Author Topic: Avast doesn't start, Error 126, Can't uninstall - Help, please!  (Read 12141 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Jorolat

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 101
    • Evolution, Psychology and Social Psychology
Re: Avast doesn't start, Error 126, Can't uninstall - Help, please!
« Reply #15 on: June 13, 2009, 08:20:31 AM »
[PS: My hosts file is too long to post in one go so I've split it into two (correctly, I hope)]

Hi ya,

I used HJT to delete the liveadvert.com entries and then a whole new lot of O1 entries appeared when I re-ran HJT.

I started to delete these, but when I looked at the Hosts file itself, it said they had been inserted by Spybot which I last ran 18 months ago (I had forgotten about this program).

I could put back the Spybot entries I've deleted, but I don't know if I should or not. I'm guessing that the reason all the entries have the same date is because Spybot put them there.

Er, I'm not sure what to do about the Hosts file (which I'll attach) - and should I try uninstalling/re-installing Avast! yet?

John


Offline Jorolat

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 101
    • Evolution, Psychology and Social Psychology
Re: Avast doesn't start, Error 126, Can't uninstall - Help, please!
« Reply #16 on: June 13, 2009, 08:22:07 AM »
Here's the 2nd half of my hosts file ('phew').

John

Offline mkis

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1620
Re: Avast doesn't start, Error 126, Can't uninstall - Help, please!
« Reply #17 on: June 13, 2009, 10:19:55 AM »
John I think you need to clear your hosts file anyway and let it reset from default.

I havent come across this kind of thing before so I'm going to run a temporary plan of attack to you and I think you should perhaps wait for a second opinion as there may be different ways to sort out the problem. My way is a basic fix-it by starting your hosts protection off all over again with mvps. I'm not going to bother looking at whats in there or what may be trying to take over if that is the case. Seems was doing an okay job back when you were also using Spybot.

This how you set up again with mvps.

Go to site --

http://www.mvps.org/winhelp2002/hosts.htm


This is the text you're looking for -- (where the blue color denotes hyperlinks)

Quote
   To view the HOSTS file in plain text form. (597 kb) (opens in browser)
Note: The text version also makes a terrific reference for determining possible unwanted sites
Download: hosts.zip [right-click - Select: Save Target As] [Updated May-11-2009]

This download includes a simple batch file (mvps.bat) that will rename the existing HOSTS file to HOSTS.MVP then copy the included updated HOSTS file to the proper location. For more information please see the readme.txt included in the download.

You will want to download hosts.zip from the page. Extract files from the zip package and and follow directions on the readme text document closely.

You might also look at using Hostman, which should return your hosts file to the state it was in back in the days when you also had Spybot.

Here is the logic behind protecting against intrusion of your hosts file

http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=43658.msg365399#msg365399


But for now, just hold on a moment and see if we have another opinion because I 'm not sure whether the hosts file issue is the cause of your problem or just another effect. In the event you run with mvps for hosts file protectoin then you can run another HjT scan and see what is brought up this time.
« Last Edit: June 13, 2009, 02:05:52 PM by mkis »
Avast7 Free, MBAM (on demand), MVPS Hosts

Intel DG41TY, Windows 7 Ultimate, IE9, Google Chrome, 4 GB ram, Secunia PSI, ccleaner, Foxit Reader, Faststone Image viewer, MWSnap.

Offline YoKenny

  • Serious Graphoman
  • **
  • Posts: 8786
Re: Avast doesn't start, Error 126, Can't uninstall - Help, please!
« Reply #18 on: June 13, 2009, 10:32:08 AM »
I recommend HostsMan and its browser speedup proxy HostsServer:
http://www.abelhadigital.com <== I use 3.2.70 Beta6 release and it works fine

I do not use Spybot S&D's HOSTS file as it does not go through the rigorous maintenance that hpHosts and MVPS HOSTS file do.

Sun Java is downlevel and has security exposures so go to Add/Remove Programs and uninstall all Sun Java installs.

Download and install Java Runtime Environment 1.6.0.14:
http://filehippo.com/download_java_runtime

Install User Profile Hive Cleanup Service to help with slow log off and unreconciled profile problems:
http://www.microsoft.com/DOWNLOADS/details.aspx?familyid=1B286E6D-8912-4E18-B570-42470E2F3582&displaylang=en

Run Secunia Online Software Inspector to find other vulnerable applications:
http://secunia.com/vulnerability_scanning/online
« Last Edit: June 13, 2009, 10:42:27 AM by YoKenny »
E5200 2.5GHZ, 4GB RAM, 320GB HD, Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit, avast! V9.0 Free, IE10
P4 2.8GHZ, 1.5GB RAM, 40GB HD, XP Pro SP3 32bit, avast! V9.0 Free, Google Chrome
with hpHosts, MVPS HOSTS files, SpeedFan, WinPatrol PLUS

Offline Jorolat

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 101
    • Evolution, Psychology and Social Psychology
Re: Avast doesn't start, Error 126, Can't uninstall - Help, please!
« Reply #19 on: June 17, 2009, 09:28:24 AM »
I've downloaded and installed HostsMan, but when I tried re-installing Avast! I still get the same error :(

John

Offline mkis

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1620
Re: Avast doesn't start, Error 126, Can't uninstall - Help, please!
« Reply #20 on: June 17, 2009, 09:42:03 AM »
Did you previously have a different AV program on your computer, Symantec / Norton, McAfee, TrendMicro, something like that ? Something that was set for updates?

