Author Topic: scanning taking so long!!!  (Read 7818 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

alimoso

  • Guest
scanning taking so long!!!
« on: April 29, 2004, 03:28:10 PM »
Is it normal that Avast takes ages to scan my computer?
I turned it on to do a thorough scan at about 12am.
It only finished the next day at about 8pm!!!!!!! :o
I'm sure something is not right and that it shouldn't take so long!!!!
Has this ever happened to any of you?
How long does it normally take?

shgoh

  • Guest
Re:scanning taking so long!!!
« Reply #1 on: April 29, 2004, 03:34:41 PM »
not sure what happened though.. ???

for my case...it takes about 1 hour for a thorough scan

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 46565
  • 61 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re:scanning taking so long!!!
« Reply #2 on: April 29, 2004, 05:28:21 PM »
You didn't give us any info about your system.  Or, how much data is on your system.
Was anything found as far as viruses and did it stop scanning on it's own or did you finally interupt the process? ???
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast One 21.11, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://bit.ly/BobGInternet

Offline MikeBCda

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2248
Re:scanning taking so long!!!
« Reply #3 on: April 29, 2004, 06:47:53 PM »
There was another thread where we'd compared typical "normal" scanning times.

On my system, set up to exclude a set of folders with just jpg's, a thorough scan (reported as a little under 2-1/2 gigs) including archives takes about 11 minutes, and a standard scan (also including archives) about 8 minutes.
Intel Atom D2700, 2 gig RAM, Win 7 x64 SP1 & IE-11, Firefox 51.0
(default). 320 gig HD, 15Mb DSL, Win firewall, Avast 12.3.2280 free, SpywareBlaster, MBAM Prem., Crypto-Prevent

Offline pk

  • Avast team
  • Super Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 2085
Re:scanning taking so long!!!
« Reply #4 on: April 29, 2004, 08:20:27 PM »
It only finished the next day at about 8pm!!!!!!! :o
Please check off in Report section of settings, showing all files whose are currently scanned - and try to figure out what file makes your scanning so slow.

alimoso

  • Guest
Re:scanning taking so long!!!
« Reply #5 on: May 04, 2004, 11:29:52 PM »
Thank you all for your answers.
It was a bit silly of me to ask without telling you what kind of computer I have :-[
So I have added some info in my signature. Wasn't really sure what to write, so I hope I haven't missed anything important. ;)

Yes it did find a problem when scanning, and I think it's cleared up.

I defragmentated my PC yesterday. It took forever too. I put it on at midday and it still hadn't finished by 1am. But it was in the morning :-X
So maybe Avast will be able to scan faster now :D

Offline .: Mac :.

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 5092
Re:scanning taking so long!!!
« Reply #6 on: May 04, 2004, 11:38:15 PM »
if you want to scan with lighting speed try command on demand
http://www.commandondemand.com/eval/cod/index.cfm

an AMD K-6 processor is fairly old hence that could be one reason it is a little slow. Command should be a lot faster than avast however ths free version is only an on demand scanner ans is NO SUBSITUTE for avast
"People who are really serious about software should make their own hardware." - Alan Kay

RJARRRPCGP

  • Guest
Re:scanning taking so long!!!
« Reply #7 on: May 05, 2004, 04:59:40 PM »
Is it normal that Avast takes ages to scan my computer?
I turned it on to do a thorough scan at about 12am.
It only finished the next day at about 8pm!!!!!!! :o
I'm sure something is not right and that it shouldn't take so long!!!!
Has this ever happened to any of you?
How long does it normally take?

I would make sure at DMA is enabled for the hard disk drive.

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 46565
  • 61 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re:scanning taking so long!!!
« Reply #8 on: May 05, 2004, 11:19:24 PM »
RJARRRPCGP
In win XP the default is use DMA if available.
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast One 21.11, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://bit.ly/BobGInternet

alimoso

  • Guest
Re:scanning taking so long!!!
« Reply #9 on: May 06, 2004, 12:26:04 AM »
I would make sure at DMA is enabled for the hard disk drive.
Sorry, what do you mean? DMA? ???

(by the way, half of my PC is in French and half in English, depending on the program. So thing can get complicated!)
« Last Edit: May 06, 2004, 12:28:52 AM by alimoso »

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 46565
  • 61 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re:scanning taking so long!!!
« Reply #10 on: May 06, 2004, 02:13:26 AM »
That's one way to stay fluid in two languages....
« Last Edit: May 06, 2004, 02:19:23 AM by bob3160 »
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast One 21.11, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://bit.ly/BobGInternet

alimoso

  • Guest
Re:scanning taking so long!!!
« Reply #11 on: May 10, 2004, 01:47:53 PM »
The reason is that I live in France but I'm English.
So windows is installed in French and some other programs, then some other stuff, like Avast for example is installed in English!
I understand both languages perfectly, but sometimes when looking for help with a program or something, it's in a different language and takes a bit of time working out what I should do! :P
lol, even if something is easy, you can trust me to make it a little more complicated!!! hahahha

rloschmann

  • Guest
Re:scanning taking so long!!!
« Reply #12 on: May 10, 2004, 02:30:25 PM »
For the DMA setting in french :

Démarrer->Paramètres->Panneau de configuration

Double click "Système" go to tab "Matériel", click "Gestionnaire de périphériques..."

Click "+" for "Contrôleurs ATA/ATAPI IDE"

Double click "Canal IDE principal", go to tab "Paramètres avancés".

For the "Mode de transfert" field select "DMA si disponible" for the both "Périphérique 0" and "Périphérique 1".

Click "Ok".

Do the same settings for "Canal IDE secondaire".

I am using windows 2000 but it should be the same for XP.

Good luck and bienvenue en France !!

alimoso

  • Guest
Re:scanning taking so long!!!
« Reply #13 on: May 12, 2004, 07:39:30 PM »
Thank you Doc :D

So I'm not the only one in France on this forum! ;)

rloschmann

  • Guest
Re:scanning taking so long!!!
« Reply #14 on: May 13, 2004, 05:51:57 PM »
You're welcome ! Glad it helped you.  ;)

We all write in english on the forum so it's hard to say   ???

Maybe it would be a good idea to have a "country" field in the personal info.  :P