Author Topic: vista indicator  (Read 15428 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline lukor

  • Avast team
  • Super Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 1876
    • AVAST Software
Re: DSL Disconnects
« Reply #15 on: February 01, 2009, 08:34:23 PM »
Ok, interresting. So "DSL Disconnects" is somewhat (completely?) missleading title. The problem is not about "DSL", not about "disconnect", but rather a vista indicator. Hmm. It is nevertheless interresting why this happens. The good thing that your DSL does not drop its connection.

I'll try to find out more about the icon and the way how it detects if you are connected or not.

Lukas.

 

Offline darth

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 50

Offline jimb11

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 221
Re: DSL Disconnects
« Reply #17 on: February 02, 2009, 05:53:08 PM »
Thank you Darth but none of that worked. This has something to do with web shield not being compatible with my computer.

Offline lukor

  • Avast team
  • Super Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 1876
    • AVAST Software
Re: DSL Disconnects
« Reply #18 on: February 02, 2009, 06:18:16 PM »
I have found out that vista internet indicator is probably implemented by DNS lookup and http request (but I was not able to trace the later)

Vista will try and reach out and test Internet connectivity by connecting to the web site http://www.msftncsi.com and a DNS test at dns.msftncsi.com.

Testing with avast and vista has not however shown any problem on my machines. Could you please try to use these two IP addresses and ignore them from WebShield scan?

131.107.255.255 - stands for dns.msftncsi.com
207.46.131.206 - stands for www.msftncsi.com

Open the resident protection dialog, navigate to webshield, click Customize. On the first tab "Basic", you can see the line "Ignored addresses". Please try to type in these two ips, separated by comma:

207.46.131.206,131.107.255.255

Click OK, then, restart WebShield. (terminate, start).

Does that help?

Thanks a lot.
Lukas.

Offline jimb11

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 221
Re: DSL Disconnects
« Reply #19 on: February 03, 2009, 01:32:34 AM »
Thank you Lukor but that didn't work.

Offline scythe944

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2913
    • My Tech Blog
Re: DSL Disconnects
« Reply #20 on: February 03, 2009, 03:12:48 AM »
Very strange that disabling TCP autotuning has anything to do with this problem.  I too have a Vista machine with Avast installed (as do many people here), and haven't had this problem.  I would say to check your MTU settings in your router to fix this problem, especially since you have DSL, but since it only happens with the Avast webshield, I'm going to leave this one to the programmers!

Thanks for the info though, Darth.  I'll keep it in the back of my head in case something else like this comes up.
For generic computer (not avast) problems, you can also visit my forum for help: http://www.jacobytech.net/forum

Offline jimb11

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 221
Re: DSL Disconnects
« Reply #21 on: February 27, 2009, 02:51:17 AM »
Can anyone tell me what happens when they click on this web site: http://www.msftncsi.com/

All I get is a: Server Error 403 - Forbidden: Access is denied.
You do not have permission to view this directory or page using the credentials that you supplied.

Offline alanrf

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3867
  • Just an avast user
Re: vista indicator
« Reply #22 on: February 27, 2009, 03:37:58 AM »
Same error as you see (though I am on XP).

Offline lukor

  • Avast team
  • Super Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 1876
    • AVAST Software
Re: vista indicator
« Reply #23 on: February 27, 2009, 07:53:59 AM »
The homepage itself need not be accessible. Only the following link is available:

http://www.msftncsi.com/ncsi.txt

Should contain text: "Microsoft NCSI" thats all.

Offline alanrf

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3867
  • Just an avast user
Re: vista indicator
« Reply #24 on: February 27, 2009, 08:11:26 AM »
Response (for me) as predicted by Lukor

Offline Hally

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 297
Re: DSL Disconnects
« Reply #25 on: February 27, 2009, 05:36:26 PM »
Hi   :)

I can confirm what Jimb11 is saying .. I Have The Same Problem!  :(


Although! - Funny Enough...
Yesterday .. The problem was really bad ( Every 5 minutes )
Today .. It Hasn't Happened - Yet!  ???

Fingers crossed!

Perhaps the problem has gone away  :D
As... Today is the first day I haven't had the problem.

Anyway!
I still thought I'd better mention it... Just in case it does start again  ;)


Until I've just noticed this thread...
I wasn't sure if it was Avast causing this problem or .. Avast + PC Tools Firewall Plus = Problem

As Jimb11 is only using the Windows Firewall ... This means the problem has to be from Avast  :(
Also!
I have PC Tools Firewall Plus on another computer with AVG 8 .. And don't have this odd little problem.

It's not really a problem .. Just a little annoying!  ;)
Just Like Jimb11 Said...
This is wierd but when I lose the blue Vista internet indicator I still can surf the internet with no problem. I guess I"ll just use a different av instead of avast.

Same For Me!
When the Little Blue Globe disappears from the Two Little Computers - Taskbar Icon... I Can Still Surf The Web
In Fact!
I've noticed that I can get the Little Blue Globe back again - By...
1/ Clicking The - Back Button
2/ Clicking The - Forward Button
3/ Opening A - New tab
4/ Clicking - Home

I haven't played around with Avast's settings .. & .. I Don't Intend To  ;)
Like I Said..
It's not really a problem .. Just ever so slightly annoying  ::)
And Unbelievably... It Hasn't Happened Today!
Just Remembered!
I rebooted my Router this morning.
I wonder if that's why the problem seems to have gone.


My Laptop
Vista Home Premium - SP1 (32bit)
ADSL Broadband
Wireless Router - PPPoE


Thanks!   ;)


PS.
Been using Avast for 2 weeks now ... Love It!   :D
« Last Edit: February 27, 2009, 05:46:43 PM by Hally »
Laptop * Vista HP ( 32bit ) SP2 * Avast 7 Free - Windows Defender - PC Tools Firewall Plus - MBAM - Sandboxie
Desktop * Windows 7 HP ( 64bit ) SP1 *Avast 7 Free - Windows Defender ( On Demand ) - Windows Firewall - MBAM
Dropbox = Free.. Back Up - & - Sync!: https://www.dropbox.com/referrals/NTU3NjMzMzA5

Offline jimb11

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 221
Re: vista indicator
« Reply #26 on: March 23, 2009, 03:42:02 PM »
Well, I just reformated my hard drive and the problem is still there. I guess I will wait until avast 5 comes out and try that one. Thanks for everyone's help.

Offline jimb11

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 221
Re: vista indicator
« Reply #27 on: May 17, 2009, 06:18:52 PM »
I don't know if this will help troubleshoot but everytime I lose my blue vista indicator and it shows local access only my mouse flickers. I still can't believe I'm the only one having this annoyance because all settings are correct on my computer.

Offline !Donovan

  • Web Analyst
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2220
    • The WAR Against Malware
Re: vista indicator
« Reply #28 on: May 17, 2009, 10:53:33 PM »
Did you download any antivirus/firewall before downloading Avast?
Familiarize Yourself! | Educate Yourself! | Beautify Yourself! | Scan Yourself!
"People who say it cannot be done should not interrupt those who are doing it."

Offline jimb11

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 221
Re: vista indicator
« Reply #29 on: May 18, 2009, 05:16:18 PM »
No!