Author Topic: NoScript won't allow AOL Mail  (Read 4600 times)

mpepper

NoScript won't allow AOL Mail
« on: March 07, 2009, 07:48:35 PM »
Hello all, added NoScript, Ad Block and Finjan to my Firefox browser.

I use AOL mail thru the browser, but none of the pictures show up, even when I allow all.

Has anyone experienced this?  I am very new at this.

Thanks.

Hally

Re: NoScript won't allow AOL Mail
« Reply #1 on: March 07, 2009, 09:27:41 PM »
Hi mpepper  :)

I don't know anything about Finjan ... In Fact! ... I don't even know what it is  :-[

I've got  - Ad Blocker Plus ... But I never seem to need to use it much  :-\

No Script ... I can give you a few - Tips!  ;)

Re : No Script
It does take a little while to get used to No Script.

I've been using No Script for about 3 months now.
But when I first started using No Script.. It did take me about 4 weeks before I really knew what I was doing with it.

Tip! .. No : 1
The Best Way I Can Think To Explain - No Script ...
Websites  are not always as they seem  :(
Rather than just being one single website ( Like we tend to think of them being )
One Website - Can actually be made up of maybe 2, 3, 4, .. or .. even more.
Like Layers .. One On Top Of The Other
No Script allows us to - Allow or Block .. Each Individual Layer.
Meaning...
We have the ability to - Allow .. Only what is really required for a website to work properly
This Means...
If the Virus people have been adding any extra layers of their own.
No Script Can Help Keep Us Safe!  :D

Tip! .. No : 2
Try Using - No Script - This way...
1/ When you go to a new website .. If It Looks  - OK .. Allow just the main part of the website.
e.g.
aol  . com
Any other important bits of that website will automatically be Allowed too!

2/ Mark all the other bits as - Untrusted
e.g.
Double   click  .  net
3/ If something on the website doesn't work...
Allow just one extra thing at a time .. To see which one is needed.
4/ Make sure you Re-Block ... Anything that doesn't help