Author Topic: Pagefile.sys  (Read 4036 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Yachiru

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 27
Pagefile.sys
« on: September 26, 2009, 05:31:23 PM »
I have a windows 7 and windows vista on 1 laptop, my windows 7 has avira while windows vista has avast. I scanned both partition using avast from my windows vista and found a virus "pagefile.sys" which is from my windows 7 OS partition. Am I going to delete it or not?

Offline mevcit

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 190
  • shake me make me take me don't break me lolz^^
    • My YouTube Channel
Re: Pagefile.sys
« Reply #1 on: September 26, 2009, 05:41:25 PM »
We were discussing the same issue here: http://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=251618

Maybe this helps.
i want a player to give me cash, if you dont, you dont get no ass :P

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re: Pagefile.sys
« Reply #2 on: September 26, 2009, 05:45:07 PM »
Something in the memory of Windows 7 was infected, saved to the disk (memory page file) and detected by avast.
It could be a false positive or a missdetection of Avira.
Anyway, the problem is not pagefile.sys (as it is temporary), but the file(s) loaded into computer memory that could be infected.

My opinion?
False positive of avast. Do nothing.
The best things in life are free.

Offline mevcit

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 190
  • shake me make me take me don't break me lolz^^
    • My YouTube Channel
Re: Pagefile.sys
« Reply #3 on: September 26, 2009, 05:56:18 PM »
But generally the situation is always the same (generally-always, get whatever you want lol). When you scan your Windows partition from another partition (doesn't matter if Windows or a Linux distro is installed there), avast! detects something in pagefile.sys. So I also say that's false positive. And this isn't a new case.

If you want, you can delete the file, it'll be recreated on next boot, and will be detected again when you do scan with avast! from another partition. ::)
i want a player to give me cash, if you dont, you dont get no ass :P

Offline Yachiru

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 27
Re: Pagefile.sys
« Reply #4 on: September 26, 2009, 05:57:28 PM »
If I am going to delete the pagefile.sys, is it possible for windows to create a new one? ???

Offline mevcit

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 190
  • shake me make me take me don't break me lolz^^
    • My YouTube Channel
Re: Pagefile.sys
« Reply #5 on: September 26, 2009, 06:05:38 PM »
If I am going to delete the pagefile.sys, is it possible for windows to create a new one? ???
See my one previous post.
i want a player to give me cash, if you dont, you dont get no ass :P

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re: Pagefile.sys
« Reply #6 on: September 26, 2009, 08:15:26 PM »
If I am going to delete the pagefile.sys, is it possible for windows to create a new one? ???
Take care. Sometimes Windows can't boot if there isn't a pagefile before...
The best things in life are free.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 85965
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Pagefile.sys
« Reply #7 on: September 26, 2009, 09:39:53 PM »
If it isn't present it should recreate it.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.9.2494 (build 21.9.6698.703) UI 1.0.672/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re: Pagefile.sys
« Reply #8 on: September 26, 2009, 09:50:40 PM »
If it isn't present it should recreate it.
I have troubles in the past and couldn't boot a system without pagefile.sys.
I'm not that sure if it really works in all conditions.
The best things in life are free.

Offline 500dan500

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 35
Re: Pagefile.sys
« Reply #9 on: September 26, 2009, 11:38:21 PM »
I have the same thing, when I tried BART it always said the pagefile.sys was infected, same with scanning within 7 I think it must be a FP with all the data in the pagefile.sys