Author Topic: User Accounts  (Read 2427 times)

Offline Confused Computer User

• Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • The answer is 42
User Accounts
« on: March 15, 2009, 12:45:45 AM »
Hi folks,

This has to do with Avast more or less but I hope someone will be able to help me with my questions.

I am using Vista Home Premium and Home Basic. Up till now I have only used the Administrator account for everyday use. In fact I never had a Standard account until today. So I’m relatively new to this type of account. I hate the idea of having two accounts but I presume that this is negligible.

I have noticed that when running avast from the Admin Account I get a pop up window saying that a program needs my permission to start. If I open avast in the Standard account this window does not appear.  How come? In both cases Avast runs with the same priority (ie it runs as a normal program without administrative rights)
The same goes for MBAM. What is weirder is that Spyware Blaster displays the pop-up message in both accounts. That is why I am a bit uncertain if there is something that I’m doing wrong.

Because I have two accounts now, will any auto updates made by avast in the Standard account be available in the Admin one, and vice versa. The same question goes for MBAM, SAS and SpywareBlaste. I ask this because dspite having done a scan in one account it doesn't show up in the other.

If I run a scan with avast in the Standard account, will it scan the other account as well (I say this because in this account access to the files from the other account is restricted).

Also if possible, why do we consider this type of account more secure? I would like any and all input if possible.

Cheers
Computer Systems:

Intel Pentium 4 641 / 2GB RAM / Vista Home Basic SP2 / avast! 5.0 Home / SAS Free / MBAM Free / Windows Defender / Windows Firewall / Spyware Blaster/ Secunia PSI / Firefox 3.6 / Opera 10.5