Author Topic: Would you TRY Symantec Norton 360 version 3?  (Read 15226 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Omid Farhang

  • Frontend Developer
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1660
  • I wish I could write longer personal text!!
    • Homepage
Would you TRY Symantec Norton 360 version 3?
« on: March 11, 2009, 01:08:15 PM »
if yes, why?
I may do it on a Virtual Machine to see what they have done in latest version what is new coming in the V3.0
I'm sure it would not be better than avast! but I like to see what they do :)
Twitter: https://twitter.com/OmidFarhangEn - OS: Arch Linux

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re: Would you TRY Symantec Norton 360 version 3?
« Reply #1 on: March 11, 2009, 02:22:02 PM »
Go ahead, try.
We're very biased against Symantec products ;)
The best things in life are free.

Offline Omid Farhang

  • Frontend Developer
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1660
  • I wish I could write longer personal text!!
    • Homepage
Re: Would you TRY Symantec Norton 360 version 3?
« Reply #2 on: March 11, 2009, 02:30:27 PM »
Go ahead, try.
We're very biased against Symantec products ;)
I don't care about company!! I try anything to find what's best, until today I found avast! as best AV ;)
Twitter: https://twitter.com/OmidFarhangEn - OS: Arch Linux

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re: Would you TRY Symantec Norton 360 version 3?
« Reply #3 on: March 11, 2009, 02:46:50 PM »
I don't care about company!!
Me too... I've used Symantec, I talk about my personal experience.
Anyway, using in a Virtual Machine, *any* antivirus will run slowly and the machine itself will be slow.
Will you test it into Windows 7?
The best things in life are free.

Offline cod head

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 254
Re: Would you TRY Symantec Norton 360 version 3?
« Reply #4 on: March 11, 2009, 04:00:22 PM »
I would not have Symantec bloat ware if they paid me.Avast is light and reliable,if you find a good product keep it. ;).
Win 7 Home Premium 64 bit,Avast Free,Superantspyware Free,Malwarebytes Pro Winpatrol Pro,Spywareblaster Free.

Offline Omid Farhang

  • Frontend Developer
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1660
  • I wish I could write longer personal text!!
    • Homepage
Re: Would you TRY Symantec Norton 360 version 3?
« Reply #5 on: March 11, 2009, 04:01:04 PM »
I don't care about company!!
Me too... I've used Symantec, I talk about my personal experience.
Anyway, using in a Virtual Machine, *any* antivirus will run slowly and the machine itself will be slow.
Will you test it into Windows 7?
I know it would be slow and it's a good point, because you can feel how much resource would it use, you can feel it better.
I would test it in Sun VirtualBox and it's not slow like Microsoft VirtualPC or VMWare...
usually first I test in Windows XP and then Vista, but, this time maybe I test it in a Windows 7 too, and not Virtual, make my System Dual Boot with windows 7 and try avast! and Norton (and maybe avira and...) in that windows :)
after done it, I would share result in my computer security software blog: http://getrideofit.spaces.live.com/
it would be my first post that I've personally tested :)
Twitter: https://twitter.com/OmidFarhangEn - OS: Arch Linux

Offline Omid Farhang

  • Frontend Developer
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1660
  • I wish I could write longer personal text!!
    • Homepage
Re: Would you TRY Symantec Norton 360 version 3?
« Reply #6 on: March 11, 2009, 04:06:06 PM »
I would not have Symantec bloat ware if they paid me.Avast is light and reliable,if you find a good product keep it. ;).
I was a Symantec Norton user from about 6-7 years ago, I know them very well, Yes, you right, avast! is very very better than Symantec and I never would not replace my avast! with anything else.
Norton has many problems, a lot of false positive and removing them in background by default, it miss a lot of risk and...
we cannot ignore that their product performance has improved and the 2009 products are light in system performance, but, still it's not friendly and usable like avast! :)
Twitter: https://twitter.com/OmidFarhangEn - OS: Arch Linux

Offline YoKenny

  • Serious Graphoman
  • **
  • Posts: 8784
Re: Would you TRY Symantec Norton 360 version 3?
« Reply #7 on: March 11, 2009, 04:31:20 PM »
if yes, why?
I may do it on a Virtual Machine to see what they have done in latest version what is new coming in the V3.0
I'm sure it would not be better than avast! but I like to see what they do :)
Not with all the bad press about PIFTS.exe belonging to Symantec that is snooping.

