Author Topic: Thunderbird provider?  (Read 3326 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Yachiru

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 27
Thunderbird provider?
« on: September 23, 2009, 09:50:42 PM »
Does the Outlook provider of avast works with mozilla thunderbird? My on-access scanner says that 7 providers total, 6 running even when thunderbird is in use.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re: Thunderbird provider?
« Reply #1 on: September 23, 2009, 09:53:36 PM »
No. Mozilla Thunderbird is scanned by Internet Mail provider.

The message "The provider is waiting on the subsystem to start" will be shown there until you open MS Outlook.
The plugin will be enabled automatically after that.
The best things in life are free.

Offline Yachiru

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 27
Re: Thunderbird provider?
« Reply #2 on: September 23, 2009, 10:12:04 PM »
Ok thanks! I got it now  ;D

Offline Mr.Agent

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2769
  • Proud to be an avast! user.
Re: Thunderbird provider?
« Reply #3 on: September 23, 2009, 10:16:32 PM »
You can customize your shield as like you need and dont need. That what i did do. So even if you got Outlook on your pc and you dont use it then you can turn off MS Outlook Shield for sure because you dont use it lol. So i can say why let it turned on when you dont need it that would be funny.

Offline spg SCOTT

  • Massive Poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 4124
  • There is no magic, only lost physics
    • spg SCOTT
Re: Thunderbird provider?
« Reply #4 on: September 23, 2009, 10:18:33 PM »
You can customize your shield as like you need and dont need. That what i did do. So even if you got Outlook on your pc and you dont use it then you can turn off MS Outlook Shield for sure because you dont use it lol. So i can say why let it turned on when you dont need it that would be funny.

As far as I know, it isn't really running until you start outlook. Until then it doesn't consume resources (I think...)
That said, if you don't run outlook, you could disable it I suppose...
“There is a computer disease that anybody who works with computers knows about. It's a very serious disease and it interferes completely with the work. The trouble with computers is that you 'play' with them!”Richard Feynman

Offline Mr.Agent

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2769
  • Proud to be an avast! user.
Re: Thunderbird provider?
« Reply #5 on: September 23, 2009, 10:21:06 PM »
Well i got it installed but never touched it lol. I already got a IM so why i should use Outlook for another 1 ? That would be strange for use 150 email provider...

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re: Thunderbird provider?
« Reply #6 on: September 23, 2009, 10:38:36 PM »
The plugin does not start if MS Outlook is not running. It does not use any resources. You can let it there. Remove if you're paranoid ;D
The best things in life are free.