Author Topic: automatic update slows pc down  (Read 6955 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

brueggz

  • Guest
automatic update slows pc down
« on: April 20, 2009, 06:24:11 PM »
Hi,

I use the Home edition. If the set my virus database update is set to automatic and I turn on my connection, some other programs (firefox, winamp, maybe more) don't run until i think the update is finished.
I can't even start the taskmanager.
After ~30 seconds it all starts and I see in the taskmanager, that avast.setup uses some cpu-resources, after a few seconds, the process is gone (so I reason that the update causes the block of the programs).

Is there any other idea instead of turning the update to manually?

By the way, the problem occurs since about 3 weeks.

My system:
Win XP Home SP3
Intel Q6600
4GB ram

avast program version: build 4.8.1335
« Last Edit: April 20, 2009, 06:26:08 PM by brueggz »

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 89346
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: automatic update slows pc down
« Reply #1 on: April 20, 2009, 07:01:07 PM »
Well you don't mention what your connection is, I'm on dial-up and I see no such slow down.

The auto update has a restriction in the amount of CPU% it uses so that shouldn't be the issue.
You say that:
Quote from: brueggz
avast.setup uses some cpu-resources, after a few seconds, the process is gone (so I reason that the update causes the block of the programs)

So presumably those some cpu-resources isn't excessive (you don't say how much) or I guess you would have said ?

Since it is gone in a few seconds, it shouldn't subsequently slow your PC or are you saying it only last a few seconds ?


What other security software do you have installed ?
What is your firewall ?
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 24.5.6116 (build 24.5.9153.762) UI 1.0.808/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

brueggz

  • Guest
Re: automatic update slows pc down
« Reply #2 on: April 20, 2009, 07:07:26 PM »
I have a connection of about 10Mbit/s.
As the taskmanager starts, i see a cpu use of less than 10%.

After i connect to the internet, for about 30 seconds some programs don't start, taskmanager included. After that time, programs start and i see in the taskmanager the avast.setup process for some seconds, then it's gone.

I have no other security software installed and I'm using the win xp firewall.

And if I recall right, the problem didn't occur when i set the vps update to manual.

Offline Pondus

  • Probably Bot
  • ****
  • Posts: 37614
  • Not a avast user
Re: automatic update slows pc down
« Reply #3 on: April 20, 2009, 07:45:02 PM »

Offline RZPogi

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 237
Re: automatic update slows pc down
« Reply #4 on: April 20, 2009, 09:10:19 PM »
Is windows automatic updates are on?
If it is on, turn it off.

If windows automatic updates are on, windows will find updates once you're connected to the net. That really will make your system hang for a few minutes while windows checks for updates.
I had this experience before; and as I observed, it has nothing to do with Avast.
« Last Edit: April 20, 2009, 09:13:30 PM by RZPogi »
DESKTOP: Win 10, Avast 20 Free, Windows firewall, Malwarebytes free

LAPTOP: Win 10, Windows Defender, Malwarebytes free, Windows Firewall, Mcshield

Offline RZPogi

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 237
Re: automatic update slows pc down
« Reply #5 on: April 20, 2009, 09:21:12 PM »
If windows automatic updates are off, you can still update windows via MS update or turn on windows  update and let it check for updates and then download the updates you need.

After installing the updates, turn it off again.
DESKTOP: Win 10, Avast 20 Free, Windows firewall, Malwarebytes free

LAPTOP: Win 10, Windows Defender, Malwarebytes free, Windows Firewall, Mcshield

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 89346
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: automatic update slows pc down
« Reply #6 on: April 20, 2009, 09:28:19 PM »
@ brueggz
Well setting it to manual is effectively disabling it, so if there was any conflict, removing one element of it would resolve the issue but it doesn't determine the true culprit.

The windows XP firewall shouldn't get in the way as it provides zero outbound checking/protection.

