Author Topic: can you help me?  (Read 4766 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

pajones50

  • Guest
can you help me?
« on: December 26, 2008, 08:35:46 PM »
I have this week downloaded the new home avast version I cannot
access a very important website for my work from australia. I now live here
in the Czech Rep and need some help. The site is http://www.rwwa.com.au/cris/
and I can access it from other computers but not from mine. It was never ever a problem
before. If it does finally load it takes forever nad it was never ever this way before.
any help would be really appreciated---never had probs before but this one is killing me.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67241
Re: can you help me?
« Reply #1 on: December 26, 2008, 10:32:10 PM »
Do you use a firewall?
Is avast showing any alert on this page? Is your avast updated?

Webpage seems clean, although it's categorized as Gambling and Sports/Recreation/Hobbies by www.k9webprotection.com
The best things in life are free.

pajones50

  • Guest
Re: can you help me?
« Reply #2 on: December 27, 2008, 06:26:30 AM »
Hi, My avast is as updates as I can make it and as far as I know I have no firewall Its a West Aussie site
to do with horseracing that I have used in my work for 6 years without probs until installing the new avast.
Any other ideas or things I can check would be great

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 86671
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: can you help me?
« Reply #3 on: December 27, 2008, 10:20:54 PM »
Works fine for me, firefox, avast web shield enabled and outpost firewall pro. I take it that you don't have any problems browsing other web sites ?

So what browser are you using ?
What firewall are you using ?
Does this site require cookies enabled and are they enabled ?

Exactly what happens when you click it, errors displayed, nothing, etc. ?
avast scans and alerts to infection but it doesn't block, it isn't a firewall.

What other security software are you using ?

Have (or did) you another AV installed in this system, if so what was it and how did you get rid of it ?
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 22.5.6015 (build 22.5.7263.730) UI 1.0.711/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

pajones50

  • Guest
Re: can you help me?
« Reply #4 on: December 28, 2008, 09:09:52 AM »
Thanks David,

I am probably out of my depth now but I will answer what I can and maybe someone can
give me an idea.
I have no probs with any other sites.
I use both ie and firefox - no difference
Not sure about a firewall( how do i find this info on my computer?)

The page either doesnt load at all or loads very thoroughly and incompletely over
15 to 20 minutes.
Its very frustrating but maybe I need some pro help when everyone gets back to work..
Thanks for any other ideas

Paul

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 86671
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: can you help me?
« Reply #5 on: December 28, 2008, 03:50:18 PM »
Windows Control Panel, Security Center, that will tell you what firewall it is you are using and if it is enabled, etc.

If you say you don't know what firewall you have it is more likely that you have the windows firewall.

What version of windows are you using ?
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 22.5.6015 (build 22.5.7263.730) UI 1.0.711/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

pajones50

  • Guest
Re: can you help me?
« Reply #6 on: December 28, 2008, 04:01:02 PM »
windows xp and i will check that firewall out right now

pajones50

  • Guest
Re: can you help me?
« Reply #7 on: December 28, 2008, 04:05:33 PM »
yep the windows firewall...can i somehow make sure its allowing this site through?

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 86671
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: can you help me?
« Reply #8 on: December 28, 2008, 04:36:11 PM »
The windows xp firewall has zero outbound protection so there is something else going on

I asked a number of questions, which are unanswered:

Does this site require cookies enabled and are they enabled ?
.e.g. have you got cookies disabled in either browser, etc.

What other security software are you using ?

Have (or did) you another AV installed in this system, if so what was it and how did you get rid of it ?

####
Whilst the windows XP firewall is usually good at keeping your ports stealthed (hidden) it provides no outbound protection and you should consider a third party firewall.

Any malware that manages to get past your defences will have free reign to connect to the internet to either download more of the same, pass your personal data (sensitive or otherwise, user names, passwords, keylogger retrieved data, etc.) or open a backdoor to your computer, so outbound protection is essential.

- There are many freeware firewalls such as, Comodo (care required now it is a suite not to install the anti-virus element), PCTools Firewall Plus, Jetico, etc. - Zone Alarm free works fine with avast and has a reasonably friendly user interface, however, the free version is becoming bloated with trial ware and is also crippled as far as outbound protection goes In the Program Control, configuration area, the slider will only goes as far as Medium protection, if you want more you have to buy the Pro version.

See A Forum discussion on free firewalls http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=30808.0
See http://www.matousec.com/projects/firewall-challenge/results.php.

This however, won't have any impact on this problem, but it is something which you should consider, later.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 22.5.6015 (build 22.5.7263.730) UI 1.0.711/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

pajones50

  • Guest
Re: can you help me?
« Reply #9 on: December 28, 2008, 05:47:19 PM »
gday david,

it did require me to enable cookies and i have used this site
without problem for many years.
i have both ie and mozila set to allow cookies..

no other security software and no otehr av software has been used on
this computer

paul

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 86671
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: can you help me?
« Reply #10 on: December 28, 2008, 06:22:01 PM »
I'm not really sure what else to suggest, since you have previously been able to visit this site (and Tech and I can too) and you haven't made any changes. Also your ability to connect from other computers but not this one is a mystery.

Whilst this shouldn't make any difference you could Terminate the Web Shield and see if that makes it possible to connect to it, but if it really was a problem with the web shield, I would expect it to be effecting other sites.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 22.5.6015 (build 22.5.7263.730) UI 1.0.711/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67241
Re: can you help me?
« Reply #11 on: December 28, 2008, 08:33:39 PM »
Can you open your HOSTS file in Notepad, copy and paste its contents here?
C:\windows\system32\drivers\etc\hosts
The best things in life are free.

pajones50

  • Guest
Re: can you help me?
« Reply #12 on: January 01, 2009, 07:42:13 PM »
tech --thanks for the trouble over this for me --i am just back froma family holiday thus the delay..

anyway here is the cut and paste
you suggested

Copyright (c) 1993-1999 Microsoft Corp.
#
# This is a sample HOSTS file used by Microsoft TCP/IP for Windows.
#
# This file contains the mappings of IP addresses to host names. Each
# entry should be kept on an individual line. The IP address should
# be placed in the first column followed by the corresponding host name.
# The IP address and the host name should be separated by at least one
# space.
#
# Additionally, comments (such as these) may be inserted on individual
# lines or following the machine name denoted by a '#' symbol.
#
# For example:
#
#      102.54.94.97     rhino.acme.com          # source server
#       38.25.63.10     x.acme.com              # x client host

127.0.0.1       localhost
 

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67241
Re: can you help me?
« Reply #13 on: January 01, 2009, 11:21:15 PM »
Your hosts file is pretty ok.
It's hard to me to troubleshoot what is going on...
The best things in life are free.