Author Topic: Help slipstreaming/installing Avast Home  (Read 3677 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

DarkScythe

  • Guest
Help slipstreaming/installing Avast Home
« on: June 08, 2009, 10:39:16 PM »
Hello,

I am in the process of configuring a restore disc for my parent's laptop.
I would like to include the Avast Home free AV on it, but I'm running into a problem.
I'm not sure how or if I can use WSIM to create an unattend to have it automatically install the AV during Windows setup, so I've resorted to installing it via Vista's Audit mode and then re-capturing the image.

The problem I have though, is that once the recapture process is completed and I then install Vista with the new image, Avast fails to load (or autoload.) The system tray icons do not appear, and if I load Avast via the desktop shortcut, it claims there is no license key and closes, even though I entered a key when it was initially installed in audit mode.

Is there any workaround for this?

Thanks.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67194
Re: Help slipstreaming/installing Avast Home
« Reply #1 on: June 09, 2009, 02:23:21 PM »
Sometimes reloading partition images for me, make avast lost its key.
I don't know why... I know it's an antipiracy feature, but avast is the only program that asks for a key after restoring image partitions... :'(
The best things in life are free.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 89420
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Help slipstreaming/installing Avast Home
« Reply #2 on: June 09, 2009, 03:55:53 PM »
For me when restoring a disk image, I have to re-enter my registration key, but other than that it works as normal.

So it looks like the Vista Audit doesn't capture a true bit by bit partition image.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 24.6.6121 (build 24.6.9241.848) UI 1.0.809/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67194
Re: Help slipstreaming/installing Avast Home
« Reply #3 on: June 09, 2009, 10:50:50 PM »
For me when restoring a disk image, I have to re-enter my registration key, but other than that it works as normal.
But why does this happen? :'(
The best things in life are free.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 89420
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Help slipstreaming/installing Avast Home
« Reply #4 on: June 09, 2009, 11:12:18 PM »
I really don't know why it happens on mine, but Drive Image 7.1 is quite old, being the last version by PowerQuest before being bought by Symantec..
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 24.6.6121 (build 24.6.9241.848) UI 1.0.809/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67194
Re: Help slipstreaming/installing Avast Home
« Reply #5 on: June 09, 2009, 11:32:36 PM »
I really don't know why it happens on mine, but Drive Image 7.1 is quite old, being the last version by PowerQuest before being bought by Symantec..
It happens with Acronis Disk Image and it happens with Easeus...
The best things in life are free.

DarkScythe

  • Guest
Re: Help slipstreaming/installing Avast Home
« Reply #6 on: June 10, 2009, 03:28:05 AM »
It seems then, that it might not be a problem limited to Vista's Sysprep process. I thought it might've been the culprit since Sysprep removes registry keys and such, and restores others to their default states to prepare the system for being imaged and installed elsewhere. Could it be that Avast stores its license key and/or demo state settings (because I installed it and imaged it within 3 hours, yet upon reinstallation, it claims I'm through the 60day demo period already) are stored in the windows users folder? This might explain why it works before imaging, but does not after it has been captured and reinstalled..

In any case, it doesn't seem like there is a known workaround for this problem.. I really don't want to ship out a laptop without AV on it though.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67194
Re: Help slipstreaming/installing Avast Home
« Reply #7 on: June 10, 2009, 01:59:07 PM »
I think the problem is on partition level (signature of the partition or disk drive), the "serial number" of the hardware.
The best things in life are free.