Author Topic: scheduled task set up  (Read 12381 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline marcus58

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
scheduled task set up
« on: December 26, 2008, 11:06:06 PM »
I am attempting to set up avast to run as a scheduled task.  I keep getting an error code 0x80070005.  It says access is denied.  Can anyone help?  I run xp home and am using the avast home edition.  Thank you.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67275
Re: scheduled task set up
« Reply #1 on: December 26, 2008, 11:28:33 PM »
How are you trying to set the home version with scheduling?
The best things in life are free.

Offline marcus58

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: scheduled task set up
« Reply #2 on: December 26, 2008, 11:31:44 PM »
Yes, I am using the home version.

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11752
    • AVAST Software
Re: scheduled task set up
« Reply #3 on: December 27, 2008, 12:42:04 AM »
How (are you scheduling)?

Offline marcus58

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: scheduled task set up
« Reply #4 on: December 27, 2008, 12:46:00 AM »
I go to scheduled tasks and follow the directions to open a new task.  I tried following the intructions found elsewhere on this page.  I still get access denied and it does not function.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67275
Re: scheduled task set up
« Reply #5 on: December 27, 2008, 09:57:03 PM »
I go to scheduled tasks
It's not present in the Home version, only in the Professional one.
Are you logged as an administrator? Are you really using something called avast Home (free) version?
The best things in life are free.

Offline marcus58

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: scheduled task set up
« Reply #6 on: December 27, 2008, 10:33:31 PM »
Yes I am using avast home edition.  I found out last night that the scheduled task feature is only available in the pro edition.  What are some of these folks talking about when they say they found a way around the problem?  I tried what they posted and it did not work.  Thanks for answering.  I am logged on not as administrator.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 83517
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: scheduled task set up
« Reply #7 on: December 28, 2008, 12:18:10 AM »
They are using a work around, by using a tool which isn't designed for this purpose. the ashQuick.exe scan is designed to scan downloaded files or use as a windows explorer context menu scan function.

Personally I find little user for this work around, but I don't have large amounts of data on my system and I prefer to start a manual on-demand scan as a part of my regular weekly system maintenance.

http://www.google.co.uk/search?q=scheduled+task+error+0x80070005

I would imagine that on a non-administrator account you would have to elevate the privileges of the account when creating the scheduled task. e.g. Enter the user name of an account with privileges, enter the password for that account and confirm the password. This is for xp pro sp3, you don't say what your OS is ?

If it is Vista then you may also have UAC hoops to jump through.
« Last Edit: December 28, 2008, 12:20:14 AM by DavidR »
WinXP ProSP3/ Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ avast! free 18.5.2342/ Firefox ESR, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ DropMyRights/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security
Windows 10 Home 1909 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 20.6.2420 (build 20.6.5495.561) UI-1.0.541/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro

Offline marcus58

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: scheduled task set up
« Reply #8 on: December 28, 2008, 12:40:38 AM »
I think I'll just scan manually.  I usually do defrag and scan disk once a week anyway.  I use xp.  What do you mean by administrator account?

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 83517
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: scheduled task set up
« Reply #9 on: December 28, 2008, 02:25:33 AM »
I mean a limited user account and not one with administrator privileges.

Probably less hassle with XP than Vista, especially if the account you use although not 'the administrator' account. Though if you do a regular set of things, it is easy to tack on a manual scan, the standard sensitivity without archives should be sufficient.
WinXP ProSP3/ Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ avast! free 18.5.2342/ Firefox ESR, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ DropMyRights/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security
Windows 10 Home 1909 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 20.6.2420 (build 20.6.5495.561) UI-1.0.541/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro

Offline alanrf

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3867
  • Just an avast user
Re: scheduled task set up
« Reply #10 on: December 28, 2008, 03:03:37 AM »
Quote
using a tool which isn't designed for this purpose


ashquick.exe is identical to the function of the avast thorough scan with archives. It is designed to perform that task (and I would be pretty well certain that it uses exactly the same code).

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 83517
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: scheduled task set up
« Reply #11 on: December 28, 2008, 03:21:02 AM »
Well since avast home has no scheduled function you can bet your a** that the developers didn't design/intend the ashquick.exe to perform that task in the home version.

So that is what my interpretation of not designed for the task is, you have yours ;D

If it is the same code, I wouldn't know as I don't have the Pro version, but the Pro version gives that added functionality (actions on detection) to the scheduled scan rather than the simple fudge we are using.
WinXP ProSP3/ Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ avast! free 18.5.2342/ Firefox ESR, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ DropMyRights/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security
Windows 10 Home 1909 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 20.6.2420 (build 20.6.5495.561) UI-1.0.541/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro

Offline marcus58

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: scheduled task set up
« Reply #12 on: December 28, 2008, 02:43:50 PM »
I tried the ashquick.exe fix and still got the error code I gave in the first message.  It told me access denied.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67275
Re: scheduled task set up
« Reply #13 on: December 28, 2008, 10:00:17 PM »
I tried the ashquick.exe fix and still got the error code I gave in the first message.  It told me access denied.
Seems that you're not scanning into an administrator account but a limited one.
The best things in life are free.

Offline marcus58

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: scheduled task set up
« Reply #14 on: December 29, 2008, 02:01:09 AM »
So how do I scan into an administrator account?