Author Topic: Installed avast 4.8, won't let me manually do a security scan  (Read 4903 times)

AricM

Hi there,

I just installed Avast 4.8 Free Home Edition, and I am having difficulty initiating a complete scan of my computer. I operate through Windows Vista, and when I double click the blue a-ball icon, it gives me a startup screen that runs a memory test. Once the memory test is complete, this screen simply goes away, and I get no other interface with which to work. I'm new to avast, so I don't know if this is normal or not, but AVG always had an interface that allowed you to run a complete scan. I'm also getting messages that my POPMAIL could not be protected. Help please, I want to be ready for this next virus!

--Aric

Offline scythe944

• Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
    • My Tech Blog
Re: Installed avast 4.8, won't let me manually do a security scan
« Reply #1 on: March 30, 2009, 06:32:40 PM »
You say that you had AVG?  How was it removed?  I think this just may be an issue of a previous A/V program still lingering on your computer.

You can use the AVG Removal tool listed on this page:
http://www.avg.com/download-tools

*EDIT*
I had the wrong link to the removal tool, it has been fixed.

« Last Edit: March 30, 2009, 08:05:50 PM by scythe944 »
For generic computer (not avast) problems, you can also visit my forum for help: http://www.jacobytech.net/forum

AricM

« Reply #2 on: March 30, 2009, 07:45:29 PM »
I just uninstalled through the Ctrl Panel, and everything appeared successful.

Offline scythe944

• Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
    • My Tech Blog
« Reply #3 on: March 30, 2009, 07:47:35 PM »
I understand that, but there usually are parts of A/V programs left over from un-installation processes.

Using the removal tool is the only way to be sure that ALL of the program has been removed.
For generic computer (not avast) problems, you can also visit my forum for help: http://www.jacobytech.net/forum

AricM