Author Topic: recurring rpc error  (Read 3747 times)

Mad Pat

recurring rpc error
« on: April 23, 2009, 05:18:21 PM »
Hi, I'm Mad Pat and I'm new to Avast and the forum. I've received this error several times since recently installing Avast and thought I'd ask for some advice in troubleshooting it.  I've uninstalled/reinstalled and followed the faq procedure. I find that the service is set to run automatically and proceed to the fix option via add/remove programs which has worked in repairing the installation each time that I've encountered the rpc error so far. I was previously running Norton AV which was correctly uninstalled prior to launching Avast. I run an application called uTorrent which is bit torrent client and am wondering if there may be some known conflict either in running it or Zone Alarm. Otherwise my systems runs well, programs are up to date, no known conflicts, etc.  Thanks in advance for any assistance with this problem. MP

Operating System: Windows 2000 pro (sp4)
Processor: AMD Athlon 800 MHz, 524 Kb RAM
Firewall: Zone Alarm Version  7.0.483.000

Online DavidR

• Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: recurring rpc error
« Reply #1 on: April 23, 2009, 05:28:31 PM »
Something which isn't in the faq, is that this is commonly associated with having another AV or remnants of one on your system.

Norton can be a real pig to remove even after an uninstall and these are very commonly reported in the forums.

A link worth looking at, which is a program removal tool that can remove the remnants of a number of different Norton Programs:
Removing your Norton program using SymNRT
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 24.4.6112 (build 24.4.9067.762) UI 1.0.803/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Mad Pat

« Reply #2 on: April 23, 2009, 05:38:36 PM »