Author Topic: Err:The package is broken. 0x20000011.  (Read 18096 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline hm2k

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 37
Err:The package is broken. 0x20000011.
« on: March 31, 2009, 06:48:59 PM »
This machine recently had a virus/issue, I've manually removed it, but I can't get Avast! to update...

Quote
31.03.2009 17:44:12 general: Started: 31.03.2009, 17:44:12
31.03.2009 17:44:12 general: Running setup_av_pro-491 (1169)
31.03.2009 17:44:12 system: Operating system: WindowsXP ver 5.1, build 2600, sp 3.0 [Service Pack 3]
31.03.2009 17:44:12 system: Memory: 58% load. Phys:215848/514116K free, Page:976188/1253032K free, Virt:2069116/2097024K free
31.03.2009 17:44:12 system: Computer WinName: system4
31.03.2009 17:44:12 system: Windows Net User: system4\User
31.03.2009 17:44:12 general: Cmdline: /downloadpkgs /noreboot /updatevps /silent /progress 
31.03.2009 17:44:12 general: DldSrc set to inet
31.03.2009 17:44:12 general: Operation set to INST_OP_UPDATE_GET_PACKAGES
31.03.2009 17:44:12 general: Old version: 491 (1169)
31.03.2009 17:44:12 system: Using temp: C:\DOCUME~1\User\LOCALS~1\Temp\_av_proI.tm~a03828 (61499M free)
31.03.2009 17:44:12 general: SGW32P::CheckIfInstalled set m_bAlreadyInstalled to 1
31.03.2009 17:44:12 internet: SYNCER: Agent=Syncer/4.80 (av_pro-1169;p)
31.03.2009 17:44:12 system: Computer DnsName: system4
31.03.2009 17:44:12 system: Computer Ip Addr: 192.68.10.34
31.03.2009 17:44:12 system: Installed in: C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4 (61499M free)
31.03.2009 17:44:12 internet: SYNCER: Type: use IE settings
31.03.2009 17:44:12 internet: SYNCER: Auth: another authentication, use WinInet
31.03.2009 17:44:12 package: Part prg_av_pro-491 is installed
31.03.2009 17:44:12 package: Part vps-8032900 is installed
31.03.2009 17:44:12 package: Part news-4b is installed
31.03.2009 17:44:12 package: Part setup_av_pro-491 is installed
31.03.2009 17:44:12 package: Part jrog-33 is installed
31.03.2009 17:44:12 general: Old version: 491 (1169)
31.03.2009 17:44:12 file: SetExistingFilesBitmap: 1054->160->160
31.03.2009 17:44:12 general: GUID: 481c9606-f9c4-497f-8fe8-4bc705c45e57
31.03.2009 17:44:13 general: Server definition(s) loaded for 'main': 180 (maintenance:0)
31.03.2009 17:44:13 general: SelectCurrent: selected server 'Download629 AVAST Server' from 'main'
31.03.2009 17:44:13 package: GetPackages - set proxy for inet
31.03.2009 17:44:13 internet: SYNCER: Type: use IE settings
31.03.2009 17:44:13 internet: SYNCER: Auth: another authentication, use WinInet
31.03.2009 17:44:13 general: Entered SetupProcessPro::Do( INST_OP_UPDATE_GET_PACKAGES )
31.03.2009 17:44:13 general: Entered SetupProcessWin32Avast::Do( INST_OP_UPDATE_GET_PACKAGES )
31.03.2009 17:44:13 general: Entered SetupProcessWin32::Do( INST_OP_UPDATE_GET_PACKAGES )
31.03.2009 17:44:13 general: Entered SetupProcess::Do( INST_OP_UPDATE_GET_PACKAGES )
31.03.2009 17:44:13 general: progress thread start
31.03.2009 17:44:13 internet: SYNCER: Agent=Syncer/4.80 (av_pro-1169;p)
31.03.2009 17:44:28 internet: Used server: http://download629.avast.com/iavs4x
31.03.2009 17:44:28 package: Download servers.def, servers.def.vpu failed with error 0x20000011.
31.03.2009 17:44:44 internet: Used server: http://download629.avast.com/iavs4x
31.03.2009 17:45:00 internet: Used server: http://download629.avast.com/iavs4x
31.03.2009 17:45:00 file: GetFileWithRetry: servers.def downloaded .
31.03.2009 17:45:00 file: GetNewerStampedFile:DSA_FileVerify(C:\DOCUME~1\User\LOCALS~1\Temp\_av_proI.tm~a03828\onefile), error: 0x2000000B
31.03.2009 17:45:00 package: Tried to download servers.def but failed with error 0x20000011.
31.03.2009 17:45:00 general: Err:The package is broken.