Is anything showing in Add/Remove Programs in Control Panel relating to any of these?

How is your computer running other than this problem with re-install avast?
Avast7 Free, MBAM (on demand), MVPS Hosts

Intel DG41TY, Windows 7 Ultimate, IE9, Google Chrome, 4 GB ram, Secunia PSI, ccleaner, Foxit Reader, Faststone Image viewer, MWSnap.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67274
Re: Avast doesn't start, Error 126, Can't uninstall - Help, please!
« Reply #21 on: June 17, 2009, 01:50:55 PM »
I've downloaded and installed HostsMan, but when I tried re-installing Avast! I still get the same error :(

John
With HostsMan, did you "overwrite" the hosts file instead of "merge"?
The best things in life are free.

Offline Jorolat

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 101
    • Evolution, Psychology and Social Psychology
Re: Avast doesn't start, Error 126, Can't uninstall - Help, please!
« Reply #22 on: June 17, 2009, 02:51:07 PM »
Did you previously have a different AV program on your computer, Symantec / Norton, McAfee, TrendMicro, something like that ? Something that was set for updates?

Is anything showing in Add/Remove Programs in Control Panel relating to any of these?

How is your computer running other than this problem with re-install avast?
I did have a TrendMicro anti-virus once (if I remember correctly), but that was a long time ago and there's no sigh of it or anything else in Add/Remove.

When I first tried to uninstall Avast!, I also tried a System Restore, but it didn't work (I tried switching it off/rebooting/switching it on, but it was no use).

Also, Windows Media Player has stopped playing more than 18 seconds of a video, but that happened a day or two after my Avast! problems began.

I've downloaded and installed HostsMan, but when I tried re-installing Avast! I still get the same error :(

John
With HostsMan, did you "overwrite" the hosts file instead of "merge"?

I clicked on mvps.bat and it backed up the original hosts file and replaced it with a 596 KB hosts file which was in the hosts.zip folder.

Thank you for both your help :)

John

Offline DavidR

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 84128
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Avast doesn't start, Error 126, Can't uninstall - Help, please!
« Reply #23 on: June 17, 2009, 02:56:13 PM »
- McAfee has an uninstall tool that you could run to ensure any possible remnants are removed.
http://download.mcafee.com/products/licensed/cust_support_patches/VSCleanupTool.exe Or http://majorgeeks.com/McAfee_Consumer_Product_Removal_Tool_d5420.html
 
2007 version - http://download.mcafee.com/products/licensed/cust_support_patches/MCPR.exe
 
Also see - How do I uninstall SecurityCenter? http://ts.mcafeehelp.com/faq3.asp?docid=71525

It may be worth doing a clean reinstall:
Download the latest version of avast http://www.avast.com/eng/download-avast-home.html and save it to your HDD, somewhere you can find it again. Use that when you reinstall. Ensure that you scroll down and select the avast direct download link for the English version and not Cnet as that is for an on-line installation (not what you want to do). - Direct download for avast Home, English version, http://files.avast.com/iavs4pro/setupeng.exe.
Download the avast! Uninstall Utility, find it here and save it to your HDD.
  • 1. Now uninstall (using add remove programs, if you can't do that start from the next step), reboot.
  • 2. run the avast! Uninstall Utility, reboot.  If step 1 failed it may be necessary to run this from safe mode, once complete reboot into normal mode.
  • 3. install the latest version, reboot.
Windows 10 Home 2004 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 20.9.2437 (build 20.9.5758.0) UI-1.0.579/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline mkis

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1620
Re: Avast doesn't start, Error 126, Can't uninstall - Help, please!
« Reply #24 on: June 18, 2009, 03:07:13 AM »
Quote
I left my computer on overnight to upload a video, but when I got up this morning the avast! (home edition) icons were missing from the tray.

When I tried to start avast! manually, I got the following error message:

Stick with it Jorolat. It looks as if a nasty sneaked in or actioned while computer was on but left unattended. Sometimes it takes a while and a few runs to reverse the damage so you're back on right foot, and you may not be far off now. I am speaking from experience. There is an new VPS update on the way, so pay to look over defence you put in place and go through boot scans again to see what progress has been made. Perhaps uninstall / re-install avast following info given in forum on best ways to do this.

Also, if use Hostman with mvps, did you see to go to Run--type 'services.msc' (without quotations)--go down list to DNS Services--click to open editor and set for disabled.  This is not causing your problem but is usual practice when using Hostman.
« Last Edit: June 18, 2009, 03:12:18 AM by mkis »
Avast7 Free, MBAM (on demand), MVPS Hosts

Intel DG41TY, Windows 7 Ultimate, IE9, Google Chrome, 4 GB ram, Secunia PSI, ccleaner, Foxit Reader, Faststone Image viewer, MWSnap.