Does this happen shortly after boot ?
As with an always on, broadband connection it would be established very soon after boot and avast would detect that and check for updates. However this is still a relatively bust time for the system, so I don't know if this is a contributory factor.

Both our systems are similar I'm using XP but my CPU whilst only core 2 duo at 2.8Ghz and RAM of only 2GB are close enough for comparison. My being on dial-up should actually make things slower but I just don't see it. I also have a resident anti-spyware and my firewall does provide outbound checking, so in theory that should further slow things, but again no appreciable change.

I did make a change to my update check, not because of any problem but to be able to quickly jump on-line and collect email, etc. without the auto update check being initiated. I don't know if that might help you but it depends if the problem just happens on the first auto update check after boot. If you remain connected then avast would check for updates again after 4 hours, if this happens do you notice any slowing at that point ?

As RZPogi mentions (something I forgot) Windows Update can really put a spoke in the wheel close to Microsoft's Patch Tuesday and that was last Tuesday. Me on dial-up I'm noticing it as after 7 days WU still hasn't finished downloading and installing my 8 security updates, 6 done 2 to go.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 24.5.6116 (build 24.5.9153.762) UI 1.0.808/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31078
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re: automatic update slows pc down
« Reply #7 on: April 20, 2009, 09:29:01 PM »
Quote
I have no other security software installed and I'm using the win xp firewall.
Eeeeks!!! Get a real (hardware) firewall.

Please post a HijackThis log file here and let me look.

CharleyO

  • Guest
Re: automatic update slows pc down
« Reply #8 on: April 20, 2009, 10:17:02 PM »
***

While David's computer is a little "faster" than mine (see my signature below), I am also on dial-up with a normal 52k connection. Avast is always set for automatic updates as is Windows also. Still, I see no problems such as brueggz is experiencing. Everything loads as it is suppose to load. I browse the internet while avast automatically updates, Windows updates, etc. all without even noticing any slow down of the computer.

SO, there is something else going on with brueggz' s computer. I suggest the same as Eddy.

To Brueggz -

Please download HijackThis from the link below. Do not download HJT to the desktop but instead download it into it's own folder on the hard drive.

Run the program but do not make any fixes and then post the log results using the "copy & paste" method. It will probably take more than one post to be able to get the complete log posted.

OR, you can post it as an attachment to your post by clicking on "Additional Options..." below left of the posting box.  Someone will review your log and then offer help.

http://filehippo.com/download_hijackthis/


***

brueggz

  • Guest
Re: automatic update slows pc down
« Reply #9 on: April 20, 2009, 10:30:52 PM »
Winupdate is deactivated.
I have no automatic connection, so it starts after i connect manually. Well I forgot to say, that it doesn't slow down every time after connecting. Thatswhy its likely that the slowdown only happens, if an update is found.

I just started taskmanager first, (update on automatic), connected and avast.setup startet, but all programs worked and the process was gone pretty fast (so no update available). And there was no report.
So last time I had tested it with setting to manual maybe there was no update available (so it might slow down after pressing update).

Here's my highjacklog
Quote
Logfile of Trend Micro HijackThis v2.0.2
Scan saved at 22:19:22, on 20.04.2009
Platform: Windows XP SP3 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP3 (6.00.2900.5512)
Boot mode: Normal

Running processes:
C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\Ati2evxx.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\Ati2evxx.exe
C:\Programme\Avast\aswUpdSv.exe
C:\Programme\Avast\ashServ.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
C:\PROGRA~1\Avast\ashDisp.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\ctfmon.exe
D:\Programme\Volumouse\volumouse.exe
C:\Programme\Logitech\SetPoint\SetPoint.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\oodag.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
C:\Programme\Gemeinsame Dateien\Logitech\KHAL\KHALMNPR.EXE
C:\Programme\Avast\ashMaiSv.exe
C:\Programme\Avast\ashWebSv.exe
C:\Programme\Mozilla Firefox\firefox.exe
C:\Programme\Winamp\winamp.exe
C:\Programme\ICQ6\ICQ6.5\ICQ.exe
D:\Programme\HijackThis\HijackThis.exe

