Author Topic: Windows 7 firewall block Avast update.(Solved)  (Read 10031 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline essekco

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Windows 7 firewall block Avast update.(Solved)
« on: June 25, 2009, 08:42:56 AM »
 Hi.
After enable block outbound traffic in Windows 7 firewall.Avast update can't connect to internet anymore.Which executables i need to allow?
Can u help me pls?
Other programs did connect internet without any problem after adding rules to firewall,except Avast.
I already  allow:
-VisthUpd.exe
-aswUpdSv.exe
-ashUpd.exe
-ashServ.exe
No luck.
I have Avast 4.8 Home Edititon.
Thnx.
« Last Edit: June 27, 2009, 07:29:06 PM by essekco »

Offline YoKenny

  • Serious Graphoman
  • **
  • Posts: 8786
Re: Windows 7 firewall block Avast update.
« Reply #1 on: June 25, 2009, 11:43:51 AM »
Try Vista Firewall Control Free:
http://www.sphinx-soft.com/Vista/order.html

I choose not to enable Vista's outbound protection as it is too complex to control and un-necessary with the security applications I use.
« Last Edit: June 25, 2009, 05:05:52 PM by YoKenny »
E5200 2.5GHZ, 4GB RAM, 320GB HD, Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit, avast! V9.0 Free, IE10
P4 2.8GHZ, 1.5GB RAM, 40GB HD, XP Pro SP3 32bit, avast! V9.0 Free, Google Chrome
with hpHosts, MVPS HOSTS files, SpeedFan, WinPatrol PLUS

Offline essekco

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Windows 7 firewall block Avast update.
« Reply #2 on: June 25, 2009, 11:48:39 AM »
Thnx for reply i'll try this application.
But there's must be a way to allow avast update.For instance windows update connect internet after adding a rule
Program:%SystemRoot%\System32\svchost.exe
Service:Windows Update (wuauserv)
But svchost not work for Avast.

Offline essekco

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Windows 7 firewall block Avast update.
« Reply #3 on: June 25, 2009, 12:21:17 PM »
I install Vista Firewall Control.Than alert me "Avast.setup(setup.exe) trying to connect internet" and i allow Avast.setup but still not work.Only think i can do  disable outbound firewall when trying to update Avast for now.

Offline onlysomeone

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1270
Re: Windows 7 firewall block Avast update.
« Reply #4 on: June 25, 2009, 12:33:12 PM »
Have you already tried deleting all connection-rules which are related to avast?
Sometimes it helps to let the program ask again for permission.

yours
onlysomeone

Offline essekco

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Windows 7 firewall block Avast update.
« Reply #5 on: June 25, 2009, 01:02:57 PM »
Yes i did but program only ask about Avast.setup.Even i manualy add to allowed programs list in Vista Firewall Control,later.Still not work.

When i disable Outbound Firewall.Avast update work perfect.

« Last Edit: June 25, 2009, 01:24:30 PM by essekco »

Offline YoKenny

  • Serious Graphoman
  • **
  • Posts: 8786
Re: Windows 7 firewall block Avast update.
« Reply #6 on: June 25, 2009, 05:10:12 PM »
How do you connect to the Internet?

If it is DSL or cable then what is the modem make and manufacturer model number?
E5200 2.5GHZ, 4GB RAM, 320GB HD, Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit, avast! V9.0 Free, IE10
P4 2.8GHZ, 1.5GB RAM, 40GB HD, XP Pro SP3 32bit, avast! V9.0 Free, Google Chrome
with hpHosts, MVPS HOSTS files, SpeedFan, WinPatrol PLUS

Offline essekco

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Windows 7 firewall block Avast update.
« Reply #7 on: June 27, 2009, 07:13:40 PM »
Hi,I have Airties RT-104 modem with 1 Mbit DSL.

Offline essekco

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Windows 7 firewall block Avast update.(Solved)
« Reply #8 on: June 27, 2009, 07:37:51 PM »
After applied a advice from post of Malachy.Problem solved.

http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=26599.30
Quote:

""To resolve these issues, you need to add two outbound rules:
1.  Add avast.setup.  For me the path is: "%ProgramFiles%\Alwil Software\Avast4\Setup\avast.setup"
2.  Add ashWebSv.exe.  For me the path is: "%ProgramFiles%\Alwil Software\Avast4\ashWebSv.exe"

Regarding number two, I am guessing (and this is just a guess here) that all web communications in or out (over ports 80, 443, 8080, etc...) pass through the Avast Web Shield...like a proxy.  So if ashWebSv.exe is blocked then the result is like blocking your web clients (firefox, IE, etc...) ""

I never thought, i need to allow "ashWebSv.exe" for Avast Update.That was my bad.


Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67274
Re: Windows 7 firewall block Avast update.(Solved)
« Reply #9 on: June 27, 2009, 08:02:24 PM »
all web communications in or out (over ports 80, 443, 8080, etc...) pass through the Avast Web Shield...like a proxy.
Indeed only inbound connections through port 80 (by default).
The best things in life are free.