Author Topic: Have You Tried ...  (Read 37175 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

spg SCOTT

  • Guest
Re: Have You Tried ...
« Reply #60 on: August 06, 2009, 06:42:23 PM »
That would be cool :)

Is it only a Win 7 thing?
No this is the next version of Microsoft's Office Product. :)

Sorry, I meant is it available to everyone (diff OS's etc.)

Offline Confused Computer User

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 700
  • The answer is 42
Re: Have You Tried ...
« Reply #61 on: August 06, 2009, 07:00:44 PM »
That would be cool :)

Is it only a Win 7 thing?
No this is the next version of Microsoft's Office Product. :)

Sorry, I meant is it available to everyone (diff OS's etc.)

I think that is the idea since it' the next Microsoft's Office Suite. So I think that/imagine at least, that they will make available for the major OSs (ie XP, Vista, Win7, Mac OS X etc)
Computer Systems:

Intel Pentium 4 641 / 2GB RAM / Vista Home Basic SP2 / avast! 5.0 Home / SAS Free / MBAM Free / Windows Defender / Windows Firewall / Spyware Blaster/ Secunia PSI / Firefox 3.6 / Opera 10.5

Core2Duo T8300 / 4GB RAM / Vista Home Premium SP2 (32 bit version) / Same Software.

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 48650
  • 64 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Have You Tried ...
« Reply #62 on: August 06, 2009, 07:02:12 PM »
Maybe I'm a little confused ???
The Technical Preview is only available to select beta testers by invitation. The end product will be available to
any one willing to spend the money to buy it. :)
Free Security Seminar: https://bit.ly/bobg2023  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v24H2 64bit, 32 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast Free 24.4.6112, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://bit.ly/BobGInternet

spg SCOTT

  • Guest
Re: Have You Tried ...
« Reply #63 on: August 06, 2009, 07:09:13 PM »
Maybe I'm a little confused ???
The Technical Preview is only available to select beta testers by invitation...

Not confused enough ;)

That answered my question. Thanks

-Scott-

p.s. I found this pic a little while ago...I'm already running ;D

Offline nmb

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3054
Re: Have You Tried ...
« Reply #64 on: August 06, 2009, 07:12:25 PM »
p.s. I found this pic a little while ago...I'm already running ;D

This forum is just awesome!  : :D

Black3agl3

  • Guest
Re: Have You Tried ...
« Reply #65 on: August 06, 2009, 07:13:51 PM »
spg scott: lol... where did u find that?

spg SCOTT

  • Guest
Re: Have You Tried ...
« Reply #66 on: August 06, 2009, 07:36:12 PM »
spg scott: lol... where did u find that?

backgrounds app on ipod...

careful not to get too off topic guys...;)

Offline .: L' arc :.

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1780
  • Thinking with Portals
Re: Have You Tried ...
« Reply #67 on: August 07, 2009, 01:09:40 PM »
Quote
I found this pic a little while ago...I'm already running

 Nice pic. Reminds me of Happy Tree Friends.
Windows 7 (64-bit) Home Premium SP1
avast! 9 RC1

Offline Confused Computer User

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 700
  • The answer is 42
Re: Have You Tried ...
« Reply #68 on: August 07, 2009, 02:34:59 PM »
Maybe I'm a little confused ???
The Technical Preview is only available to select beta testers by invitation...

Not confused enough ;)

That answered my question. Thanks

-Scott-

p.s. I found this pic a little while ago...I'm already running ;D

Ah, ok... now I see what you meant...
Computer Systems:

Intel Pentium 4 641 / 2GB RAM / Vista Home Basic SP2 / avast! 5.0 Home / SAS Free / MBAM Free / Windows Defender / Windows Firewall / Spyware Blaster/ Secunia PSI / Firefox 3.6 / Opera 10.5

Core2Duo T8300 / 4GB RAM / Vista Home Premium SP2 (32 bit version) / Same Software.

cinchez

  • Guest
Re: Have You Tried ...
« Reply #69 on: August 10, 2009, 04:00:47 PM »
OK...Guys have u tried Sygate Personal Firewall?^^

Thanks Guys for ur future response(s)^^

-AnimeLover^^

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 89336
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Have You Tried ...
« Reply #70 on: August 10, 2009, 04:12:28 PM »
It is a) very old, b) no longer actively being developed.

So it wouldn't be keeping pace with exploits (leaks) to by-pass the firewall, so my answer would be a) no I haven't tried it and b) not I wouldn't try it.

In its day it was a very good and highly configurable firewall, but even then it had vulnerabilities with the localhost loopback, e.g. it only challenged the localhost proxy parent and not anything else that happened to use the proxy.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 24.5.6116 (build 24.5.9153.762) UI 1.0.808/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 48650
  • 64 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Have You Tried ...
« Reply #71 on: August 10, 2009, 05:02:50 PM »
I'm using IObit Security 360  and have been using it since I posted about it in this forum.
The current version or latest update is beta 3.1
Free Security Seminar: https://bit.ly/bobg2023  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v24H2 64bit, 32 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast Free 24.4.6112, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://bit.ly/BobGInternet

Offline Confused Computer User

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 700
  • The answer is 42
Re: Have You Tried ...
« Reply #72 on: December 17, 2009, 08:44:59 PM »
It's been a while but I wanted to ask a question concerning IObit 360 and since Bob has been using it since it's early days I only found it suiting to ask the question in this thread.

Is it ok to use the "PC Security Analysis" tool. It's in the main window and when triggered gives you various options. Among which I found privacy sweeper. It says it found some junk files I'm assuming I can safely delete. They are found in the "temp" and "Temporary Internet Files" folders. Is this true or should I avoid doing this?
Computer Systems:

Intel Pentium 4 641 / 2GB RAM / Vista Home Basic SP2 / avast! 5.0 Home / SAS Free / MBAM Free / Windows Defender / Windows Firewall / Spyware Blaster/ Secunia PSI / Firefox 3.6 / Opera 10.5

Core2Duo T8300 / 4GB RAM / Vista Home Premium SP2 (32 bit version) / Same Software.

YoKenny

  • Guest
Re: Have You Tried ...
« Reply #73 on: December 17, 2009, 09:20:29 PM »
@ Confused Computer User

CCleaner does the job admirably.

IOBit Theft Conclusion
Quote
We have documented here and here how IObit's in-the-wild detection rates dropped from over 70% to under 20% overnight after removing Malwarebytes' definitions from their database. Unsurprisingly, IObit has abruptly ended its anti-malware comparison testing program. We invite all users to continue to compare our detection rates against in-the-wild malware to IObit's over the next several months. We know who we believe will be on top. And we look forward to continuing to improve our products and help the online community at large.
http://www.malwarebytes.org/forums/index.php?showtopic=33217
« Last Edit: December 17, 2009, 09:22:09 PM by YoKenny »

pinnacle

  • Guest
Re: Have You Tried ...
« Reply #74 on: December 17, 2009, 09:29:38 PM »
IOBIT360 BUSTED lock them up they are thieves. glad Malwarebytes bite them on their As.......... OUCH THAT'S SMARTS