O2 - BHO: AcroIEHelperStub - {18DF081C-E8AD-4283-A596-FA578C2EBDC3} - C:\Programme\Gemeinsame Dateien\Adobe\Acrobat\ActiveX\AcroIEHelperShim.dll
O2 - BHO: RealPlayer Download and Record Plugin for Internet Explorer - {3049C3E9-B461-4BC5-8870-4C09146192CA} - C:\Programme\Real\RealPlayer\rpbrowserrecordplugin.dll
O2 - BHO: Adobe PDF Conversion Toolbar Helper - {AE7CD045-E861-484f-8273-0445EE161910} - C:\Programme\Gemeinsame Dateien\Adobe\Acrobat\ActiveX\AcroIEFavClient.dll
O2 - BHO: SmartSelect - {F4971EE7-DAA0-4053-9964-665D8EE6A077} - C:\Programme\Gemeinsame Dateien\Adobe\Acrobat\ActiveX\AcroIEFavClient.dll
O3 - Toolbar: Adobe PDF - {47833539-D0C5-4125-9FA8-0819E2EAAC93} - C:\Programme\Gemeinsame Dateien\Adobe\Acrobat\ActiveX\AcroIEFavClient.dll
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [avast!] C:\PROGRA~1\Avast\ashDisp.exe
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [CTFMON.EXE] C:\WINDOWS\system32\ctfmon.exe
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [$Volumouse$] "D:\Programme\Volumouse\volumouse.exe" /nodlg
O4 - HKUS\S-1-5-19\..\Run: [CTFMON.EXE] C:\WINDOWS\system32\CTFMON.EXE (User 'LOKALER DIENST')
O4 - HKUS\S-1-5-19\..\RunOnce: [nltide_3] rundll32 advpack.dll,LaunchINFSectionEx nLite.inf,C,,4,N (User 'LOKALER DIENST')
O4 - HKUS\S-1-5-20\..\Run: [CTFMON.EXE] C:\WINDOWS\system32\CTFMON.EXE (User 'NETZWERKDIENST')
O4 - HKUS\S-1-5-20\..\RunOnce: [nltide_3] rundll32 advpack.dll,LaunchINFSectionEx nLite.inf,C,,4,N (User 'NETZWERKDIENST')
O4 - HKUS\S-1-5-18\..\Run: [CTFMON.EXE] C:\WINDOWS\system32\CTFMON.EXE (User 'SYSTEM')
O4 - HKUS\S-1-5-18\..\RunOnce: [nltide_3] rundll32 advpack.dll,LaunchINFSectionEx nLite.inf,C,,4,N (User 'SYSTEM')
O4 - HKUS\.DEFAULT\..\Run: [CTFMON.EXE] C:\WINDOWS\system32\CTFMON.EXE (User 'Default user')
O4 - HKUS\.DEFAULT\..\RunOnce: [nltide_3] rundll32 advpack.dll,LaunchINFSectionEx nLite.inf,C,,4,N (User 'Default user')
O4 - Global Startup: Logitech SetPoint.lnk = C:\Programme\Logitech\SetPoint\SetPoint.exe
O8 - Extra context menu item: Append to existing PDF - res://C:\Programme\Gemeinsame Dateien\Adobe\Acrobat\ActiveX\AcroIEFavClient.dll/AcroIEAppend.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: Convert link target to Adobe PDF - res://C:\Programme\Gemeinsame Dateien\Adobe\Acrobat\ActiveX\AcroIEFavClient.dll/AcroIECaptureSelLinks.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: Convert link target to existing PDF - res://C:\Programme\Gemeinsame Dateien\Adobe\Acrobat\ActiveX\AcroIEFavClient.dll/AcroIEAppendSelLinks.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: Convert to Adobe PDF - res://C:\Programme\Gemeinsame Dateien\Adobe\Acrobat\ActiveX\AcroIEFavClient.dll/AcroIECapture.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: Nach Microsoft &Excel exportieren - res://C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~2\Office10\EXCEL.EXE/3000
