Author Topic: On-Access scanner not available in taskbar  (Read 9339 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Adler

  • Guest
On-Access scanner not available in taskbar
« on: April 26, 2004, 09:47:13 AM »
Hi all,

I've just installed avast! 4 Home, and it seems to work alright. But if I click on close it really closes,but on another pc it keeps active in the background. (there is this blue ball with the a on it) So, I have no idea what I have done wrong. Must I install this on-access scanner additionally? (I haven't found it...)

Thx for help
Martin

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67241
Re:On-Access scanner not available in taskbar
« Reply #1 on: April 27, 2004, 04:28:13 AM »
But if I click on close it really closes...

Sorry this could not happen  :'(
The application must keep active in the background (with the blue ball at system tray).

Did you have, at least, a blue 'crossed' ball at the system tray?

So, I have no idea what I have done wrong. Must I install this on-access scanner additionally? (I haven't found it...) Thx for help Martin

No, there isn't an standalone on-access scanner to be installed...
Did you try the repair option on the Control Panel > Add/Remove programs > avast antivirus > Change/Modify and then choosing 'Repair' at the pop-up window?

Which is your OS?
The best things in life are free.

Adler

  • Guest
Re:On-Access scanner not available in taskbar
« Reply #2 on: April 27, 2004, 05:33:24 PM »
At first, thanks for help.

Well,
Quote
The application must keep active in the background (with the blue ball at system tray).
that's what I thought. But there's no blue ball and no avast active in the background. That's why I was so suprised.

I haven't tried to repair it, I just reinstalled it. But I will try this and tell if it helped ;)
The OS is Windows XP with SP1.

Thanks so far.

cjtc

  • Guest
Re:On-Access scanner not available in taskbar
« Reply #3 on: April 27, 2004, 10:42:30 PM »
Roughly the same thing has happened to me on each of the last 2 program updates:
1) Installed the update ... OK
2) Rebooted the PC ... OK
3) Avast! on-access scanner starts up ... OK
4) stays working UNTIL I run the mouse cursor over it. Then it just disappears! Gone. Phut. Not in task manager any more. No messages, no entries in the error log. Nothing.
5) Just reboot the PC once more and then everything seems to be fine and dandy. On-Access scanner stays alive and does its job.

As I say, exactly the same thing has happed on each of the two latest program updates. Weird.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67241
Re:On-Access scanner not available in taskbar
« Reply #4 on: April 28, 2004, 04:13:11 AM »
Right now, what version of avast are you using?
The last one is 4.1.396...
Did the last one still have problems?
The best things in life are free.

cjtc

  • Guest
Re:On-Access scanner not available in taskbar
« Reply #5 on: April 28, 2004, 09:00:53 AM »
Yes, it happened to me yesterday, when I used the very latest program update.

After updating and the reboot, all was fine until I moved my mouse over the system tray A-ball. At that point, the A-ball just disappeared.

A second reboot brought it back and it's been fine since.

The odd thing is that exactly the same thing happened at the last program update (about a week ago).

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11815
    • AVAST Software
Re:On-Access scanner not available in taskbar
« Reply #6 on: April 28, 2004, 09:58:03 AM »
Well, if a program terminates unexpectedly (i.e. it crashes or is killed), the icons that were put to the system tray by this program stay there - because the program didn't instruct Windows to remove them. When you move your mouse over the icon, Windows try to send the corresponding messages to the owner program, finds out that the program doesn't exist anymore and removes the icons.

So, the thing means that the avast! process responsible for handling the icons (was) terminated for some reason... it would be nice to find out why, of course  ???

Adler

  • Guest
Re:On-Access scanner not available in taskbar
« Reply #7 on: April 28, 2004, 05:26:53 PM »
Okay, I tried to install the newest version, but the result is still the same. If I click close, it's gone. Completly.

Then I tried the things you mentioned, like repair (still the same result) and reboot and so on. Without any effect. It still closes, if click on the x. And there is no On-Access Scanner active or visible.

What else can I try?

Thanks for help.
Martin

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11664
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re:On-Access scanner not available in taskbar
« Reply #8 on: April 28, 2004, 05:30:12 PM »
Check the Task Manager. Is ashDisp.exe listed in the process list? And ashServ.exe?

Thanks
Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

fgarcia10

  • Guest
Re:On-Access scanner not available in taskbar
« Reply #9 on: May 12, 2004, 10:25:17 AM »
HI,

I'm a new user and I have the same problem. ashServ.exe is on the task manager but ashdisp.exe is not what should I do?

Thanks for any help you may provide.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67241
Re:On-Access scanner not available in taskbar
« Reply #10 on: May 13, 2004, 05:14:21 AM »
HI,

I'm a new user and I have the same problem. ashServ.exe is on the task manager but ashdisp.exe is not what should I do?

Thanks for any help you may provide.

Did you try to repair your installation?
Control Panel > Add/Remove programs > avast antivirus > Change/Modify and in the pop up window, choose 'Repair' function.

If it does not work, why don't you uninstall/boot/install/boot ?
Did you have any other antivirus installed in your system right now?
The best things in life are free.

fgarcia10

  • Guest
Re:On-Access scanner not available in taskbar
« Reply #11 on: May 13, 2004, 06:21:20 AM »
Hi,
I uninstalled CA antivirus, and then I installed AVAST. After that I have done what your describe and no luck. I have no clue what is going on... ???

fgarcia10

  • Guest
Re:On-Access scanner not available in taskbar
« Reply #12 on: May 13, 2004, 03:37:06 PM »
Ok, I follow the directions in another tread about unistalling avast! and booting up again and stoping all my processes and then installing avast! again and it worked.

Now I have real time protection. Thanks for your interest in helping me.
This is really a nice software.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67241
Re:On-Access scanner not available in taskbar
« Reply #13 on: May 13, 2004, 03:45:43 PM »
Ok, I follow the directions in another tread about unistalling avast! and booting up again and stoping all my processes and then installing avast! again and it worked.

Now I have real time protection. Thanks for your interest in helping me.
This is really a nice software.

Glad with you... It's not only a nice software, it's the best  ;D
Wellcome to the paradise... Forums are quite usefull as the program itself  8)
The best things in life are free.