Author Topic: No email scan in SeaMonkey  (Read 2696 times)

R.Fenton

No email scan in SeaMonkey
« on: January 30, 2009, 06:19:36 AM »
I am not a novice, but I'm still having problems with a SeaMonkey/XP installation. After downloading and installing 4.8 home edition and letting it scan all drives and partitions (zero infections), I noticed it was not scanning my SeaMonkey (Mozilla) email. I first consulted the HELP menu (well done btw!) but it directed me to an email Wizard that does not exist in my Start Menu (my 3 choices are Anti-virus, Web Site and Help). I then noticed the warning about not installing while your email client was running, and although I was fairly certain it wasn't, I un-installed and re-installed anyway just in case. I still have the same problem - no matter what settings I choose (Insert note in clean messages received / sent) the 'Scanned count' number stays at zero and there is no message added to incoming or outgoing mail.  Ideas?

Offline alanrf

• Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • Just an avast user
Re: No email scan in SeaMonkey
« Reply #1 on: January 30, 2009, 06:38:41 AM »
The simplest thoughts that come to mind are the limitations of the scanning by avast.

In XP systems avast scans by default any email connections (irrespective of email client) using only the unsecured POP port 110, SMTP port 25 and IMAP port 143.

If your email connection is made using any secure connections then (by the very nature and intent of secure connections) avast cannot scan those.

We can proceed somewhat further to help ... but are you using secured connections (SSL/TLS) for your email? 

Since you are a SeaMonkey user there is also the possibility that you are using add-ons to access Webmail like Hotmail/Yahoo ... if so then please advise  ... and again further help is available.  

« Last Edit: January 30, 2009, 06:40:33 AM by alanrf »

R.Fenton

« Reply #2 on: January 31, 2009, 09:26:10 AM »