Author Topic: WINDOWS XP - WINDOWS KEEP SHUTTING DOWN AFTER NUMEROUS VIRUSES (MALWARE)  (Read 5415 times)

Lolina

I currently have Avast Home Edition. I am on Broadband. Lately, I've been getting numerous viruses since playing Farm Town on Facebook. Now, my computer just keeps shutting down when I access the internet. The viruses I keep getting are Malware. When Avast warns me of a virus, it would warn me to "Abort Connection", which I do.
CAN SOMEONE PLEASE HELP!!!
I am a newbie to this. I have restored my computer during the mean-time. So far, my computer seems to be fine. I have scanned my computer numerous times.
Thank you and hope to hear from you soon.
« Last Edit: June 02, 2009, 07:39:05 AM by Lolina »

Offline .: L' arc :.

• Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • Thinking with Portals
-= I would recommend that you try a Boot Time Scan and/or download Malwarebytes Antimalware install, update & have a scan.. It would be nice if you post the results here.. ;)

-= A Hijack This log may also help..
« Last Edit: June 02, 2009, 10:32:13 AM by -= Fenrir =- »
Windows 7 (64-bit) Home Premium SP1
avast! 9 RC1

dansorin

try first a scan with Malwarebytes Antimalware (which is free). also, I hope you are using a firewall.

Offline mkis

• Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
What makes you think you're getting viruses from Farm Town, Lolina? Google doesn't say that there have been any problems with Farm Town itself? I haven't actual gone there, but a lot of people still seem to be using it. And as I say, there is no alert on it.

It might help if you went to HiJackThis and ran a scan of your computer
Click here - http://www.trendsecure.com/portal/en-US/tools/security_tools/hijackthis/qsg

Download and run.
Then do scan and save a log file.

Post the log file here.
You may have to post the log file in two or more parts if the whole log wont fit in one post.
Avast7 Free, MBAM (on demand), MVPS Hosts