Any idea what the problem might be?

PS. I checked the rest of the forum, I couldn't find a solution...

Thanks.
« Last Edit: March 31, 2009, 06:53:42 PM by hm2k »

Offline scythe944

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2913
    • My Tech Blog
Re: Err:The package is broken. 0x20000011.
« Reply #1 on: March 31, 2009, 09:20:58 PM »
What firewall do you use on your computer, if any?

Have you ran a Malwarebytes scan on this computer as well?
For generic computer (not avast) problems, you can also visit my forum for help: http://www.jacobytech.net/forum

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67274
Re: Err:The package is broken. 0x20000011.
« Reply #2 on: March 31, 2009, 10:52:08 PM »
Which is your Windows? 98, Me, XP, Vista?
Do you use any other antivirus in your computer?

Can you try to repair your installation?
Go to Control Panel > Add/Remove programs > avast! antivirus > Remove. Then choose Repair function in the popup window (Repair).
The best things in life are free.

Offline hm2k

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 37
Re: Err:The package is broken. 0x20000011.
« Reply #3 on: April 01, 2009, 09:27:00 AM »
There is no 3rd party firewall software installed, and windows firewall is restored to default.

No, I do not own a license for Malwarebytes scan.

The machine is Windows XP, as per the log.

I have tried a repair install, and an uninstall and reinstall.

Please can someone help me diagnose the error.

Offline hm2k

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 37
Re: Err:The package is broken. 0x20000011.
« Reply #4 on: April 01, 2009, 04:29:23 PM »
I've also tried chkdsk and memtest, with no errors. No success.

Offline Forejt

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 233
    • ALWIL Software
Re: Err:The package is broken. 0x20000011.
« Reply #5 on: April 01, 2009, 04:59:21 PM »
Please check if the following file is displayed correctly, it should contain [servers] on the first line:
http://download629.avast.com/iavs4x/servers.def

How do you connect to internet, is it ADSL? And do you have other computers with working avast updates using the same connection?

Try to open avast settings - update (connection), press Proxy button, and select Direct connection, press OK to confirm. Then try to start iAVS update manually again.

Offline hm2k

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 37
Re: Err:The package is broken. 0x20000011.
« Reply #6 on: April 01, 2009, 08:27:27 PM »
I can reach that file no problem.

It's ADSL through a router, other machines on the network can update no problem.

I don't think the internet connection is the issue here.

I think something is breaking Avast!...

I've been having issues with this machine lately...

First google results were taking me to couponmountain, then I tried to use regedit, and the explorer restarts...

Does this sound like a Conficter variant to you?

I'm not sure what it is, and nothing can find it, I can't update Avast! to get that to scan... I'm out of ideas right now...

Any thoughts?

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67274
Re: Err:The package is broken. 0x20000011.
« Reply #7 on: April 01, 2009, 09:19:49 PM »
Try to update avast off line and then post the last 300-350 lines of avast log: C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\DATA\log\Setup.log

Download the update here: http://files.avast.com/iavs4pro/vpsupd.exe
The best things in life are free.

Offline scythe944

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2913
    • My Tech Blog
Re: Err:The package is broken. 0x20000011.
« Reply #8 on: April 01, 2009, 09:23:47 PM »
Quote
No, I do not own a license for Malwarebytes scan.