I might try it if they gave me a system to run it and an all expense paid trip to Barbados or Cancun for a week.
E5200 2.5GHZ, 4GB RAM, 320GB HD, Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit, avast! V9.0 Free, IE10
P4 2.8GHZ, 1.5GB RAM, 40GB HD, XP Pro SP3 32bit, avast! V9.0 Free, Google Chrome
with hpHosts, MVPS HOSTS files, SpeedFan, WinPatrol PLUS

Offline .: Mac :.

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 5092
Re: Would you TRY Symantec Norton 360 version 3?
« Reply #8 on: March 11, 2009, 06:35:41 PM »
Go ahead, try.
We're very biased against Symantec products ;)
Agreed, Symantec's products are resource hungry junk. Both their Mac and PC software.
"People who are really serious about software should make their own hardware." - Alan Kay

Offline Omid Farhang

  • Frontend Developer
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1660
  • I wish I could write longer personal text!!
    • Homepage
Re: Would you TRY Symantec Norton 360 version 3?
« Reply #9 on: March 11, 2009, 06:55:43 PM »
Go ahead, try.
We're very biased against Symantec products ;)
Agreed, Symantec's products are resource hungry junk. Both their Mac and PC software.
No! No! No! it's NOT! it's not junk, maybe it's not strong like avast!... also, 2009 products for windows 32bit is not resource hungry like old products... you can see I'm just talking about things that I've tested. I don't have any idea about their products for Windows 64Bit and Mac and Linux.. :)
I'm an avast! Fan!!! but I don't like to lie about other things...
Twitter: https://twitter.com/OmidFarhangEn - OS: Arch Linux

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re: Would you TRY Symantec Norton 360 version 3?
« Reply #10 on: March 11, 2009, 07:38:01 PM »
2009 products for windows 32bit is not resource hungry like old products...
A lot of people say this. I'm not a lier, just said we're biased...
The best things in life are free.

Offline Omid Farhang

  • Frontend Developer
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1660
  • I wish I could write longer personal text!!
    • Homepage
Re: Would you TRY Symantec Norton 360 version 3?
« Reply #11 on: March 11, 2009, 09:10:01 PM »
2009 products for windows 32bit is not resource hungry like old products...
A lot of people say this. I'm not a lier, just said we're biased...
Always I like all your responses!!  ;) ::)
Twitter: https://twitter.com/OmidFarhangEn - OS: Arch Linux

Offline .: L' arc :.

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1780
  • Thinking with Portals
Re: Would you TRY Symantec Norton 360 version 3?
« Reply #12 on: March 12, 2009, 01:54:17 PM »
-= I can't get myself to Norton again.. There's a possibility that v.3 is 3 times heavier and will turn you over 360 degrees from your seat while waiting for your monitor to refresh.. haha..
Windows 7 (64-bit) Home Premium SP1
avast! 9 RC1

Offline SpeedyPC

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3348
  • Avast shall conquer the whole world
Re: Would you TRY Symantec Norton 360 version 3?
« Reply #13 on: March 12, 2009, 03:08:04 PM »
I don't trust Norton any more and I wouldn't go near any Symantec product on the market and they should go broke.
ASUS G75VX-T4153H | Avast Premium v21.8.2487 | Avast SecureLine VPN | Avast Secure Browser | Avast Driver Updater | Avast BreachGuard | W8.1 64bit | Firefox 64bit | Thunderbird 64bit | MBAM Premium | Adguard Premium | CryptoPrevent Premium | CCleaner Portable | MCShield | Macrium Reflect | 7-Zip

Offline mevcit

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 190
  • shake me make me take me don't break me lolz^^
    • My YouTube Channel
Re: Would you TRY Symantec Norton 360 version 3?
« Reply #14 on: March 12, 2009, 03:32:09 PM »
Please try it before commenting about it (i say to the ones who talk about its resource usage). Norton AV is definitely lighter than Avast. If you don't wanna try, then look at the performance test result which was done by AV-Comparatives. Also i've found Norton 360 3.0 very light (the version 2.0 was very light too).

But i think Norton products have no web shield since they don't abort the connection when a virus is found. They react just like when a virus is found on harddisk. This situation may be not to slow the connection speed, however, the web shield of avast works greatly without slowing internet unlike the other av softwares do.

There is no option for archive files to be scanned by real time protection. I think this is also because of not to slow the pc performance. The settings aren't customizable enough. There should be more options for those who want to manage the program well.

And i must say that Norton Insight feature has a very important role on the lightness.
« Last Edit: March 12, 2009, 03:34:10 PM by mevcit »
i want a player to give me cash, if you dont, you dont get no ass :P