Author Topic: Not Enough Storage for Command  (Read 23354 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline oldtimer

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Not Enough Storage for Command
« on: May 08, 2009, 04:49:00 AM »
I just installed version 4.8.1335 but get this error trying to get updates.  It looks like all the files have d/l and at 99% I get
 "Not enough storage is available to process this command"
 I have 3.25GB of Disk space and 256MB of Memory.
I see old messages from last December here saying the same thing but do not see a reply to fix the problem.

Offline thehobbit

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Not Enough Storage for Command
« Reply #1 on: May 08, 2009, 05:00:34 AM »
I have the same message: "Not enough storage is available to process this command"  ???

What to do?

Offline Tarq57

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3694
  • If at first you don’t succeed; call it version 1.0
Re: Not Enough Storage for Command
« Reply #2 on: May 08, 2009, 06:29:22 AM »
Oldtimer, your remaining disk space is quite marginal for doing pretty much anything, I'm afraid.
Run a disk cleanup at all? If you haven't, try that, then defrag.
What is your OS?
I suspect that with a low performance computer (256 is quite low these days) there will be lots of read/write operations during any type of updating, using the page file a lot, and such is evidenced by the sound of lots of HD activity whenever opening or doing anything in a program.

thehobbit what is your OS and HD capacity please? The above suggestions might make a difference in your case also.

There are ways of claiming disk space. Including moving files to another medium (like an external HD, or CD's/DVD's), reducing the amount of system restore space, capping the limit of the page file (that's a bit advanced, and can cause problems, but looking at the amount used by the page file will give an indication of how much disk space it typically uses.)
WindowsXP Home SP3,Avast Free 5.1.889,Windows Firewall, Autorun Eater,Firefox w/Noscript+ /Adblock+/Better Privacy, IE8 all zones except MS Update set to "untrusted" settings,MVPS Host file.SecuniaPSI.

Offline jayembee

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Not Enough Storage for Command
« Reply #3 on: May 08, 2009, 06:41:36 AM »
I also received this message when trying to update the virus database after installation of Avast Home Edition. Download halts after approximately 75%.

Build: 4.8.1335
Virus database: 090319-0

OS: Win98SE (yes, please stop laughing)
RAM: 352 MB
Available Disk Space: 33.5GB (can't imagine this is really a space issue??)

Any help would be appreciated. :)

Offline Tarq57

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3694
  • If at first you don’t succeed; call it version 1.0
Re: Not Enough Storage for Command
« Reply #4 on: May 08, 2009, 06:51:42 AM »
What AV did you use prior to Avast? Any other security software running? (Yeah, I know it's SE, but I have to ask. I actually very much liked '98.)
WindowsXP Home SP3,Avast Free 5.1.889,Windows Firewall, Autorun Eater,Firefox w/Noscript+ /Adblock+/Better Privacy, IE8 all zones except MS Update set to "untrusted" settings,MVPS Host file.SecuniaPSI.

Offline jack99

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Not Enough Storage for Command
« Reply #5 on: May 08, 2009, 10:38:16 AM »
I have the identical problem, having just installed Avast Home. I have read all the threads under “not enough storage is available to process this command” and I will share my current understanding.

Win98se is a common factor in this.

The December thread started by Stehen_M  recommended a total uninstall using an Avast reinstall tool, and reinstall with a later version. This worked for one user. I do not see how that is relevant now, the version I have is even later, but see below!

See the April thread started by Azur: this error happened even with a barely used 40GB drive and 500MB RAM. The “storage” referred to is NOT the HDD and I don’t believe it’s the RAM either (one other user stopped all other running processes without success).

An early poster from 2004 got the same error when the size of the virus chest was set too low, so I reckon it may be an Avast cache of some sort that is set too low in our case.

I’m going with the complete reinstall using a fresh download FROM THE AVAST SITE. Apparently sometimes there is a corrupted package. That seems to be the commonest fix to the problem.

