Author Topic: firewall  (Read 9246 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Dijidog

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 38
  • *I only byte the mailman when he spams me*
    • Dijidog blog
firewall
« on: June 02, 2009, 04:14:17 AM »
I have installed avast! and have run a quick scan .
My firewall is off..should I turn it on?
Windows XP professional Version 2002 service pack 3
HP Compaq 6910p
Hp intelcore Duo CPU T8300

Offline Tarq57

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3694
  • If at first you don’t succeed; call it version 1.0
Re: firewall
« Reply #1 on: June 02, 2009, 04:22:44 AM »
Absolutely turn it on.
What firewall/OS is it?
WindowsXP Home SP3,Avast Free 5.1.889,Windows Firewall, Autorun Eater,Firefox w/Noscript+ /Adblock+/Better Privacy, IE8 all zones except MS Update set to "untrusted" settings,MVPS Host file.SecuniaPSI.

Offline Dijidog

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 38
  • *I only byte the mailman when he spams me*
    • Dijidog blog
Re: firewall
« Reply #2 on: June 02, 2009, 04:29:20 AM »
Windows Vista  Home Premium   (sounds like a restaurant  ;) )
Windows XP professional Version 2002 service pack 3
HP Compaq 6910p
Hp intelcore Duo CPU T8300

Offline Tarq57

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3694
  • If at first you don’t succeed; call it version 1.0
Re: firewall
« Reply #3 on: June 02, 2009, 05:08:19 AM »
Yep. It has a built in firewall that is adequate.
Need any advice on how to do that?
WindowsXP Home SP3,Avast Free 5.1.889,Windows Firewall, Autorun Eater,Firefox w/Noscript+ /Adblock+/Better Privacy, IE8 all zones except MS Update set to "untrusted" settings,MVPS Host file.SecuniaPSI.

Offline Dijidog

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 38
  • *I only byte the mailman when he spams me*
    • Dijidog blog
Re: firewall
« Reply #4 on: June 02, 2009, 05:13:39 AM »
Thanks. I turned it on when the alert came up. I think I turned it off by moving the resident protection slider without realizing it. I have to hold my mouse on it and move slowly and then the visual of the switch moves...kinda like lag. So I suppose that It stayed off when I finally figured out the slider with lag !
Thank you. I ran my first scan..no viruses ! Woot.
Windows XP professional Version 2002 service pack 3
HP Compaq 6910p
Hp intelcore Duo CPU T8300

Offline Tarq57

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3694
  • If at first you don’t succeed; call it version 1.0
Re: firewall
« Reply #5 on: June 02, 2009, 05:21:10 AM »
Congratulations.
WindowsXP Home SP3,Avast Free 5.1.889,Windows Firewall, Autorun Eater,Firefox w/Noscript+ /Adblock+/Better Privacy, IE8 all zones except MS Update set to "untrusted" settings,MVPS Host file.SecuniaPSI.

Offline +AdDicT+

  • Anime Otaku!
  • Advanced Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 710
  • Defense is the best offense!
    • Watch anime^^
Re: firewall
« Reply #6 on: June 02, 2009, 02:38:39 PM »
Thank goodness^^

Currently watching: Detective Conan, Maoyuu Mao Yuusha, and many others!
Avast 9.x Free, Windows Firewall, Firefox 24.x, Win 7 Ultimate
Last updated: Oct 24, 2013

Offline .: L' arc :.

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1780
  • Thinking with Portals
Re: firewall
« Reply #7 on: June 02, 2009, 04:08:25 PM »
-= You may also consider an antispyware/antimalware to scan your system like Malwarebytes Antimalware [in case, it slips over avast's defense ;) ]..

-= Congratulations too..
Windows 7 (64-bit) Home Premium SP1
avast! 9 RC1

Offline Mr.Agent

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2769
  • Proud to be an avast! user.
Re: firewall
« Reply #8 on: June 02, 2009, 09:19:59 PM »
Vista already got Windows Defender :)

Offline .: L' arc :.

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1780
  • Thinking with Portals
Re: firewall
« Reply #9 on: June 03, 2009, 04:58:05 AM »
-= I have it always turned off.. ;) Don't know why.. Just like MBAM more..

-= By the way, I heard that Vista has a firewall different from XP..?
Windows 7 (64-bit) Home Premium SP1
avast! 9 RC1

Offline Tarq57

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3694
  • If at first you don’t succeed; call it version 1.0
Re: firewall
« Reply #10 on: June 03, 2009, 05:00:16 AM »
Vista firewall is different from XPs. It has outbound protection. This is apparently difficult to set up from within the firewall.
WindowsXP Home SP3,Avast Free 5.1.889,Windows Firewall, Autorun Eater,Firefox w/Noscript+ /Adblock+/Better Privacy, IE8 all zones except MS Update set to "untrusted" settings,MVPS Host file.SecuniaPSI.

Offline .: L' arc :.

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1780
  • Thinking with Portals
Re: firewall
« Reply #11 on: June 03, 2009, 05:11:10 AM »
Vista firewall is different from XPs. It has outbound protection. This is apparently difficult to set up from within the firewall.

-= A.. :o Thanks..
Windows 7 (64-bit) Home Premium SP1
avast! 9 RC1

Offline Tarq57

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3694
  • If at first you don’t succeed; call it version 1.0
Re: firewall
« Reply #12 on: June 03, 2009, 05:15:44 AM »
You might be interested in this.
I have no idea how good it is. (I use XP)
WindowsXP Home SP3,Avast Free 5.1.889,Windows Firewall, Autorun Eater,Firefox w/Noscript+ /Adblock+/Better Privacy, IE8 all zones except MS Update set to "untrusted" settings,MVPS Host file.SecuniaPSI.

Offline .: L' arc :.

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1780
  • Thinking with Portals
Re: firewall
« Reply #13 on: June 03, 2009, 05:34:33 AM »
-= Very promising.. But I use XP.. By the way, is Windows Firewall enough or should I still download another firewall..?
Windows 7 (64-bit) Home Premium SP1
avast! 9 RC1

Offline scythe944

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2913
    • My Tech Blog
Re: firewall
« Reply #14 on: June 03, 2009, 05:38:35 AM »
It's always good to download another third-party firewall (many good ones have been discussed on this forum already) because the built-in firewall works well for INCOMING protection, but does not do OUTGOING protection.  A third-party firewall would help prevent third-party programs from accessing the internet and other computers in case you get infected.

Try comodo firewall, or zone alarm free.  Be sure to make sure that you install the "FREE" versions, without any add-ons, or search around the forum or Google for other suggestions.
For generic computer (not avast) problems, you can also visit my forum for help: http://www.jacobytech.net/forum