Author Topic: Not A Administrator Anymore!?!?!!?  (Read 37152 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline !Donovan

  • Web Analyst
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2220
    • The WAR Against Malware
Re: Not A Administrator Anymore!?!?!!?
« Reply #15 on: June 08, 2009, 02:51:19 AM »
Will do.

The admin account maker, It didn't work! :o
Familiarize Yourself! | Educate Yourself! | Beautify Yourself! | Scan Yourself!
"People who say it cannot be done should not interrupt those who are doing it."

Offline Darth.Mikey

  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1586
  • You are unwise to lower your defenses!
Re: Not A Administrator Anymore!?!?!!?
« Reply #16 on: June 08, 2009, 02:59:56 AM »
Like i said go to safe mode fire up hjt, remove those 2 O6 entries.

Fix also this line here: O23 - Service: SeekappSrch Service - Unknown owner - C:\Documents and Settings\All Users.WINDOWS\Application Data\SeekappSrch\seekapp139.exe

Next step is to remove the SeekappSrch Service which you will do by running the command prompt and typing sc delete SeekappSrch Service

Then navigate to C:\Documents and Settings\All Users.WINDOWS\Application Data\ and delete the SeekappSrch folder and all it's contents

Restart the pc and post a fresh hjt log ...
« Last Edit: June 08, 2009, 03:01:59 AM by darth_mikey »

Offline YoKenny

  • Serious Graphoman
  • **
  • Posts: 8788
Re: Not A Administrator Anymore!?!?!!?
« Reply #17 on: June 08, 2009, 03:03:45 AM »
***

WOT is not all that good since any newbie, idiot, malware writer, etc can rate any website.

Polonus suggested Finjan and I suggest you start using that before your computer becomes a door stop.


***

I have become to believe that.

Edit: Ratz!  Finjan is not Windows 7 compatable yet.
« Last Edit: June 08, 2009, 03:12:37 AM by YoKenny »
E5200 2.5GHZ, 4GB RAM, 320GB HD, Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit, avast! V9.0 Free, IE10
P4 2.8GHZ, 1.5GB RAM, 40GB HD, XP Pro SP3 32bit, avast! V9.0 Free, Google Chrome
with hpHosts, MVPS HOSTS files, SpeedFan, WinPatrol PLUS

Offline mkis

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1620
Re: Not A Administrator Anymore!?!?!!?
« Reply #18 on: June 08, 2009, 03:14:34 AM »
Quote
WOT is not all that good since any newbie, idiot, malware writer, etc can rate any website.

Have to say, I don't use it myself. but will continue to support the overall principle - self organising systems for welfare in general community like WOT attempts to be.

BTY I'd better not clutter this thread anymore. May look at new thread,  :) 
Avast7 Free, MBAM (on demand), MVPS Hosts

Intel DG41TY, Windows 7 Ultimate, IE9, Google Chrome, 4 GB ram, Secunia PSI, ccleaner, Foxit Reader, Faststone Image viewer, MWSnap.

Offline !Donovan

  • Web Analyst
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2220
    • The WAR Against Malware
Re: Not A Administrator Anymore!?!?!!?
« Reply #19 on: June 08, 2009, 04:05:09 AM »
I coulden't find a safe mode boot option when I pressed F12...
Familiarize Yourself! | Educate Yourself! | Beautify Yourself! | Scan Yourself!
"People who say it cannot be done should not interrupt those who are doing it."

Offline mkis

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1620
Re: Not A Administrator Anymore!?!?!!?
« Reply #20 on: June 08, 2009, 04:18:24 AM »
F12 is usual boot from network. Try F8.
Avast7 Free, MBAM (on demand), MVPS Hosts

Intel DG41TY, Windows 7 Ultimate, IE9, Google Chrome, 4 GB ram, Secunia PSI, ccleaner, Foxit Reader, Faststone Image viewer, MWSnap.

Offline !Donovan

  • Web Analyst
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2220
    • The WAR Against Malware
Re: Not A Administrator Anymore!?!?!!?
« Reply #21 on: June 08, 2009, 04:24:36 AM »
Will do. (CMD said SeekappSrch Service didn't exist...)
Familiarize Yourself! | Educate Yourself! | Beautify Yourself! | Scan Yourself!
"People who say it cannot be done should not interrupt those who are doing it."

Offline !Donovan

  • Web Analyst
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2220
    • The WAR Against Malware
Re: Not A Administrator Anymore!?!?!!?
« Reply #22 on: June 08, 2009, 04:50:27 AM »
When I tryed F8, it just blinked a _ on and off at the topper left corner. I restarted, tryed again, restarted and tryed again 8 more times. Then I didn't do anything, well, normal mode didn't do anything eather, so I was forced to restart and press F12 and select normal to get my computer running. I'm even more  ???.
Familiarize Yourself! | Educate Yourself! | Beautify Yourself! | Scan Yourself!
"People who say it cannot be done should not interrupt those who are doing it."

Offline mkis

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1620
Re: Not A Administrator Anymore!?!?!!?
« Reply #23 on: June 08, 2009, 06:03:35 AM »
Im hardware. I get to F8 and thats it. Maybe check your jumpers again, because you should be able to boot into Safe Mode. Sometimes you have to hold the key down or on off.
Avast7 Free, MBAM (on demand), MVPS Hosts

Intel DG41TY, Windows 7 Ultimate, IE9, Google Chrome, 4 GB ram, Secunia PSI, ccleaner, Foxit Reader, Faststone Image viewer, MWSnap.