Just an FYI, Malwarebytes is a free product...
For generic computer (not avast) problems, you can also visit my forum for help: http://www.jacobytech.net/forum

Offline hm2k

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 37
Re: Err:The package is broken. 0x20000011.
« Reply #9 on: April 01, 2009, 10:06:29 PM »
Try to update avast off line and then post the last 300-350 lines of avast log: C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\DATA\log\Setup.log

Download the update here: http://files.avast.com/iavs4pro/vpsupd.exe

I tried this, it seemed to work, but then the machine crashed. I'll get someone to reboot it on-site tomorrow.

Quote
No, I do not own a license for Malwarebytes scan.

Just an FYI, Malwarebytes is a free product...

Quote
MBAM is distributed as shareware.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Malwarebytes%27_Anti-Malware

Shareware, not exclusively freeware, however it seems the on-demand feature is free, so it could be useful in this situation. I'll give it a shot.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 83772
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Err:The package is broken. 0x20000011.
« Reply #10 on: April 01, 2009, 10:22:34 PM »
    Well I haven't read the Wiki article but I'm using the 'freeware' not shareware version of MBAM, there is a paid version and that includes resident protection. So it looks like that wiki article is either out of date or incorrect ???

    However, checking the article, you have been selective as it is quite clear there is a freeware version and what it includes.

    This is a link to get the free version - MalwareBytes Anti-Malware, On-Demand only in free version
http://download.bleepingcomputer.com/malwarebytes/mbam-setup.exe, right click on the link and select Save As or Save File (As depending on your browser), save it to a location where you can find it easily later.[/li][/list]
WinXP ProSP3/ Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ avast! free 18.5.2342/ Firefox ESR, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ DropMyRights/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security
Windows 10 Home 2004 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 20.7.2425 (build 20.7.5568.598) UI-1.0.558/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro

Offline hm2k

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 37
Re: Err:The package is broken. 0x20000011.
« Reply #11 on: April 01, 2009, 11:06:46 PM »
Ah, well I was really going off what their official website said...
« Last Edit: April 01, 2009, 11:14:25 PM by hm2k »

Offline scythe944

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2913
    • My Tech Blog
Re: Err:The package is broken. 0x20000011.
« Reply #12 on: April 02, 2009, 12:20:00 AM »
Well, it says shareware.  The part that we usually use here is the part that's free.  We just want to do scans every once in a while, not have on-access / realtime protection.

Anyway, my post wasn't meant to bring on a debate whether it's free / shareware or whatever, I'm just saying that you don't have to pay for it to run a scan, that's all.
For generic computer (not avast) problems, you can also visit my forum for help: http://www.jacobytech.net/forum

Offline DavidR

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 83772
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Err:The package is broken. 0x20000011.
« Reply #13 on: April 02, 2009, 12:25:22 AM »
The page I'm looking at seems different to the one in the link in your image, though they aren't very clear at all about there being a totally free version for personal use. Perhaps the poor wording is designed to make people go straight to download the full paid option. Or not wanting to make it too clear you can get it free rather than pay $24.95.

The free trial version button if clicked takes you to download.cnet.com and if you ckick on the link there is would download mbam-setup.exe, the free version. Effectively the same as the link I gave earlier but downloaded from bleepingcomputers.com.

It is a reasonable one off fee (for personal use) and had I not already bought the SAS Pro version I would happily have paid for the full MBAM version, it is a good product.
WinXP ProSP3/ Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ avast! free 18.5.2342/ Firefox ESR, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ DropMyRights/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security
Windows 10 Home 2004 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 20.7.2425 (build 20.7.5568.598) UI-1.0.558/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro

Offline scythe944

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2913
    • My Tech Blog
Re: Err:The package is broken. 0x20000011.
« Reply #14 on: April 02, 2009, 12:32:36 AM »
I like 'em both.  Still don't think you have to pay.  I just noticed that Malwarebytes put that (shareware) word on there recently.  Before, it used to say free I think.

Don't know if it's forcasting things to come or what.  I dunno. Again, I was just letting hm2k know that he didn't have to pay (immediately anyway).
For generic computer (not avast) problems, you can also visit my forum for help: http://www.jacobytech.net/forum