Author Topic: Avast Home Run in Safe Mode  (Read 9601 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Souwalker

  • Guest
Avast Home Run in Safe Mode
« on: January 28, 2009, 11:42:10 PM »
Hi

I need to do a virus scan in Safe Mode. I've been using Avast for about 3 years and very happy with it. Will I be able to run Avast in xp home Safe Mode?

Anything I need to be aware of?

Many thanks
Pat

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31078
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re: Avast Home Run in Safe Mode
« Reply #1 on: January 28, 2009, 11:50:27 PM »
Why not just try it? Or even better, run a boot time scan.

Souwalker

  • Guest
Re: Avast Home Run in Safe Mode
« Reply #2 on: January 28, 2009, 11:55:21 PM »
Yeah, I was about ask if running a boot scan is just as good as running a scan in Safe Mode? That's available even in the free version? I can't remember as it's been 3 years since I installed Avast Home.

Btw, I did a normal scan last night but the option to do a complete scan is greyed out. I think I only had the option of quick and standard. Is that option only for the pro version?

Rgds
pat

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31078
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re: Avast Home Run in Safe Mode
« Reply #3 on: January 29, 2009, 12:03:31 AM »
Quote
Btw, I did a normal scan last night but the option to do a complete scan is greyed out.
That is strange. Did you change any setting or selected only some folders or anything like that?

Boot scan can be done with the Home version. Start avast and look in the menu for "schedule boot scan"
I suggest you run the boot scan first, then we will look at any other problems.

Souwalker

  • Guest
Re: Avast Home Run in Safe Mode
« Reply #4 on: January 29, 2009, 01:47:21 AM »
Quote
Btw, I did a normal scan last night but the option to do a complete scan is greyed out.
That is strange. Did you change any setting or selected only some folders or anything like that?

Where in Avast can I check this?

Rgds
pat

Souwalker

  • Guest
Re: Avast Home Run in Safe Mode
« Reply #5 on: January 29, 2009, 11:27:18 PM »
Last night I ran Avast boot scan. Nothing was picked up.
I then ran Avast in Safe Mode. Nothing was detected either except I had a log which details about 10 files which could not scan beause it was password protected. is this ok?

Can I assumme my pc is all ok?

Rgds
pat

Offline Tarq57

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3694
  • If at first you don’t succeed; call it version 1.0
Re: Avast Home Run in Safe Mode
« Reply #6 on: January 30, 2009, 01:39:35 AM »
Hi, Souwalker, first, you can never really assume the computer is OK, but it's actually a very safe bet that it is.
The message "unable to scan../password protected" usually refers to files of another program, usually another security program like Spybot, that password-protects its own files/backups, so that access to them can only be obtained via the program concerned. This is normal and nothing to worry about. Avast has no way of scanning them. More info here: http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=35347.msg297170#msg297170
Windows 10,Windows Firewall,Firefox w/Adblock.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 89420
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Avast Home Run in Safe Mode
« Reply #7 on: January 30, 2009, 01:40:23 AM »
It entirely depends on the file name and location, which will tell us what program and if it is a legit purpose to protect its files.

See the topic Tarq57 gave for more information on why files can't be scanned.

Files that can't be scanned are just that, not an indication they are suspicious/infected, just unable to be scanned.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 24.6.6121 (build 24.6.9241.848) UI 1.0.809/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Tarq57

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3694
  • If at first you don’t succeed; call it version 1.0
Re: Avast Home Run in Safe Mode
« Reply #8 on: January 30, 2009, 02:53:14 AM »
And you're spamming, getigas.
One post in the "general" topics would have been adequate. You're filling the board up.
Notified.
Windows 10,Windows Firewall,Firefox w/Adblock.

Souwalker

  • Guest
Re: Avast Home Run in Safe Mode
« Reply #9 on: January 30, 2009, 03:46:34 AM »
Hi, Souwalker, first, you can never really assume the computer is OK, but it's actually a very safe bet that it is.

I've run the virus checks and also ran Superantisyware software and picked up nothing.

Reason why I ran the boot scan etc was I download a torrent file. Before I installed it, I ran Avast over the folder and nothing was reported. I then ran Avast on each of the files within that folder and nothing was detected. I assusmed all was ok so I installed and all was ok too. Then Avast repeorted a worm which I proceeded to delete it. Message poped up twice after I deleted it but once I rebooted, message was gone so I assumed 'worm' was removed.

To be save, I ran the Avast boot scan, Avast Safe Mode and ran Superantispyware and all was clean.  Am I not correct in saying that if I had anymore worms or if the original waorm was not deleted, the scans I did last night would've picked anythng else up?

Do I need to run Avast Virus cleaner just to be sure?

Rgds
Pat
« Last Edit: January 30, 2009, 03:49:14 AM by Souwalker »

Offline Tarq57

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3694
  • If at first you don’t succeed; call it version 1.0
Re: Avast Home Run in Safe Mode
« Reply #10 on: January 30, 2009, 04:07:50 AM »
The worm is probably removed. What was the full detection message? (Name, path) and the program you installed?
The Avast windows worm cleaner, (what I think you are referring to) available as a separate download, will also run as required from within the Avast AV program, so I wouldn't bother running that as well.

Getting software from a torrent (or p2p) is usually fraught with peril. My advice: don't.
Windows 10,Windows Firewall,Firefox w/Adblock.

Souwalker

  • Guest
Re: Avast Home Run in Safe Mode
« Reply #11 on: January 30, 2009, 04:42:16 AM »
The worm is probably removed. What was the full detection message? (Name, path) and the program you installed?
The Avast windows worm cleaner, (what I think you are referring to) available as a separate download, will also run as required from within the Avast AV program, so I wouldn't bother running that as well.

Getting software from a torrent (or p2p) is usually fraught with peril. My advice: don't.

Thanks Tarq57.
I can;t remember the name, path etc. I saw the warning from Avast and I deleted immediately. Program was a plug-in for Photoshop.

This is the virus cleaner I was talking about.
http://www.avast.com/eng/avast-virus-cleaner.html.

BTW, I'm across the Tasman. Sydney Australia :-)

Rgds
pat

Offline Tarq57

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3694
  • If at first you don’t succeed; call it version 1.0
Re: Avast Home Run in Safe Mode
« Reply #12 on: January 30, 2009, 04:48:23 AM »
Yep, thats the worm cleaner I thought you were referring to. I've seen it reported on the forum that it's actually included as part of the Avast Home program. Can't find you any supporting documentation, though.

She's a bonza day over here. Is it still unbelievably hot in your chunk of paradise?
Windows 10,Windows Firewall,Firefox w/Adblock.

Offline Tarq57

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3694
  • If at first you don’t succeed; call it version 1.0
Re: Avast Home Run in Safe Mode
« Reply #13 on: January 30, 2009, 05:08:26 AM »
Hey, found the documentation. :)
It's about 3//4 down this page. http://www.avast.com/eng/avast-free-home-antivirus-antispyware.html
Windows 10,Windows Firewall,Firefox w/Adblock.

Souwalker

  • Guest
Re: Avast Home Run in Safe Mode
« Reply #14 on: January 30, 2009, 06:35:39 AM »
Yep, thats the worm cleaner I thought you were referring to. I've seen it reported on the forum that it's actually included as part of the Avast Home program. Can't find you any supporting documentation, though.

She's a bonza day over here. Is it still unbelievably hot in your chunk of paradise?

In Melbourne it's about 40 degress celcius. Sydney about 35 today.