Author Topic: Distributing avast  (Read 8428 times)

painman

Distributing avast
« on: June 05, 2003, 07:34:33 PM »
I am a semi-retired computer consultant living in SW Florida. I make "House Calls" to mostly older folks that just have a dial-up connection. Many use JUNO.
It is costly to  them for me to sit at their computer while the basic software downloads (about 6.5MB).  

I did NOT print the license but believe that it said that a user must "get their own" copy.

What's the possibility of my loading (from a CD) the basic software and then having the client get the "registration key" them selves.

Thanks,

painman

eda

Re:Distributing avast
« Reply #1 on: June 05, 2003, 07:54:02 PM »
Hi Painman,

if you are writing about avast! 4 Home Edition - free for home noncommercial use - you are right. You can download latest "build" of setupeng.exe file, burn it to CDR (better to CDRW, for new new build :-)) and then lend it to your friends to save time and money.

You are right that all your friends should register their own copy to obtain free license key - but it's simple and fast.

But I should express again: avast! 4 Home Edition is free for home noncommercial use only. Both these condition should be met! e.g. it should be home computer and it isn't the case of Non-Profit organizations.

regards   Eduard

djhack

« Reply #2 on: June 13, 2003, 09:34:21 PM »
Hi,
I'm in almost the same situation

I own a small store in the town of Joliette (Quebec , Canada)

I have a cd-r I use that install windows and a bunch of other application (mozilla,cygwin dev platform, freemeter,dimension4,avast) it install all this stuff in one shot

If I understand the license correctly this is ok to do provided that

the person(s) using the computer do not use their computer for profit (home users download music and chatting and installing spyware etc.. etc.. stuff users do I guess)
and that each home computer has it's own license registered to the name and address of the  computer owner