maxx_original

• Avast team
  • Super Poster
« Reply #3 on: December 15, 2008, 03:47:02 PM »
this is another kind of error, which was seen on some Acer computers.. Vlk tried to resolve it, but i don't know the current status...

LAURANCE

« Reply #4 on: December 15, 2008, 03:55:02 PM »
i am also a novice and can't find where I am supposed to post my  message.