Author Topic: Am I protected enough?  (Read 7227 times)

smtb

Am I protected enough?
« on: April 17, 2009, 06:12:41 PM »
Hello,

I have been using Avast Home for a few months now and have been very satisfied with it. When I first installed it, I got some trojans in the avast scan (Was using Norton before that, installed avast after using the removal tool of norton), and posted here. Got some really good advice from people here and since then I keep reading the posts here.

From reading the suggestions of Tech, DavidR, scythe944 and other knowledgeable members in various threads, I now have
MBAM, SAS (both free versions) in my computer along with Avast Home. I dont have any other security software installed. My question is am I protected enough or should I get something else? I dont have any firewall installed other than what comes with vista. But I never tweaked it, so I dont know how effective it is. I have read people saying about sandboxing, drive imaging, but I dont know anything about these. Are these needed? Do I need another firewall?

My machine is Vista SP1 32 bit, 3 GB RAM, 2 GHz AMD TL 60. I use Opera 9.64 for browsing and windows defender is active.

I must say, I never got any infection after I installed Avast. A couple of times Avast cautioned me of some virus when I tried to visit some websites and the connection was aborted. So nothing bad happened. But still I am a bit paranoid about my computer's security.
I scan my laptop weekly using MBAM and SAS after updating them. My Avast settings are default I believe, only the level is set at high for most of the components. I did not set boot time scanning, should I do that? How long does it take? I do not scan my laptop using Avast very often, as it is resident. Should I do weekly scanning using Avast too?

Advices are highly appreciated.
Thanks for reading and thanks to the developers for creating this wonderful antivirus.

« Last Edit: April 17, 2009, 06:15:37 PM by smtb »

Offline RejZoR