Author Topic: Windows 7 x64bit  (Read 9516 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline _Rej_

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 87
Windows 7 x64bit
« on: January 10, 2009, 01:43:56 AM »
Just to let you know that Avast .1296 seems to work flawlessly, however Windows 7 does not recognize that it is up-to-date after an udpate but see below....

FIXED:  Somehow after another reboot, the system now considers that Avast IS updated properly.  (don't ask..  Win7 *is* beta after all lol)

sorry for the misinformation.

_Rej_
« Last Edit: January 11, 2009, 11:19:53 AM by _Rej_ »
Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit - Intel i7 2600k @ 4.0-4.3Ghz, EVGA 580 GTX OC 1.5GB @ 850Mhz, 8GB Mem (Corsair Vengeance), 3.420TB SSDx1, HDDx3, Logitech G15+G5. Avast! IS 7.x, occasional MBAM scans.

Offline LarryE1946

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Windows 7 x64bit
« Reply #1 on: January 11, 2009, 04:40:26 AM »
So does that mean that Avast will work with Windows 7?  I had OneCare, which doesn't work with Windows 7, probably because they are going to discontinue it soon.

Thanks in advance for any answers.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 85965
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Windows 7 x64bit
« Reply #2 on: January 11, 2009, 04:20:08 PM »
There are several avast forum members using the current beta version of windows 7 without problem. avast was also one of the first AVs to support the Vista beta builds also.

That however, wouldn't make me give windows 7 beta a go, I'm in no rush to beta test an OS on an operational not test system. Not to mention downloading it on dial-up, my beard would be much longer by then ;D
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.9.2494 (build 21.9.6698.703) UI 1.0.672/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline essexboy

  • Malware removal instructor
  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40610
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: Windows 7 x64bit
« Reply #3 on: January 11, 2009, 04:40:46 PM »
Windows 7 32bit Beta

Avast works well.
Superantispyware blue screens during installation of the hooking driver
MBAM works well
Spywareblaster works well
Paint.Net works well
Roboform works well
Leechget  crashes IE
Hijackthis runs
Secunia PSI runs
Adobe flash runs

Thats all for now

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re: Windows 7 x64bit
« Reply #4 on: January 11, 2009, 05:41:52 PM »
So does that mean that Avast will work with Windows 7?
Yes, both on 32 and 64 bits flavors.
The best things in life are free.

Offline LarryE1946

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Windows 7 x64bit
« Reply #5 on: January 11, 2009, 05:55:19 PM »
Thanks for your input.  Will give it a try.

Much appreciate your replies.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re: Windows 7 x64bit
« Reply #6 on: January 11, 2009, 06:24:14 PM »
Thanks for your input.  Will give it a try.

Much appreciate your replies.
You're welcome. Feel free to come back any time you need help or just to change experiences 8)
The best things in life are free.

Offline myname70

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Windows 7 x64bit
« Reply #7 on: February 03, 2009, 09:59:31 PM »
I have Windows 7 beta 64-bit and tried to install Avast. It works if I start manual scanning, but if try to start it automatically, it shows an error: Program cannot activate resident part (Standard Shield provider not found). Any ideas how to solve it? I have updated version

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11664
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re: Windows 7 x64bit
« Reply #8 on: February 03, 2009, 10:03:41 PM »
Interesting. Right now I'm testing avast on W7 build 7025 (a post-beta build) and haven't noticed any issues, really.

Is there anything in the logs?

Thanks
Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline n.vaneck

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Windows 7 x64bit
« Reply #9 on: February 04, 2009, 12:16:53 AM »
Doesn't work for me--on clean system. New beta fails same way: BSOD in tdy.sys.  No other AVs work either, except eset beta64.

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11664
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re: Windows 7 x64bit
« Reply #10 on: February 04, 2009, 01:26:30 AM »
What if you don't install the Network Shield, Internet Mail and Web Shield providers?
In that configuration, the system shouldn't even load tdix.sys.

Thanks
Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline n.vaneck

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Windows 7 x64bit
« Reply #11 on: February 04, 2009, 07:21:59 AM »
What if you don't install the Network Shield, Internet Mail and Web Shield providers?
In that configuration, the system shouldn't even load tdix.sys.

Thanks
Vlk

Well, it fails every time with a scan.....