Author Topic: Boot time scan Not enough virtual memory  (Read 3983 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline DeathsDesign

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 24
Boot time scan Not enough virtual memory
« on: September 25, 2009, 07:24:52 PM »
Is there a way around this?  The acer laptop has 256 mb of ram. windows sys info reads it as 196 MB.  I cannot run a boot time scan with out the avworkinitialize error coming up saying I am out of virtual memory.

(Besides the obvious of add more memory, and i am in the process of doing that, just not able to right now but still want to run the boot time scan)

TIA

Offline DavidR

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 85941
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Boot time scan Not enough virtual memory
« Reply #1 on: September 25, 2009, 07:40:21 PM »
For XP (God forbid if Vista) 256MB is really small and an increase to 512 would make a difference to overall performance. However Virtual Memory is different to RAM and this is the amount space set aside on your HDD (swapfile, a.k.a. pagefile.sys), this should be set for windows to manage as that should allocate enough for its needs.

I assume that the missing 60MB is dedicated to the on-board graphics, which further impacts on your OSes ability to work effectively.

Why do you want/need to run a boot-time scan ?
Unless there is a specific issue that can't be dealt with in windows normal mode then you should run scans in normal mode. As another aside, in theory you should bump into the same Virtual Memory issues in normal mode.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.9.2494 (build 21.9.6698.703) UI 1.0.672/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Pondus

  • Probably Bot
  • ****
  • Posts: 37128
Re: Boot time scan Not enough virtual memory
« Reply #2 on: September 25, 2009, 07:40:58 PM »

Offline DeathsDesign

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 24
Re: Boot time scan Not enough virtual memory
« Reply #3 on: September 25, 2009, 09:42:19 PM »
Yeah i am going to upgrade the memory, just cant right now.   I will set it to windows managed and see what happens, and let ya know.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 85941
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Boot time scan Not enough virtual memory
« Reply #4 on: September 25, 2009, 09:54:03 PM »
OK, good luck.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.9.2494 (build 21.9.6698.703) UI 1.0.672/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline bobo1

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 471
Re: Boot time scan Not enough virtual memory
« Reply #5 on: September 25, 2009, 09:54:56 PM »
Hi,
You can manually set pagefile sys to at least 1.5 x amount of ram you have in Windows. Try setting it to 500mb ( 1/2 gig) How much free space is on your hard drive C:/ ? if it is running out then windows will complain!! 20% free is minimum.
IBM T41 INTEL CENTRINO 1.6GHZ  3. XP SP3. 1000 MB RAM. 80GB HARD DRIVE. AVAST 9. MALWAREBYTES FREE.
NEW TEST RIG FUJITSU (SCALEO) 2.8GHZ 3000MB RAM DVI HD OUT SVGA PENT 4 AVAST 9. GAMING RIG

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11808
    • AVAST Software
Re: Boot time scan Not enough virtual memory
« Reply #6 on: September 26, 2009, 06:14:51 PM »
The size of the paging file has unfortunatelly no effect on the boot-time scanner.

Offline DeathsDesign

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 24
Re: Boot time scan Not enough virtual memory
« Reply #7 on: September 27, 2009, 12:12:45 AM »
no luck, just to low memory... thanks for the help guys