Author Topic: Problem Updating to Windows SP3  (Read 8125 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Spiritsongs

  • Guest
Re: Problem Updating to Windows SP3
« Reply #15 on: April 02, 2009, 02:10:57 AM »
 :) Hi Pam :

 Several PRECAUTIONS should be done PRIOR to upGRADING ( from SP2 to SP3, for


example ) an Operating System. which I feel should include the following :


1) Get the latest RELIABLE Info on possible problems; I trust the FREE "Windows Secrets"


& "Don't let XP3 hose your system" from http://WindowsSecrets.com/080911 is very good .


There are other "Windows Secrets" articles on their website about possible XP3


compatibility problem(s) .


2) Make reasonable sure the computer is Malware-free ; practically speaking, nowadays


that means running the "Full Scan" of the FREE Ver of "SUPERAntiSpyware" from


http://www.superantispyware.com/ AND the "Free" Version of "Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware


from http://www.malwarebytes.org/mbam.php .


3) Get the latest PC Manufacturer "Driver" updates , IF there are any .


4) Make a "System Restore" Point, to go back to, IF the Installation is NOT successful .


Refer to the excellent Guide at http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/tutorials/tutorial56.html


Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 48620
  • 64 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Problem Updating to Windows SP3
« Reply #16 on: April 02, 2009, 05:12:03 AM »
Quote
4) Make a "System Restore" Point, to go back to, IF the Installation is NOT successful .

If you read Pam's original post:
Quote
http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=43874.msg366911#msg366911
You'll notice that she was able overcome her faulty problem by going back to her Restore Point.

If you listen to the scary stories posted by a very small minority of those that installed SP3, you'll never update your system.

I've used SP3 since Beta days without problems and so did thousands of other beta testers.

The final version installed successfully in most instances.

PamJ,
Clean out your temp files, Create another Restore Point, Stop the scanning by your security programs and, re-install SP3.
Free Security Seminar: https://bit.ly/bobg2023  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v24H2 64bit, 32 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast Free 24.4.6112, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://bit.ly/BobGInternet

PamJ

  • Guest
Re: Problem Updating to Windows SP3
« Reply #17 on: April 02, 2009, 10:32:12 PM »
Thanks everyone for the suggestions. I plan on trying this again over the w/e and will let you know the outcome.

Yep, that restore point saved me!

I did thorough scans beforehand with all the anti-virus, anti-malware, etc. programs I have, including a boot scan with avast. I'll start from scratch this w/e, make sure everything is off, and set another restore point.  I know the computer sets these, but I like to set my own right before I do something like this.



Pam

Sidebar:  Another sorta related question fueled only by my incessant curiosity---is it possible to update Windows through Firefox rather than IE? When I go to Windows site to update, it says I have to be on IE to do it.  I have both, so it's not an issue other than, as I said, my curiosity!

« Last Edit: April 02, 2009, 10:37:26 PM by PamJ »

Offline Tarq57

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3694
  • If at first you don’t succeed; call it version 1.0
Re: Problem Updating to Windows SP3
« Reply #18 on: April 02, 2009, 11:04:13 PM »
Windows 10,Windows Firewall,Firefox w/Adblock.

YoKenny

  • Guest
Re: Problem Updating to Windows SP3
« Reply #19 on: April 02, 2009, 11:10:37 PM »
There weren't any personal computers when I was 16 ;D

There weren't computers when I was 16 and by 20 I was a whiz at a slide rule http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Slide_rule

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 89264
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Problem Updating to Windows SP3
« Reply #20 on: April 03, 2009, 12:41:50 AM »
There were many computers when you were 16, but they could hardly be called personal ;D

You would need a large house to fit them in and a large staff to service them, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Colossus_computer. Updating to SP3 would be a cinch to getting this baby running ;D

Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 24.5.6116 (build 24.5.9153.762) UI 1.0.808/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 48620
  • 64 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Problem Updating to Windows SP3
« Reply #21 on: April 03, 2009, 01:23:06 AM »
There were many computers when you were 16, but they could hardly be called personal ;D

You would need a large house to fit them in and a large staff to service them, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Colossus_computer. Updating to SP3 would be a cinch to getting this baby running ;D


We had one of those Room Filling Computers at work.
In 1983 when I brought my   Vic 20 to work,
every one was amazed that I was able to do more with that little 3 k computer than the programmers where able to accomplish with the
"Main Frame".  ;D
Free Security Seminar: https://bit.ly/bobg2023  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v24H2 64bit, 32 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast Free 24.4.6112, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://bit.ly/BobGInternet

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 89264
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Problem Updating to Windows SP3
« Reply #22 on: April 03, 2009, 02:25:13 AM »
I was on a project in Hong Kong to replace an ICL Main Frame computer (ICL 2900 if memory serves), that was in a temperature controlled, air conditioned environment. That was probably the size of a large wardrobe, it has six massive memory drives and tape drives about the size of a large washing machine, for memory and data storage.

We replaced it with a small HP Server about the size of a midi tower with single tape drive all on one desk. It was much more powerful more RAM and storage than the main frame and all the six tape drives.

It was nice to be in the temperature controlled environment Hong Kong was very hot when we went out there.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 24.5.6116 (build 24.5.9153.762) UI 1.0.808/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security