Author Topic: Do I Need to Do Avast "Quickscan"?  (Read 7244 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Scott_0101

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Do I Need to Do Avast "Quickscan"?
« on: September 29, 2009, 04:21:47 PM »
I use Avast 4.8 under Vista Home Premium SP2. I do most of my downloading under either Firefox 3.5.3 or Opera 9.64. I have been doing Avast file scans on downloaded files by right-clicking on the filename. Do I really need to do that or has the file already been scanned by Avast while being downloaded? Thanks in advance for any feedback.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 86946
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Do I Need to Do Avast "Quickscan"?
« Reply #1 on: September 29, 2009, 05:56:50 PM »
Totally depends on what you are downloading and the source, if either aren't totally kosher then perhaps you should. At the very least you should scan them before you run them, depending on what they are.

You could add a download manager to your system that could be used for both Firefox and Opera and have that call the ashQuick.exe to scan the download when complete, that is what I do. So no need to remember to scan it later...
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 22.9.6034 (build 22.9.7554.734) UI 1.0.728/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Scott_0101

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Do I Need to Do Avast "Quickscan"?
« Reply #2 on: September 29, 2009, 08:46:50 PM »
Thanks!

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 86946
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Do I Need to Do Avast "Quickscan"?
« Reply #3 on: September 29, 2009, 09:00:08 PM »
No problem, glad I could help.

Assuming that you installed avast in the default location this is what you would have to enter in a download manager for the full path C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\ashQuick.exe.

Welcome to the forums.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 22.9.6034 (build 22.9.7554.734) UI 1.0.728/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

norel

  • Guest
Re: Do I Need to Do Avast "Quickscan"?
« Reply #4 on: September 30, 2009, 08:23:03 AM »
I've been wondering about this too. When you download an .exe file from the Web, does Avast scan it as it's downloading?

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 86946
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Do I Need to Do Avast "Quickscan"?
« Reply #5 on: September 30, 2009, 03:07:58 PM »
If it is downloaded using the HTTP protocol over port 80 (normal browsing port) then the Web Shield would scan it. The Standard Shield should also scan it (depending if you have changed any settings in the standard shield.), so yes it 'should' be scanned. However, using a download manager and having it call ashQuick.exe to scan it you 'know' for sure that it has been scanned.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 22.9.6034 (build 22.9.7554.734) UI 1.0.728/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

norel

  • Guest
Re: Do I Need to Do Avast "Quickscan"?
« Reply #6 on: October 01, 2009, 02:40:59 AM »
Thanks DavidR. After I read your answer I checked my modules as I was downloading and indeed it does show that it's scanning. I think this must be Avast's "Intelligent Stream Scanning" feature that scans downloads in real time. It sounds like an awesome feature but I agree it never hurts to scan manually before running.

I've tried Free Download Manager and Fresh Download but neither of them integrated very well with Firefox. I tried Firefox's FlashGot add-on to help with integration but still had issues. Right now I'm using the Firefox add-on DownThemAll. Overall it's a decent downloader, I just wish you could set it up to scan when it's done.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 86946
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Do I Need to Do Avast "Quickscan"?
« Reply #7 on: October 01, 2009, 03:15:26 AM »
I have been using Orbit downloader for some time and that integrates with my browsers, including my default, Firefox.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 22.9.6034 (build 22.9.7554.734) UI 1.0.728/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

norel

  • Guest
Re: Do I Need to Do Avast "Quickscan"?
« Reply #8 on: October 01, 2009, 08:17:13 AM »
Orbit absolutely works better with Firefox. I hesitated to try it because of some bad reviews at Cnet but it's the one I should have tried first!  :D

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67235
Re: Do I Need to Do Avast "Quickscan"?
« Reply #9 on: October 01, 2009, 02:38:07 PM »
If you use a download manager, WebShield won't be able to correct scanning the traffic. You could have false positives/miss detections.
In this case, it's advisable to use ashQuick.exe after the download is finished. Free Download Manager integrates easily with Firefox here and ashQuick.exe could be automatically launched after the download finishes.
The best things in life are free.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 86946
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Do I Need to Do Avast "Quickscan"?
« Reply #10 on: October 01, 2009, 03:38:58 PM »
Orbit absolutely works better with Firefox. I hesitated to try it because of some bad reviews at Cnet but it's the one I should have tried first!  :D

I have never held much store in this type of 'user' review as you have no idea exactly why that user had the problem that users speaks of. My major concerns on any such review are it is from a reputable company and is is secure and not have embedded adware/spyware other than that I do my own testing and see if it suits 'my' needs and use.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 22.9.6034 (build 22.9.7554.734) UI 1.0.728/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

norel

  • Guest
Re: Do I Need to Do Avast "Quickscan"?
« Reply #11 on: October 02, 2009, 12:13:30 AM »
When I started experimenting with downloaders I really had no a clue what I was doing, so I went back and tried Free Download Manager and now I can see it does work as well with Firefox as Orbit.  :)

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67235
Re: Do I Need to Do Avast "Quickscan"?
« Reply #12 on: October 02, 2009, 12:33:03 AM »
norel, configure ashquick.exe to scan the downloaded files at the end.
The best things in life are free.

Jesant13

  • Guest
Re: Do I Need to Do Avast "Quickscan"?
« Reply #13 on: October 02, 2009, 02:36:26 AM »
Is there a need to set Windows Live Messenger to automatically scan files for viruses using "C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\ashQuick.exe" or would Avast automatically do that itself without having to configure Windows Live Messenger?
« Last Edit: October 02, 2009, 02:40:05 AM by Jesant13 »

norel

  • Guest
Re: Do I Need to Do Avast "Quickscan"?
« Reply #14 on: October 02, 2009, 08:53:24 AM »
If you know someone who could help you test it you could watch the Avast icon when messages come in and it should rotate, indicating that it's scanning. If not you should probably set up WLM to do it.

I've been watching my icon more closely and from what I've seen Avast actually does do a quick scan automatically on a lot of things; I haven't tested it enough to say if it works 100% of the time though. I don't use instant messaging so I'm not familiar with how Avast works with it, the spinning icon is a good indicator though. :)