Author Topic: Why does Avast! become corrupt if I do a System Restore?  (Read 7228 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

stormer

  • Guest
Why does Avast! become corrupt if I do a System Restore?
« on: August 07, 2009, 12:19:49 AM »
On our shared computer (not this one), I have avast installed.

I did a System Restore, after the it was complete, avast would not run.
The protection modules didn't run, so I had to reinstall it.

This has happened everything I do a restore.

Can this be avoided?

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 89354
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Why does Avast! become corrupt if I do a System Restore?
« Reply #1 on: August 07, 2009, 12:39:46 AM »
That is the whole point of a system restore going back to a point in time to resolve a problem (not mentioned why) can have unexpected repercussions as changes to avast may well also be reversed.

I find system restore to be less than perfect, so much so that I have it disabled and use a back-up and recovery strategy to replace it. A hard disk image weekly takes a bit by bit copy of the partition/s that can be restored as an exact copy. For me far more reliable than system restore, whilst after restoring the image I have to re-enter my registration key but that is all.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 24.5.6116 (build 24.5.9153.762) UI 1.0.808/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67194
Re: Why does Avast! become corrupt if I do a System Restore?
« Reply #2 on: August 07, 2009, 01:04:48 AM »
That is the whole point of a system restore going back to a point in time to resolve a problem (not mentioned why) can have unexpected repercussions as changes to avast may well also be reversed.
Generally, antivirus and firewalls have trouble with System Restore.
It is not a backup (image) of the disk and far than perfect.
It just work for minor installations, or even a driver update.

I find system restore to be less than perfect, so much so that I have it disabled and use a back-up and recovery strategy to replace it. A hard disk image weekly takes a bit by bit copy of the partition/s that can be restored as an exact copy. For me far more reliable than system restore, whilst after restoring the image I have to re-enter my registration key but that is all.
+1
The best things in life are free.

norel

  • Guest
Re: Why does Avast! become corrupt if I do a System Restore?
« Reply #3 on: August 07, 2009, 03:20:53 AM »
I did a System Restore, after the it was complete, avast would not run.

How long after you installed Avast did you run system restore? If you install Avast then try to restore your system to a point before Avast was installed you are going to have problems. It won't completely uninstall, but it won't work right either.

stormer

  • Guest
Re: Why does Avast! become corrupt if I do a System Restore?
« Reply #4 on: August 07, 2009, 03:46:40 PM »
How long after you installed Avast did you run system restore? If you install Avast then try to restore your system to a point before Avast was installed you are going to have problems. It won't completely uninstall, but it won't work right either.
Avast has been installed for about 5/6 months.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67194
Re: Why does Avast! become corrupt if I do a System Restore?
« Reply #5 on: August 07, 2009, 03:47:31 PM »
So, System Restore shouldn't mess avast installation (in theory).
The best things in life are free.

Brandon72196

  • Guest
Re: Why does Avast! become corrupt if I do a System Restore?
« Reply #6 on: August 07, 2009, 06:14:32 PM »
I did a system restore just 2 days ago because of a driver conflict, nothing happened to avast, but should I be worried?? ???

Offline scythe944

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2913
    • My Tech Blog
Re: Why does Avast! become corrupt if I do a System Restore?
« Reply #7 on: August 07, 2009, 06:15:37 PM »
Quote
I did a system restore just 2 days ago because of a driver conflict, nothing happened to avast, but should I be worried??

Only if you restored your computer to a time before avast was installed...
For generic computer (not avast) problems, you can also visit my forum for help: http://www.jacobytech.net/forum

Brandon72196

  • Guest
Re: Why does Avast! become corrupt if I do a System Restore?
« Reply #8 on: August 07, 2009, 06:16:33 PM »
Quote
I did a system restore just 2 days ago because of a driver conflict, nothing happened to avast, but should I be worried??

Only if you restored your computer to a time before avast was installed...
Thanks!

Black3agl3

  • Guest
Re: Why does Avast! become corrupt if I do a System Restore?
« Reply #9 on: August 08, 2009, 03:49:09 PM »
I find system restore to be less than perfect, so much so that I have it disabled and use a back-up and recovery strategy to replace it. A hard disk image weekly takes a bit by bit copy of the partition/s that can be restored as an exact copy.
How does one do that?

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67194
The best things in life are free.

Offline Giraffe

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 241
  • I'm not a Lama!
Re: Why does Avast! become corrupt if I do a System Restore?
« Reply #11 on: August 09, 2009, 12:02:06 AM »
I use that, Tech, and when I do a clone of a disk Avast doesn't start on the clone. In my case it's simply that it's not registered and so tells me that it's out of date. Pasting in the key works, but I don't know why this happens.
If I use Acronis (I've a Maxtor disk), Avast will start OK.
W7 Pro SP1 32 bit
Intel Core i5 5675C; 4GB DDR3 1600 RAM
Avast!: 2328; Comodo Firewall

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 89354
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Why does Avast! become corrupt if I do a System Restore?
« Reply #12 on: August 09, 2009, 12:57:22 AM »
Several disk imaging tools do this as for some reason they don't retain the unique disk/partition identity and avast is linked to that, so it effectively believes it has been installed on a new disk. This happens to me when I restore an image using Drive Image 7.1.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 24.5.6116 (build 24.5.9153.762) UI 1.0.808/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Giraffe

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 241
  • I'm not a Lama!
Re: Why does Avast! become corrupt if I do a System Restore?
« Reply #13 on: August 10, 2009, 12:01:30 AM »
Thanks David, good to know that there's a reason. It's not too onerous - I just have to remember to stop the automatic connection until Avast is up and running again.
W7 Pro SP1 32 bit
Intel Core i5 5675C; 4GB DDR3 1600 RAM
Avast!: 2328; Comodo Firewall

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 89354
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Why does Avast! become corrupt if I do a System Restore?
« Reply #14 on: August 10, 2009, 12:11:31 AM »
You're welcome.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 24.5.6116 (build 24.5.9153.762) UI 1.0.808/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security