Author Topic: Information Port  (Read 5409 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Gisabun

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 50
Information Port
« on: April 20, 2009, 07:50:29 PM »
OK. While hunting that other issue, I came across the "InformationPort" parameter in the avast4.ini file. What exactly is that used as we have sporatic machines hitting out firewall with that.

Thanks


Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31359
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re: Information Port
« Reply #1 on: April 20, 2009, 08:10:29 PM »
Port 6000(tcp) is used between an X client and server over the network

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67269
Re: Information Port
« Reply #2 on: April 20, 2009, 08:14:49 PM »
A port number for what? Why do you want to specify in avast4.ini file?
The best things in life are free.

Offline wpn

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1450
  • If it ain't broke, fix it! ;)
    • Bevolkingsonderzoek Zuid-West
Re: Information Port
« Reply #3 on: April 20, 2009, 11:24:39 PM »
A port number for what? Why do you want to specify in avast4.ini file?

i think u miss understand the Topic Starter....   i believe he found the setting for the InformationPort in the ini file and now wants to know what the clients use that port for since the clients try to get out the firewall via that port number that is specified in the ini file :)

correct me if im wrong...

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67269
Re: Information Port
« Reply #4 on: April 21, 2009, 01:00:23 AM »
i think u miss understand the Topic Starter...
Sorry.
The best things in life are free.

Offline Gisabun

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 50
Re: Information Port
« Reply #5 on: April 21, 2009, 03:20:17 PM »
A port number for what? Why do you want to specify in avast4.ini file?

i think u miss understand the Topic Starter....   i believe he found the setting for the InformationPort in the ini file and now wants to know what the clients use that port for since the clients try to get out the firewall via that port number that is specified in the ini file :)

correct me if im wrong...

Yup. You got it. So. Anyone with the definition of the InformationPort?

Manual says nothing.

Offline scythe944

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2913
    • My Tech Blog
Re: Information Port
« Reply #6 on: April 21, 2009, 05:39:31 PM »
Does this help at all?
For generic computer (not avast) problems, you can also visit my forum for help: http://www.jacobytech.net/forum

Offline Gisabun

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 50
Re: Information Port
« Reply #7 on: April 21, 2009, 07:46:34 PM »
Yup. That does. Thanks.

I guess "information" is the wrong name for it then.


Offline scythe944

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2913
    • My Tech Blog
Re: Information Port
« Reply #8 on: April 21, 2009, 08:10:51 PM »
I guess they had too many "ports" to name in the ini file, or something, who knows.

Anyway, glad I could help.

For generic computer (not avast) problems, you can also visit my forum for help: http://www.jacobytech.net/forum