Author Topic: "Menu button"  (Read 7138 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Hugger1

  • Guest
"Menu button"
« on: May 05, 2004, 01:13:07 PM »
Hi all.

I'm new to the AVAST free home edition.  In the "Help" section it mentions that scheduled scans be setup by using the "menu button."  I've looked everywhere and can't find it.  Can someone tell me where it is?? ???

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11864
    • AVAST Software
Re:"Menu button"
« Reply #1 on: May 05, 2004, 01:29:38 PM »
In the default skin, it's the little triangle in the upper left corner of the window. If you move the mouse pointer there and wait a short while, a tooptip should appear.

Hugger1

  • Guest
Re:"Menu button"
« Reply #2 on: May 05, 2004, 01:44:54 PM »
In the default skin, it's the little triangle in the upper left corner of the window. If you move the mouse pointer there and wait a short while, a tooptip should appear.

I'm new to AVAST.  How do I get to the "default skin?"  Is that the round blue AVAST icon on the right side of my task bar?  ???  Then after opening it, what then?

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11864
    • AVAST Software
Re:"Menu button"
« Reply #3 on: May 05, 2004, 02:01:55 PM »
The default skin is the skin shown without any changes to the configuration, so it's probably the one you have.
To "see" it, you have to start the user interface of avast. Click on the avast! blue (a) icon in your taskbar with the right mouse button and select Start avast! Antivirus - the second option from the top.
Or, you can select "avast! Antivirus" from the Windows Start Menu.

Hugger1

  • Guest
Re:"Menu button"
« Reply #4 on: May 06, 2004, 01:29:51 AM »
I found the menu button with no trouble.  But the "schedule boot-time scan" option is greyed out.  I thought this was an option available on the free home edition or are there other things I need to do first?

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 48657
  • 64 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re:"Menu button"
« Reply #5 on: May 06, 2004, 02:09:53 AM »
Sorry that's only available on the reg. version
Free Security Seminar: https://bit.ly/bobg2023  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v24H2 64bit, 32 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast Free 24.4.6112, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://bit.ly/BobGInternet

shgoh

  • Guest
Re:"Menu button"
« Reply #6 on: May 06, 2004, 02:30:26 AM »
hugger1 is talking about boot-scan...i thought it should work for the home version too ??? ???

Offline MikeBCda

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2247
Re:"Menu button"
« Reply #7 on: May 06, 2004, 04:42:22 AM »
I think we all missed something here -- which Win is Hugger running?  Unless I'm way off base, I thought boot-scan only worked in XP and one or two immediately-earlier versions.

(Edit) Just checked the help - NT/2000/XP only.
« Last Edit: May 06, 2004, 04:45:43 AM by MikeBCda »
Intel Atom D2700, 2 gig RAM, Win 7 x64 SP1 & IE-11, Firefox 51.0
(default). 320 gig HD, 15Mb DSL, Win firewall, Avast 12.3.2280 free, SpywareBlaster, MBAM Prem., Crypto-Prevent

shgoh

  • Guest
Re:"Menu button"
« Reply #8 on: May 06, 2004, 06:14:09 AM »
I think we all missed something here -- which Win is Hugger running?  Unless I'm way off base, I thought boot-scan only worked in XP and one or two immediately-earlier versions.

(Edit) Just checked the help - NT/2000/XP only.

oh yes... :)

i forgot about this...thanks mike

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 48657
  • 64 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re:"Menu button"
« Reply #9 on: May 07, 2004, 12:55:31 AM »
Thanks Mike I guess my mouth opened when it should have remained shut. ::)
Free Security Seminar: https://bit.ly/bobg2023  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v24H2 64bit, 32 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast Free 24.4.6112, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://bit.ly/BobGInternet

Offline MikeBCda

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2247
Re:"Menu button"
« Reply #10 on: May 07, 2004, 01:39:53 AM »
Thanks Mike I guess my mouth opened when it should have remained shut. ::)

No prob, Bob, I'm prone to hoof-in-mouth disease myself way too often.  ;)

And of course that's one of the nice things about the forums, once in a while a brand-new "newbie" will spot something we all missed, simply because we've gotten accustomed to looking at problems a certain way.
Intel Atom D2700, 2 gig RAM, Win 7 x64 SP1 & IE-11, Firefox 51.0
(default). 320 gig HD, 15Mb DSL, Win firewall, Avast 12.3.2280 free, SpywareBlaster, MBAM Prem., Crypto-Prevent

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 48657
  • 64 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re:"Menu button"
« Reply #11 on: May 07, 2004, 01:44:18 AM »
Thanks Mike,

Quote
once in a while a brand-new "newbie" will spot something we all missed

That's one of the reasons it's always nice to see new people on here.
Just one big happy family. :)
Free Security Seminar: https://bit.ly/bobg2023  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v24H2 64bit, 32 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast Free 24.4.6112, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://bit.ly/BobGInternet