Author Topic: I am new and could really use some help  (Read 4484 times)

pipsqueak

I am new and could really use some help
« on: February 27, 2009, 09:32:38 PM »
I am a web designer and I went to my website this morning and when I typed in my URL, I received an Avast Warning for Malware.  I have taken a screen shot and attached it to this post.

I have aborted the connection as I am unfamiliar with this type of warning and because I cannot understand why it has occurred.  I have checked all files on the server and cannot find anything relating to a file of this type.  I have also emptied my temp internet files.

Can anyone tell me what I need to do to find and get rid of this?  Our reputation will be at great risk if people get malware from our webiste.

Our URL is http://www.pipsqueakwebdesigns.com.au

Thank you in advance for all help!!

Mr.Agent

Re: I am new and could really use some help
« Reply #1 on: February 27, 2009, 09:42:58 PM »
maybe your web is hacked ? i dont know i just say that like that

pipsqueak

« Reply #2 on: February 27, 2009, 10:04:36 PM »
Great, just what I did not want to hear!  :'(

So, how do I find out and where do I check for this file so I can get rid of it?????

I have never had any kind of virus or hacking with my website and I am very confused as to the process I should follow.

Offline polonus

• Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • malware fighter
« Reply #3 on: February 27, 2009, 10:09:51 PM »
Well pipsqueak,

I can reassure you, avast did not flag anything while visiting the link you gave there, clean.
Also Exploit Prevention Lab LinkScanner gives the all clear. Maybe it was just the computer you were on, or not related to visiting the specific website,

polonus

Cybersecurity is more of an attitude than anything else. Avast Evangelists.

Use NoScript, a limited user account and a virtual machine and be safe(r)!

Mr.Agent

« Reply #4 on: February 27, 2009, 10:19:15 PM »