Offline .: L' arc :.

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1780
  • Thinking with Portals
Re: Not A Administrator Anymore!?!?!!?
« Reply #24 on: June 08, 2009, 06:12:09 AM »
-= Try this instead.. I would recommend you to memorize the whole steps so you won't have any problems reverting back to normal mode from safe mode since you wont be able to connect to the internet when in safe mode..

(1) Start Menu
(2) Run
(3) Type msconfig
(4) Then go to Boot.ini tab
(5) Tick /SAFEBOOT
(6) OK

-= I hope you may now be able to boot into safe mode.. By the way, after going to safemode you will have to uncheck the /SAFEBOOT button to boot normally..
Windows 7 (64-bit) Home Premium SP1
avast! 9 RC1

Offline !Donovan

  • Web Analyst
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2220
    • The WAR Against Malware
Re: Not A Administrator Anymore!?!?!!?
« Reply #25 on: June 08, 2009, 06:30:09 AM »
Your forgetting something here...
Familiarize Yourself! | Educate Yourself! | Beautify Yourself! | Scan Yourself!
"People who say it cannot be done should not interrupt those who are doing it."

Offline mkis

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1620
Re: Not A Administrator Anymore!?!?!!?
« Reply #26 on: June 08, 2009, 06:57:30 AM »
I can't get internet in Safe Mode.
« Last Edit: June 08, 2009, 07:01:27 AM by mkis »
Avast7 Free, MBAM (on demand), MVPS Hosts

Intel DG41TY, Windows 7 Ultimate, IE9, Google Chrome, 4 GB ram, Secunia PSI, ccleaner, Foxit Reader, Faststone Image viewer, MWSnap.

Offline Darth.Mikey

  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1586
  • You are unwise to lower your defenses!
Re: Not A Administrator Anymore!?!?!!?
« Reply #27 on: June 08, 2009, 11:29:04 AM »
I can't get internet in Safe Mode.

You need to select Safe Mode with Networking though i don't understand why you are even mentioning this here since we don't need internet access we just need to enter Safe Mode ...

Im hardware. I get to F8 and thats it. Maybe check your jumpers again, because you should be able to boot into Safe Mode. Sometimes you have to hold the key down or on off.

What do jumpers have to do with entering safe mode ??!

@Donovansrb10:

 # Turn the computer on or Restart the computer
# Start tapping the F8 key. The Windows Advanced Boot Options Menu appears. If you begin tapping the F8 key too soon, some computers display a "keyboard error" message. To resolve this, restart the computer and try again.
# Ensure that the Safe mode option is selected (the top option)
# Press Enter. The computer then begins to start in Safe mode.

When you're in Safe Mode follow my previous instructions.

Offline Darth.Mikey

  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1586
  • You are unwise to lower your defenses!
Re: Not A Administrator Anymore!?!?!!?
« Reply #28 on: June 08, 2009, 11:57:50 AM »
@Donovansrb10: Do you have MalwareBytes Anti-Malware installed ? If you do please also run a quick scan with it, fix any nasty entries it finds and post the log here.

Offline mkis

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1620
Re: Not A Administrator Anymore!?!?!!?
« Reply #29 on: June 08, 2009, 01:20:20 PM »
Hi darth_mikey

Yes,of course, to all of these -
Quote
@Donovansrb10:

 # Turn the computer on or Restart the computer
# Start tapping the F8 key. The Windows Advanced Boot Options Menu appears. If you begin tapping the F8 key too soon, some computers display a "keyboard error" message. To resolve this, restart the computer and try again.
# Ensure that the Safe mode option is selected (the top option)
# Press Enter. The computer then begins to start in Safe mode.

When you're in Safe Mode follow my previous instructions.



Yes, of course, to this too. I can’t recall I ever felt the need to access the internet in Safe Mode. I do recall somewhere a discussion about it. And I agree, booting into Safe Mode is the pressing concern.
BTW, interesting infection Donovansrb10 has picked up, don't you think?
Quote
You need to select Safe Mode with Networking though i don't understand why you are even mentioning this here since we don't need internet access we just need to enter Safe Mode ..


Quote
What do jumpers have to do with entering safe mode ??!

Donovansrb10 has already posted his interesting hard disks setup in the forum. I would tackle an infection like this with only one HDD operative. That would be  HDD that holds the system drive.

As it now stands, Donovansrb10 cannot boot into Safe Mode. It is common for a computer which does not have its jumpers set up correctly to halt exactly how Donovansrb10’s is saying.

It is possible and from what I recall does happen when jumpers are not correctly set for a hard disk with system drive to run the operating system from the slave drive. However, the OS is not stable in so much as it might halt. This from what I recall. In these cases, booting into Safe Mode may return an incorrect interrupt request, sufficientlly incorrect to halt the boot.
« Last Edit: June 08, 2009, 01:25:15 PM by mkis »
Avast7 Free, MBAM (on demand), MVPS Hosts

Intel DG41TY, Windows 7 Ultimate, IE9, Google Chrome, 4 GB ram, Secunia PSI, ccleaner, Foxit Reader, Faststone Image viewer, MWSnap.