Offline alanjeff

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Not Enough Storage for Command
« Reply #6 on: May 08, 2009, 01:14:24 PM »
I'm having the same problem with 98se has anyone solved it.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67275
Re: Not Enough Storage for Command
« Reply #7 on: May 08, 2009, 01:19:05 PM »
How much RAM (memory) and free disk space do you have?
The best things in life are free.

Offline thehobbit

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Not Enough Storage for Command
« Reply #8 on: May 08, 2009, 02:42:38 PM »
OS is Win98, 320 mb RAM, 3gb unused HDD space. The last few entries in View log>:

20:58:33 package: \b\cf3 PerformDiff: Ok\b0\par\cf1 07.05.2009 20:58:34 internet: \b\cf2 Used server: http://74.53.196.250/iavs4x\b0\par\cf1 07.05.2009 20:58:34 file: \b\cf1 GetFileWithRetry: vps-9050700-9050600.vpu downloaded  and verified\b0\par\cf1 07.05.2009 20:58:34 package: \b\cf2 DldPackage: C:\\Program Files\\Alwil Software\\Avast4\\Setup\\vps-9050700-9050600.vpu, returned 0x00000000\b0\par\cf1 07.05.2009
20:58:34 package: \b\cf1 ERROR PerformPkgDiff: pPkgDiffStorage->m_pbtBufNew == NULL\b0\par\cf1 07.05.2009
20:58:34 package: \b\cf1 PerformDiff: vps-9050700-9050600.vpu  Bad, error code 0x00000008\b0\par\cf1 07.05.2009
20:58:34 package: \b\cf1 Vpu: C:\\Program Files\\Alwil Software\\Avast4\\Setup\\vps-9050700-9050600.vpu, size: 81460. md5: 29169D8D66FDD7FE9A720B982404A006, computemd5 returned 0x00000000, sig: 89972A9B3D9BB1598C53C1FEF5B4A8EAA5A8FB0E1D2FEDE4E6A431DC50BC6B0C4A3B42F6F125DE07 returned 0x00000000\b0\par\cf1 07.05.2009
20:58:34 package: \b\cf3 PerformDiff( vps, 9050600, 9050700 ) failed 0x00000008\b0\par\cf1 07.05.2009 20:58:34 general: \b\cf1 Err:Not enough storage is available to process this command.\b0\par

Tried uninstall and reinstall with same result.

What is a solution please?

Offline Tarq57

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3694
  • If at first you don’t succeed; call it version 1.0
Re: Not Enough Storage for Command
« Reply #9 on: May 08, 2009, 03:26:07 PM »
thehobbit, Your computer specs are also a little marginal.
I don't know how to interpret the log submitted, so maybe someone will know better, but given those specs, I suspect a lot of what is reported as unused disk space is likely to be eaten into by the page file. Here is an extract from a wiki article on paging files:
Quote
Windows 95, Windows 98 and Windows Me use a similar file, and the settings for it are located under Control Panel → System → Performance tab → Virtual Memory. Windows automatically sets the size of the page file to start at 1.5× the size of physical memory, and expand up to 3× physical memory if necessary. If a user runs memory-intensive applications on a system with low physical memory, it is preferable to manually set these sizes to a value higher than default.
What i would try includes my suggestions above (except do not tamper with the size of the page file unless the following doesn't work.)
Download Avast, from the Avast web site, go through your files and delete any you don't need any more,transfer wanted files to another media if possible, perform a disk cleanup, disk defrag, and then exit as many running processes as possible before installing Avast.
Hope that works.
WindowsXP Home SP3,Avast Free 5.1.889,Windows Firewall, Autorun Eater,Firefox w/Noscript+ /Adblock+/Better Privacy, IE8 all zones except MS Update set to "untrusted" settings,MVPS Host file.SecuniaPSI.

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11747
    • AVAST Software
Re: Not Enough Storage for Command
« Reply #10 on: May 08, 2009, 03:39:36 PM »
Hmm, it seems that the updating process is "reaching some limit" on the target machines; we've already seen something like that before - when the VPS file got over 16MB, it wasn't possible to write the file to disk in one big write, because it failed on some Win9x machines. No idea why... perhaps an issue with a particular disk [controller] drivers.

