Author Topic: Decompression Bomb - EEEEEK!  (Read 3157 times)

Slash1975

Decompression Bomb - EEEEEK!
« on: September 12, 2009, 10:47:21 PM »
Hi guys

I was doing my monthly scan and it stated that a file could not be scanned as it was a decompression bomb.

I havw tried to look it up on the net and some people say it's really naaaaasty :o and others say don't worry about it...... ???

I ran it thru Virus Online and got nothing BUT it could be malware or legitimate.

I am by no means a techie kinda guy and really could do with a bit of advice here ;D ;D ;D

Thanks

Slash 1975

Offline DavidR

• Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Decompression Bomb - EEEEEK!
« Reply #1 on: September 12, 2009, 10:53:41 PM »
Decompression Bomb, a file that is highly compressed, which could be very large when decompressed. This used to be a tactic long ago to swamp the system, also see http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=15389.msg131213#msg131213.

The name really is the most dangerous thing about this and I wish they would change it or simply not report it, a real PITA.

Advice do nothing.

Files that can't be scanned are just that, not an indication they are suspicious/infected, just unable to be scanned.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 24.4.6112 (build 24.4.9067.762) UI 1.0.803/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Slash1975

« Reply #2 on: September 13, 2009, 12:09:48 AM »
Thanks for the reply DavidR. ;D ;D ;D

I will ignore it as per your advice.

If my PC explodes I know who to blame!  Only kidding - I can;t wait till I get my nice new pc - i5 chip, 8GB RAM, 1TB hard drive ,etc.  Much better than my hugely powerful(!) 900Mhz Duron and 512MB RAM from 2001!

I say again - Thanks!

Slash1975 :) :) :)

Offline DavidR

• Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • No support PMs thanks