O9 - Extra button: (no name) - {08B0E5C0-4FCB-11CF-AAA5-00401C608501} - C:\Programme\Java\jre1.6.0_05\bin\ssv.dll
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Sun Java Konsole - {08B0E5C0-4FCB-11CF-AAA5-00401C608501} - C:\Programme\Java\jre1.6.0_05\bin\ssv.dll
O9 - Extra button: (no name) - {e2e2dd38-d088-4134-82b7-f2ba38496583} - C:\WINDOWS\Network Diagnostic\xpnetdiag.exe
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: @xpsp3res.dll,-20001 - {e2e2dd38-d088-4134-82b7-f2ba38496583} - C:\WINDOWS\Network Diagnostic\xpnetdiag.exe
O9 - Extra button: ICQ6 - {E59EB121-F339-4851-A3BA-FE49C35617C2} - C:\Programme\ICQ6\ICQ6.5\ICQ.exe
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: ICQ6 - {E59EB121-F339-4851-A3BA-FE49C35617C2} - C:\Programme\ICQ6\ICQ6.5\ICQ.exe
O9 - Extra button: Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Programme\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Windows Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Programme\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
O17 - HKLM\System\CCS\Services\Tcpip\..\{20B1DF74-AA63-4295-B586-81DE98E82D22}: NameServer = 213.191.74.19 62.109.123.197
O23 - Service: Acronis Scheduler2 Service (AcrSch2Svc) - Acronis - C:\Programme\Gemeinsame Dateien\Acronis\Schedule2\schedul2.exe
O23 - Service: avast! iAVS4 Control Service (aswUpdSv) - ALWIL Software - C:\Programme\Avast\aswUpdSv.exe
O23 - Service: Ati HotKey Poller - ATI Technologies Inc. - C:\WINDOWS\system32\Ati2evxx.exe
O23 - Service: ATI Smart - Unknown owner - C:\WINDOWS\system32\ati2sgag.exe
O23 - Service: avast! Antivirus - ALWIL Software - C:\Programme\Avast\ashServ.exe
O23 - Service: avast! Mail Scanner - ALWIL Software - C:\Programme\Avast\ashMaiSv.exe
O23 - Service: avast! Web Scanner - ALWIL Software - C:\Programme\Avast\ashWebSv.exe
O23 - Service: FLEXnet Licensing Service - Acresso Software Inc. - C:\Programme\Gemeinsame Dateien\Macrovision Shared\FLEXnet Publisher\FNPLicensingService.exe
O23 - Service: O&O Defrag - O&O Software GmbH - C:\WINDOWS\system32\oodag.exe
O23 - Service: PnkBstrA - Unknown owner - C:\WINDOWS\system32\PnkBstrA.exe


brueggz

  • Guest
Re: automatic update slows pc down
« Reply #10 on: April 20, 2009, 11:07:29 PM »
It just happened again and the strange thing is, that avast.setup started with first no cpu usage, but I couldn't start firefox. No other cpu usage was there unless a moment, where svchost.exe had 25%.
As firefox opened about 10-15 seconds later after i wanted to start it, the cpu usage of avast.setup went to ~7% for ~40 seconds.
After a while a got the report of an update:

Quote
Information über aktuelles Update:
Gesamt-Zeit: 53 s

- Vps: Upgedated
  (vorige Version: 090419-0, Update-Version: 090420-0)

Server: a972sm.avast.com (74.54.138.146)
Download-Dateien: 5 (6,77 KB)
Download-Zeit: 3 s

?!
« Last Edit: April 20, 2009, 11:09:02 PM by brueggz »