If anybody (having the problem) is familiar with File Monitor (from Sysinternals) - could you please try to monitor the updating process (i.e. invoke an update and wait for it to fail) with it? I'd say you can filter only avast.setup process... or use just "avast" mask. If you upload the log to ftp://ftp.avast.com/incoming then, we can look for any other problematic disk access, and possible split it into smaller ones.
Thanks!

Offline jack99

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Not Enough Storage for Command
« Reply #11 on: May 08, 2009, 05:27:40 PM »
Reporting back: I did the complete uninstall using Control Panel then the Avast removal tool then reinstalled from the Avast website (not the Download link).

Update still did not work, despite closing down every running process except Explorer and Systray
Also tried reregistering (nix), running from the menu instead of the radio button (nix), and trying to update the program only first (already latest version) – nix. Also tried shutting down the simple interface asap after starting update to save memory – nix.

I gave up and went surfing. Blow me down about 40 min later the thing did a successful automatic update! Vps-9050700.vpu 24301KB installed!

Can post setup logs if it helps. The memory load was actually less on the failed attempts than the good one. I note however that the command line settings were different : /very silent/limitcpu

BTW my system: Win 98se Avast 4.8.1335 40GB HDD 8GB free 256 MB RAM. Setup log showed system memory 56% allocated.

Offline alanjeff

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Not Enough Storage for Command
« Reply #12 on: May 08, 2009, 06:02:45 PM »
I think I may have cracked the issue myself and thanks to others for their guidance. for win98se. It would appear the uploaded file is too big for 98SE to handle in some way. Doing as below seems to work and get round the problem. I have done it and so has my friend. Both with success. Hope it helps you too

Download the Virus database update (VPS) 7.5. 2009 version 090507-0

Uninstall Avast using control panel / add and remove programs

Delete the alwil software file in program Files (for some reason this is not deleted during an uninstall)

reboot Pc

install Avast again as you did first time and ensure both icons are correctly running in the toolbar near the clock at the bottom right of your screen.

install Virus database update (VPS) 7.5. 2009 version 090507-0. You may have to wait for the auto update to stop before the software will allow you to do this. Wait until you get confirmation that the software is updated.

Install registration code.

and re boot again.

Run Avast and test update downloader. This should say you are fully up to date.



Offline thehobbit

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Not Enough Storage for Command
« Reply #13 on: May 09, 2009, 02:39:54 AM »
OK, ALANJEFF has the solution. I did it on a Win98 PC, 320mb RAM, PII, 3.6 gm hdd free space:

Up and running with Avast. Pretty straight forward steps:

1. Download two files (to the desktop): http://files.avast.com/iavs4pro/setupeng.exe and http://files.avast.com/iavs4pro/vpsupd.exe
The first is the setup file for Avast and is updated through 4/19/09. The second is the accumulated updates from 4/19/09 to 5/08/09 (or today). Then:

2. Run the setup file: ( http://files.avast.com/iavs4pro/setupeng.exe )
After setup is run successfully, Avast will try to update and likely fail. Then:

3. Run the accumulated updates: ( http://files.avast.com/iavs4pro/vpsupd.exe )
I think you probably will get a successful update notice.

Believe the problem you ran into was caused by using the Avast download manager ( avast_home_setup.exe ) but don't know why it didn't work for you.

I don't particularly like the interface for Avast. Scans are initiated manually; not sure when Avast updates, certainly on bootup. On bootup, it's a real hog for memory when it does its initial scan. Much preferred the control panel for AVG: seemed to have better user control options. Avast seems to need more memory than AVG did when it's resident and active.

Offline Tarq57

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3694
  • If at first you don’t succeed; call it version 1.0
Re: Not Enough Storage for Command
« Reply #14 on: May 09, 2009, 03:27:40 AM »
Tried using the latest version of AVG, then?
WindowsXP Home SP3,Avast Free 5.1.889,Windows Firewall, Autorun Eater,Firefox w/Noscript+ /Adblock+/Better Privacy, IE8 all zones except MS Update set to "untrusted" settings,MVPS Host file.SecuniaPSI.