Author Topic: Upgrading Pro - get "error changing product configuration"  (Read 2742 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline jchowes

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Upgrading Pro - get "error changing product configuration"
« on: June 01, 2009, 01:20:22 PM »
Trying to install my upgrade to latest version of Pro today.
      My previous licence on this machine expired on 1 March 2009
      Running under XP (latest update was "Windows Malicious S/w Removal Tool" May 2009)

Purchased the upgrade today...
Downloaded the installation file from the avast! web pages

Then after double clicking and starting the installation process

Get: "There was an error while changing the product configuration"

And no clues given of how to fix that.

Do I just need to uninstall the old version before going ahead?

Thanks in advance

Jon


Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11765
    • AVAST Software
Re: Upgrading Pro - get "error changing product configuration"
« Reply #1 on: June 01, 2009, 01:25:28 PM »
Did you insert the new license key into the program?
(If you can't access the resident protection console, try to start e.g. ashAvast.exe from the installation folder). On the splash screen, click on the registration button and insert the new key.
It shouldn't be necessary to install/reinstall a new version (if there's a new version available, you can invoke the update from the GUI).

Offline jchowes

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Upgrading Pro - get "error changing product configuration"
« Reply #2 on: June 01, 2009, 03:01:02 PM »
Igor,

Thanks! The installation/upgrade worked just fine following the steps you suggested of course (including the usual update via the GUI).

I made the mistake of following the download instructions received after my upgrade purchase.
I guess those instructions work fine if you upgrade before your licence expires! (And do not work if you mistakenly allow your licence to expire before paying for the upgrade).

Thanks again

Jon

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67274
Re: Upgrading Pro - get "error changing product configuration"
« Reply #3 on: June 02, 2009, 12:47:51 AM »
Thanks! The installation/upgrade worked just fine following the steps you suggested of course (including the usual update via the GUI).
Glad to know everything is working fine for you now ;)
Welcome to avast forums!
The best things in life are free.